We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average, but good.”
Review of Bill's York

Bill's York
Ranked #167 of 976 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: In the centre of the city, Bill's York restaurant is full of character - a light and airy space during the day that transforms into a twinkling and intimate place to be for the evening, from cosy booths and candelabras to larger sharing tables.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice place, good food and excellent service. I had the Naked Burger. Just a burger without buns. They do accept YorkPass which gives you a 20% discount.

Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillsRestaurant, Brad at Bill's York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Kim D,

Thanks for the positive review great to read the food and the service was excellent

Thanks

Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 1,144 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Whilst the staff were very good and efficient, regrettably I did not feel that either the breakfasts that we had were value for money. The prices charged were more akin to London and were extremely small, so much so that we ended up having a very early lunch because we felt hungry. The portion size didn't measure up to other cafes we visited whilst in York (who provided high quality food for far less)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Langfords2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillsRestaurant, Brad at Bill's York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Langfords2010,

Thank you for your review, we pride our selves in ensuring that all our guests leave feeling well looked after and enjoyed their experience, it looks as if we have certainly missed the mark with this, so for this firstly our apologies, thank you so much around your kind words around the team, I would like to discuss your experience further and to hopefully change your perception of Bills, if would kindly send me your contact details to hello@bills-email.co.uk we can discuss further

Thanks

Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There was a very good selection to choose from. There were four of us and all the meals were excellent. Also we had a book about York (free) there was a voucher inside if you bought 2 main meals you received a free bottle of wine to have with your meal. Fortunately we had 2 books.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. There are also food products to buy which are used in the restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wilsons70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillsRestaurant, Brad at Bill's York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Wilsons70,

Excellent review, Great to read you all enjoyed your meal, fabulous that your party had the free guide which entitled you to complimentary wine which I hope you also enjoyed, I shall pass on this great review to the team they will be thrilled you all enjoyed your experience

Thanks

Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

Visited here with my mum. Having spent many a holiday in the USA, I had the urge to have buttermilk pancakes for breakfast and they certainly didn’t disappoint- closest to what I’ve had in the USA - sooo delicious! Definitely recommend the short stack with fresh fruit. Staff were lovely - can’t wait to return

Thank Lynn052014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillsRestaurant, Brad at Bill's York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Lynn,

Great read so pleased the pancakes didn't disappoint you, I couldn't agree with you more the fruit pancakes are a personal favourite of mine, So pleased the team looked after you well, hope to see you both again soon

Thanks
Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Fairly simple menu, but always good. They have brought their Sea Bass back - thanks for that - it's very good. Bring back your Rhubarb Crumble and you will get another "thanks"!!

Thank PeterH307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillsRestaurant, Brad at Bill's York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Hi Peter H,

delighted to read you enjoyed the sea bass, the menu changes seasonally there's always a chance that the crumble may make a come back, look forward to welcoming you again

Thanks Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bill's York also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bill's York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing