We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“york races” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Briar Lea Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Briar Lea Guest House
Ranked #135 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Chilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“york races”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I have been to this hotel twice and both times nothing was a problem to Nigel and his wife the breakfasts were very good i go to York every may for the dante meeting and hopefully will be going next may also this is the 1st place i will try and book

Room Tip: Approx 10 mins walk from railway station
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nevdavies2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    30
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
48
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice. I would certainly recommend it. The owners are very friendly, and nothing is to much for them. When we parked our car, we didn't have to move it again until we were leaving. It is just a five minutes walk. The hotel is very clean, got everything you need and the breakfast is superb. Will certainly be going for a third time

Room Tip: Both rooms we have stayed in, have been brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank But2nnose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coppell, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

On our recent whirlwind trip through the UK, my daughter, mother and I stayed in 6 different guest houses and small hotel/B&Bs. Briar Lea surpassed them all! The family room on the top floor was beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean and very quiet even though facing the road. The owners, Nigel and Norma, were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was delicious and more than enough food and variety. The location was a perfect base for sight-seeing. We will definitely book here when visiting York again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gnatsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkandproud, Owner at Briar Lea Guest House, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Briar Lea, and even more pleased that we were the best place you stayed in on your trip to the UK. What you understand is that a guesthouse like ours, is not a hotel, and is run by just the two of us, so we can't offer the 24 hour reception, and facilities and services a hotel can. We we do offer is clean rooms, and a good breakfast at a competitive price. We also know that we are not perfect, and some things here might not suit everyone, and guests who want the services we have talked about might be better served by a hotel. What you do get at Briar Lea is a friendly smile, a couple who know the area well. Our price always includes breakfast, car parking and we can look after your luggage too, if you want to leave it for the day. Regards Nigel and Norma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We chose Briar Lea for two things - car park space, near to town centre and the fact we could check in at 11.30am. We were not disappointed - we had room 5 which was excellent. The information folder provided in the room was really helpful covering all aspects. The building was spotlessly clean and the breakfast excellent. Nigel and norma were just right as hosts - really friendly and helpful but allowed us space. Excellent choice for closeness to York centre.

Room Tip: We had Room 5 at the rear of house which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireChallenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkandproud, Owner at Briar Lea Guest House, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We always try to have the rooms ready for guests by 1130am, because we know some guests arrive early, and want to get on with all the great things York has to offer. Parking is included in our price too, unlike many hotels who charge extra for parking and breakfast. We are pleased you commented on the cleanliness. This is a priority at Briar Lea, along with a good breakfast. Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrowford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We recently stayed in Briar Lea and had a warm welcome but have to admit we were a little disappointed in the room. We were on the ground floor, right by the dining room. The room was very small and the shower room door hit the end of the bed when opened. The shower pressure was also very poor. Because of the location by dining room, it was really quite noisy too.
The owners were very friendly and accommodating and I suspect the other rooms are a lot better. It was clean and well maintained. The breakfast was pretty average.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 1st or top floor. Avoid the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iliketogoawanderin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkandproud, Owner at Briar Lea Guest House, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry Briar Lea failed to meet your expectations, but when we asked you at check out if everything was ok, you said it was, so we are surprised you were unable to tell us at the time about your experience. Our ground floor double room is actually requested very regularly , because guests with difficulty climbing stairs like the room. I can't agree when you say it was noisy, because breakfast doesn't start until 8am, and no other guests would pass your room before this time. Regarding our breakfast, you are of course entitled to your opinion, but our previous reviews all say how much they enjoyed their breakfast. What we at Briar Lea offer, is a friendly, clean, B&B at a competitive price. We have looked at your other reviews, and in the main you are finding it very difficult to be really positive about any hotel, Guesthouse, or restaurant . We at Briar Lea always strive to give our guests good value for money, and hopefully will continue to do so. Regards Nigel and Norma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Very happy with this guest house. Great location, 10 minutes walking time to centre and river, tastefully decorated room, we had the double room in room 5and more than enough variety for breakfast. We love York and will book here again

Room Tip: Arrive early to get parking space
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkandproud, Owner at Briar Lea Guest House, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you staying at Briar Lea. We hope to meet you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowdenbeath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Just returned from a short trip to York with my sister-law. Stayed at Briar Lea overnight. Very comfortable twin room on the top floor. Breakfast was excellent, good start to the day. The owner Norma was very friendly & helpful. An easy walk from the railway station. Lovely riverside walk into the city. Will definitely stay at Briar Lea again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SHEILA Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkandproud, Owner at Briar Lea Guest House, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We would love to welcome you to Briar Lea again in the future. We are pleased you found everything to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#13 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beech House
Beech House
#55 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sycamore Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St. Mary's Guest House
St. Mary's Guest House
#48 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#14 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#5 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briar Lea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briar Lea Guest House

Property: Briar Lea Guest House
Address: 8 Longfield Terrace, York YO30 7DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Hotel Class:3 star — Briar Lea Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing