We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous B&B”
Review of Ashley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashley House
Ranked #19 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous B&B”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here last weekend for two nights, we stayed in room 4 which was a gorgeous room with a roll topped bath in it ! We were very pleased with our room and couldn't believe how lovely it was for the price we paid. Phil the owner was very welcoming we arrived slightly early so he let us leave our bags with him and let us explore York. He was very happy to help and he certainly cooked the best French toast and blueberries I've ever had!.The B&B is situated a good 10 minutes walk from the heart of York however, it was a pleasant walk over the river it didn't bother use at all it was worth the walk. Our overall experience was excellent, we will defiantly be booking here again when we're next visiting York.

Room Tip: Room 4 is great for a romantic weekend away. It is situated on the top floor, nice and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    44
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
29
238
15
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

What a beautiful hotel! We stayed in room 4 which has a gorgeous cast iron bath. I couldn't believe that I was able to get such luxury for such a low price. Phil (the owner) was wonderfully cheery and helpful and cooked up a brilliant breakfast for us too. Whilst it is a little further out, the walk over the river was lovely and the area where it's situated (near Bishopthorpe Road) is amazing. Really quirky with great restaurants.

I'll be staying here everytime I come to York.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolaJobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I booked this B&B a good while ago and from day one, Phil, the owner, could not have been more helpful, accomodating or welcoming!
The Ashley Guest house really is a beautiful house and a great place to stay. We stayed for 2 nights and were in Room 2. On arrival, Phil was at the door waiting for us with our parking permit...which he allowed us to keep hold of, even after we had checked out, so we could see some more if York on our last day, thank you! Room was lovely, nicely decorated, very cosy, clean and comfortable. The breakfast room too was so beautiful and the breakfast was delicious! Loved the real butter and mini milk bottles holding the milk for our coffee! Everything about this place is just lovely....Phil couldn't do enough for us and we will DEFO be coming back next year! (Recommended you already to a couple whilst we were on the top of Clifford's Tower!)
Thank you for a lovely stay! :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJimmy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Would not hesitate to return. Excellent value very good standard and well organised host and establishment.

From welcome letter to complimentary parking permit this is a well looked after and friendly b & b ran by a perfectly mannered host (Phil)

Breakfast very fresh ingredients perfectly cooked.

The final icing on the cake is the rates! aA very welcome change from the branded boxes :)..

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank vitamanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A warm welcome, local on-street permit parking, pretty rooms and an excellent breakfast. So it's a lovely place to stay. But what makes Ashley House different?

Though the owners live just down the street, this feels like - and is - a loved home: deeply comfortable ensuite rooms, books to read, CDs to borrow, and a comfortable little lounge area.

On a quiet corner in a delightful Victorian/Edwardian street just outside the walls, it's just next to 'Bishy Road' - lovely street of local shops, food outlets, coffee shops, restaurants and a wonderful hardware store. For a relaxed morning you don't even need to do the ten minute walk to the mediaeval city. [http://www.bishyroad.net]

I'd better not say too much - it'll be booked solid all year.........

Room Tip: The room over the kitchen is lovely and airy with a comfortable shower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viatorNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

booked the b and b about a week before we stayed there. had no problem. stayed 3 nights in a delightful room with a bath in it! and the toilet room was separate. was very clean and comfortable. also at the very last minute before we were leaving we asked if we could stay an extra night. Phillip was very good and put us in a different room which was also very nice for the extra night.
the breakfast is served between 8 and 9, the breakfast was a choice of cereals, toast and a variety of breakfasts which include vegetarian, full English, french toast with blueberries and their Yorkie breakfast that came with black pudding. very nice and hot. choice of juices, tea or coffee.
Phillip and his team were very polite and welcoming during our stay. thanks to you all

Room Tip: if you want a room with a bath in it choose room no. 4. if you like a cosy one choose no.3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Helens
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed Friday 27th & 28th June 2014 and loved it. Very pleasant ten minute walk to centre via the river. Room spotless and very nice and quiet. Breakfast was gorgeous, best fried bread I've had in a long time!! Phil the owner is really nice and helpful. Free parking permits are a great. He even offered to let us keep it on the last day after checking out.

If there was one small thing to dislike it was the 10am checkout. Think it could be a little later.

Having said this, it would not put me off staying again. Loved it will definitely stay again.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyMuskett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
622 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#8 of 192 in York
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley House

Property: Ashley House
Address: 76 Scott Street | Off Scarcroft Road, York YO23 1NS, England (Formerly Ashley Guest House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashley House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run bed and breakfast just a short walk into the city centre. We have 6 beautifully appointed bedrooms all with their unique style. We offer a wide range for breakfast from our famous 'Yorkie breakfast' to french toast. During your stay there are also free cakes and cookies:) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ashley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing