We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation, great hosts”

Review of Foss Flat

Kitchen/dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen/dining area
Bedroom Living room and balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Kitchen/dining area
Bedroom
Living room and balcony
Bathroom
Hall and bedroom
Bath with shower over
Living room
Balcony and cycle path
Balcony, overlooking Cycle Route 66
Living room
Living room
Living room and balcony
Bathroom
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
goshawk10...
liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation, great hosts”
Reviewed 13 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Flat very comfortable and modern, we were greeted by Simon who provided bread and milk and butter and made us feel very welcome on arrival. Simon was very informative about York and its attractions, were the local shops and takeaways were and how far from the flat. Provided us with local bus times. The flat is very cosy with a lovely comfortable bed, light but warm quilt with i thought was extra comfortable. Everything you need is in the flat and great to have WiFi. Walk to the castle walls about 10-15mins and the bus 13 goes down Huntington road and best place to get off is the stop outside the terrace bar. I would like to say the communication from Richard (Owner) and Simon was second to none i would like to say i would honestly recommend this accommodation without hesitation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff G
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab foss flat”
Reviewed 12 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

The flat is great, perfect size and good quiet location. Two nights just not long enough for York as there's so much to see and do. About 10 minutes walk to the first town gate or bus if you wish. Dedicated parking space right outside. Flat was very warm and comfortable. Great communication with the owner and house keeper. Recommended highly

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2017
Glad you had a good time, Cliff. We look forward to welcoming you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenny_s12...
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for a short city break”
Reviewed 26 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Located only a 20 minute walk away from the city centre, Foss Flat was perfect for our short stay in York. The kitchen is well equipped with appliances and amenities, such as bread and milk which were supplied for us upon our arrival, and the living area is cosy. There is also a folder of attraction leaflets and nearby restaurant/takeaway menus which proved very useful.
Apart from being a little difficult to find at first, we had no queries or issues during our stay and would absolutely stay again.

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise7...
1 review
“Excellent city break”
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Excellent place to stay with great places to visit National Trust and English Heritage. Restaurants are great in York and my favourite is Delrios.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fifefives
fife
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great break in York”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Had a great wee break in York staying at Foss flat. York has so many places of interest such as lovely York Minster, Cliffords tower and York Dungeon. We particularly enjoyed The Shambles with all the quirky wee shops and great atmosphere. Foss flat was a really great base for us within easy walking distance of York, the flat was equipped with everything you would need for a short stay. It was very clean and well maintained ,we would love to stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortiche
France
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Lovely, clean and cosy flat ideally situated”
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Very pleasant stay. We highly recommend it.
This flat is well-equipped, clean and modern. Itis perfect for a short stay to visit York.
Situated North of City Center, it is only 10 minutes on foot to Monkgate and city centre. Free private parking space. Free Wifi.
Supermarket only 4 minutes away by car.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kandm_10
England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely flat, great location”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Cosy flat with everything you need for a long or short stay. Great that other visitors had left basic food which you could use on arrival and replace. Very quiet area, the only people you see are cyclists and dog walkers on the cycle path which you can see from the balcony. No noise from any of the other flats.
It's about 15 minutes walk to the centre of York.
A big bonus is the parking space which is always a problem in York. We were a little concerned as one of the reviews had mentioned that the space was small but there was no problem. The parking space for the flat is away from the other cars so no worries about people opening their car doors onto you. A bit of an obsession with my husband!
I would recommend this to anyone who wants a home from home base to visit York.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing