We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in York”

Bay Tree Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bay Tree Guest House
Ranked #145 of 195 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 August 2012

The Bay Tree Guest House is a medium sized bed and breakfast on the outskirts of York city centre. We arrived on Sunday the 12th of August for 4 nights. What a lovely welcome by Clare, who sorted out our parking and showed us to the room. We chose the King Double which is a large bedroom with en-suite. Very clean and comfortable with period features. The breakfasts are stunning and varied from fresh fruit and yoghurt to mix and match full english with as much toast as you could eat. Nikki who served us our breakfasts is the bubbliest person you've ever met and really made us and the other guests feel really at home. Only a 10 minute walk from the centre of a fabulous and interesting city. If you are visiting York I can thoroughly recommend the Bay Tree as a great place to stay. Thanks to Clare, Andrew and Nikki for a thoroughly enjoyable experience. John and Rose. Wolverhampton

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012

We would like to say a big thankyou to Claire & Andrew, proprietors and Nikki( who is like part of the family) for making our stay fantastic.we arrived with everything except kitchen sink, wedding dress, morning suits flower girls dress, wedding cake and all six of us ,we were so pleased to see the good sized rooms,that once we un packed, everything was out of sight.Nothing was to much trouble, wedding flowers were being delivered on morn of wedding ,two wedding cars parked outside,they could not of made us more welcome .Breakfast is excellant.and we certainly didnt need lunch,accomodation is excellent,they have excellant rappour with there clientel and with Nikki who is a little diamond around the house,everything excellant and would recommend to anyone,10min walk to town ,little longer if you have difficulties walking,park for children round corner from b&b.WELL WORTH STAY THANK YOU X

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PETER G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Great room, Lovely breakfast and amazing value for money. I loved it.

Room Tip: Double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Just recently stayed at this guesthouse with my boyfriend for two nights and i can not fault it in any way. It was probably one of my favorite guest houses that i have stayed at in York over the years. The location was okay a litte far to walk it to the town if you have walking difficulties but otherwise a great location in a cute area of bishopthorpe. We stayed in a standard double room at the back of the house (quiter area of house) the decor of the room was cosey and modern and just right for couples or singles of all ages. Our breakfast was also delicous and a big shout out to 'Nikki' who helps out around the house in the mornings she was very friendly and welcoming. After the two days i didnt want to go home and York will always be a place close to my heart and i reccomend anyone to this guest house and to sometime in your life visit York, its well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sungirl123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Wot a lovely welcome, even tho we were a bit damp from the M,bike ride 2 get there, The bedroom was great, lots of room, very clean, it was nice 2 see a good size shower, Breakfast was lovely, didnt need lunch we were too full, A lovely 10 min riverside walk into the city centre where everything is very easy to find, we cant wait till we bring our 2 granson,s for a stay at the bay tree guest house in the autumn, Thankyou, Clare & Andrew for looking after us so well, xx.

Room Tip: Ask for a room a bit larger than you need, for more comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pumkin24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Took my parents to York and stayed over for one night at the Bay Tree, very welcoming family, clean and pretty guest house, only 5 mins walk from the city wall and located within the trendy Bishy road area with cute vintage shops and a nice pub nearby. Nice rooms, quiet location, free parking and good breakfast with 'AMAZING' home made muesli. Definitely recommend .

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We had a warm family welcome when we arrived at the Bay Tree for the weekend . The room was spotless and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was lovely with cereal,granola , fruit and greek yoghurt. The full english was well presented and the owners had sourced local organic ingredients .A lovely experience all round . We will definately be booking again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the large family double room at the top of the house .Lovely and spacious .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
3.6 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,141 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
144 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
7.4 mi away
Claxton Hall Cottage B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tree Guest House

Address: 92 Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 1JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £30 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just 5 minutes walk from the city centre and 10 minutes walk from York racecourse, Bay Tree Guest House is a Victorian town house that has been converted to offer bed and breakfast accommodation in five rooms. Single, double and triple rooms are available, all tastefully decorated and well-equipped with colour TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Free parking is available for guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing