We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bay Tree York .”

Bay Tree Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bay Tree Guest House
Ranked #144 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Bay Tree York .”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We had a warm family welcome when we arrived at the Bay Tree for the weekend . The room was spotless and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was lovely with cereal,granola , fruit and greek yoghurt. The full english was well presented and the owners had sourced local organic ingredients .A lovely experience all round . We will definately be booking again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the large family double room at the top of the house .Lovely and spacious .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This was a very welcoming B&B. The rooms were well decorated and everything lovely and clean. Breakfast offered fruit juice and cereals with yoghurt and sometime fruit.The Cooked breakfast was nicely done and well presented. The bed in the top room was rather on the soft side so the lighter person spends the night trying not to roll down on the heavier one, otherwise we were very pleased.
There was a lovely walk into town through Rowntree Park or a bus ran from outside the B&B. There was plenty to see and do in York, with a wide choice of places to eat.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

After arriving at 5.30pm as instructed we waited on the door step until 6.20pm when the owner finally arrived home. We did not receive an apology or an acknowledgement that they were late. However once in the guest house things went uphill, the room was warm and comfortable with lovely personal touches. The breakfast was lovely and ensured we didn't get peckish until 2pm. However our room was on the front and the road was very busy so very noisy until the small hours. Very well situated and the owners were very friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat_buxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We stayed here 5th, 6th december 2011. This B & B is very friendly, very relaxed, we had a very enjoyable 2 night stay, excellent breakfast sets you up for the day. The hosts are very helpful and make you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VJC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Stayed for two nights and we found the 'Bay Tree Guest House' clean and welcoming in a great location although on a busy main road its 10 minutes walk to the city and 10 minutes walk to the racecourse.
The room was a little small but clean and well presented with ensuite shower and small wall mounted TV.
The breakfast was first class served up by Nikki the breakfast girl she is a legend.Free on street parking in a side street is available close to guest house, a parking permit is provided.
Should we return to York in the future we would consider staying again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveNKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We booked this guest house after I had stayed in the cottage which the family also rent out. It didn't disappoint. Excellent, spacious, clean room and we were looked after so well. A lovely family run guest house we loved it so much we booked again for next year

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amazinggracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cannock staffs
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2011

such a warm,friendly couple who work hard to run this lovely business as well as 3 charming kiddies.
spent 2 nights at the bay tree and loved every minute from arriving and being shown our free car park space to our final departure following a scrummy full english breakfast !!!!
we stayed in a double room on the top floor with a brand new en suite.
claire and andrew were most helpful to us as this was our first trip to their lovely town.
they recommended various places to us ranging from restaurants to all the top attractions,the highlight being the ghost walk claire told us about ."The shambles at 7.30pm"she told us.Claire------- that night will stay with us both for ever and then some !!
If you are lucky enough to get a room at the bay tree then enjoy yourself and enjoy the hospitality of the charming family!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazzthak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Dairy Guest House
Dairy Guest House
#59 of 193 in York
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#49 of 193 in York
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diamonds Guest House
Diamonds Guest House
#112 of 193 in York
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ashley House
Ashley House
#16 of 193 in York
363 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#5 of 193 in York
356 reviews
0.4 mi away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#38 of 193 in York
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tree Guest House

Property: Bay Tree Guest House
Address: 92 Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 1JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just 5 minutes walk from the city centre and 10 minutes walk from York racecourse, Bay Tree Guest House is a Victorian town house that has been converted to offer bed and breakfast accommodation in five rooms. Single, double and triple rooms are available, all tastefully decorated and well-equipped with colour TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Free parking is available for guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing