We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Alcuin Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alcuin Lodge
Ranked #3 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at the Alcuin Lodge and both give it perfect marks! The location is ideal for touring York as you can park your car (permit provided for street parking) and then walk to the sights of York. The house is well maintained and extremely clean. Darren, our host, has an eye for detail of what guests may want or need. The room was spotlessly clean, light filled and comfortable. Great beds with crisp linens and great pillows added to our great sleeps while there. Breakfast orders are placed the night before to ensure being cooked on the spot. Good choice and good quality. Darren's suggestions for dining out we're spot on. All in all a perfect stay in an amazing city. Recommend highly the Alcuin Lodge. Thanks to Darren for all your help and great hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ottawachanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcuin_Lodge_York, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. I'm really happy to know that Alcuin Lodge provided everything you needed for your visit to York and met your expectations for cleanliness, comfort and location. I'm glad to know that I was able to help with suggestions for places to visit, eat and drink so you could make the most of your time in the city.

Thank you for coming to stay and I hope the rest of your trip was a success.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

266 - 272 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and it was absolutely perfect. Darren is so genuine and nice. The room was very very clean, the bathroom was spotless, the linens were fresh, crisp and clean. Breakfast served was just superb. All in all we had a wonderful experience and would definitely come back. So glad we booked this place!!! :-)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kara u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcuin_Lodge_York, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Kara, it was lovely to have you all to stay and thank you so much for your kind comments. I'm so pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit to York and your stay at Alcuin Lodge. I do appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback and I look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Perfect accommodation, clean and fresh. Darren really made an effort and gave us some excellent tips for our visit to York. Breakfast great and personally cooked by Darren. Little touches that make the difference.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcuin_Lodge_York, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let me know you enjoyed your stay at Alcuin Lodge and that everything was "perfect" for you. It's lovely to be appreciated and even better to know you had such a great visit. I hope you'll be back to see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Two nights at AL were highlighted by Darren's welcome and orientation to York. When we made the reservation, he emailed to let us know that since it was 'a 'race weekend', many restaurants would be full and offered to make reservations for us. He sent info on 7, and made the contact at the two we choose. No one has ever done that at any other property.

Food was good and to order. Room small, but adequate. Parking and location both were convenient. Good value. Met expectations. Met nice guests at breakfast. But Darren makes the place.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Beachdeac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcuin_Lodge_York, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely feedback about the way you were looked after while at Alcuin Lodge (and in advance of your stay). We do our best to ensure our guests feel at home and are able to make the most of their time in our wonderful city. I'm happy that we met your expectations and provided good value for you.
I hope that your trip overall has been a memorable one and that you'll drop in to York next time you're in the UK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Fantastic location, comfortable room, great breakfast and lovely host - will be back! I must say, leaving my shoes under the desk my the door just made me feel more at home. Much nicer than a hotel and the walk through the,museum gardens to the city centre is spectacular.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charliegirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcuin_Lodge_York, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

One of the best pieces of feedback we could receive is to know that you felt at home so I was really happy to read your comments. I'm glad you liked the walk to town - one of the reasons we love living here is being so close to the river, the gardens and the city but in a quiet street. Thank you for the positive references to the service you received at Alcuin Lodge and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Beautifully clean, fantastic breakfasts with a lovely warm welcome. Darren could not have been more helpful he gave wonderful advice on things to do and local places to eat. The Alcuin Lodge is perfectly situated within walking distance of the city centre but tucked away in a nice quite area. We really recommend this B&b and will return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank candyfloss34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcuin_Lodge_York, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your all round positive feedback about your stay at Alcuin Lodge. You mention all the elements we would hope to deliver for you while here and with a quiet location that met your needs too. Good to know you'll be coming back to visit - we look forward to your call.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Alcuin Lodge is a cosy and contemporary accomodation, perfectly located 10 mins walk from the city centre of York through lovely gardens.
Darren was a lovely and helpful host, very attentive and polite. He cooks a yummy breakfast (best poached eggs!) and always ready timely and tasted delicious!
This is the only place we will be staying when we visit York again!
Thank you again Darren for a great comfortable stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clairabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcuin_Lodge_York, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your great comments about Alcuin Lodge. Most importantly, I'm so glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us and plan to come back to see us again. Thanks also for the kind comments about the way you were looked after - always a pleasure. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
684 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,505 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tower Guest House
Tower Guest House
#5 of 194 in York
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#10 of 194 in York
881 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#15 of 194 in York
366 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#6 of 194 in York
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcuin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcuin Lodge

Address: 15 Sycamore Place | Bootham, York YO30 7DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £90 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alcuin Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alcuin Lodge Guest House, York offers Bed and Breakfast accommodation a short stroll away from the centre of historic York, set in a quiet residential area. Our guest house is the ideal base for your stay in the city. As a small, independent guest house (5 rooms), we can offer a friendly and personalised service and aim to ensure our guests feel at home. Whether you're planning a romantic getaway, a shopping trip, a cultural visit, in the city on business or just taking a short break, the attractions of York are all on our doorstep. Call or email to book direct for the best rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alcuin Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcuin Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing