We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad start, good middle and end”

Bay Tree Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bay Tree Guest House
Ranked #143 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Bad start, good middle and end”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

After arriving at 5.30pm as instructed we waited on the door step until 6.20pm when the owner finally arrived home. We did not receive an apology or an acknowledgement that they were late. However once in the guest house things went uphill, the room was warm and comfortable with lovely personal touches. The breakfast was lovely and ensured we didn't get peckish until 2pm. However our room was on the front and the road was very busy so very noisy until the small hours. Very well situated and the owners were very friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat_buxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We stayed here 5th, 6th december 2011. This B & B is very friendly, very relaxed, we had a very enjoyable 2 night stay, excellent breakfast sets you up for the day. The hosts are very helpful and make you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VJC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Stayed for two nights and we found the 'Bay Tree Guest House' clean and welcoming in a great location although on a busy main road its 10 minutes walk to the city and 10 minutes walk to the racecourse.
The room was a little small but clean and well presented with ensuite shower and small wall mounted TV.
The breakfast was first class served up by Nikki the breakfast girl she is a legend.Free on street parking in a side street is available close to guest house, a parking permit is provided.
Should we return to York in the future we would consider staying again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveNKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We booked this guest house after I had stayed in the cottage which the family also rent out. It didn't disappoint. Excellent, spacious, clean room and we were looked after so well. A lovely family run guest house we loved it so much we booked again for next year

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amazinggracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cannock staffs
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2011

such a warm,friendly couple who work hard to run this lovely business as well as 3 charming kiddies.
spent 2 nights at the bay tree and loved every minute from arriving and being shown our free car park space to our final departure following a scrummy full english breakfast !!!!
we stayed in a double room on the top floor with a brand new en suite.
claire and andrew were most helpful to us as this was our first trip to their lovely town.
they recommended various places to us ranging from restaurants to all the top attractions,the highlight being the ghost walk claire told us about ."The shambles at 7.30pm"she told us.Claire------- that night will stay with us both for ever and then some !!
If you are lucky enough to get a room at the bay tree then enjoy yourself and enjoy the hospitality of the charming family!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazzthak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newark on trent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2011

newark tourist board reccomended bay tree and we were very pleased to get in anywhere in york due to races clare the owner was very welcoming its a very homely b and b . we were given a king room but was quite expensive at £70 the only fault was that it was on a very busy main road into york was hard to see that on the information given by trip advisor the breakfast was very good and would reccomend bay tree to other visitors to york

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annettenewarkontrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed here for two nights. The b&b is a 10 minute stroll into town, perfect location. Parking is also available for guests. We went to the races on the Saturday - again, it is only a 10 minute walk to the racecourse. The room we stayed in was at the top of the house. Very clean, newly decorated, tasteful. Modern facilities in room - tv and i-pod deck alarm clock. Fresh fluffy towels each day. The owners are really nice and welcoming. Lovely breakfast each morning, with a good choice of food available. I would recommend the homemade granola - delicious! We will no doubt be back. Perfect for a short break.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrandmrslord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Dairy Guest House
Dairy Guest House
#58 of 192 in York
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#48 of 192 in York
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diamonds Guest House
Diamonds Guest House
#107 of 192 in York
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ashley House
Ashley House
#19 of 192 in York
361 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tree Guest House

Property: Bay Tree Guest House
Address: 92 Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 1JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just 5 minutes walk from the city centre and 10 minutes walk from York racecourse, Bay Tree Guest House is a Victorian town house that has been converted to offer bed and breakfast accommodation in five rooms. Single, double and triple rooms are available, all tastefully decorated and well-equipped with colour TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Free parking is available for guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing