We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from Home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
biscuitsg...
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My husband and myself and two friends have just returned from a weekend stay at this lovely house in the centre of York. You could not have asked for a better position, it was also very clean and really well equipped, we wanted for nothing! The owners kindly left a bottle of Prosecco in the fridge along with milk and biscuits as a welcome gift. It was a real home from home and would certainly return again. I would have no fear in recommending this rental to anyone.

Everything was provided for our comfort and made our stay most enjoyable. With four adults sharing there was plenty of space with two double bedrooms furnished tastefully and very comfortable. Beautiful bathroom with instant continual hot water whenever it was wanted. This is an exceptional letting and I'm so glad we chose to stay here instead of in a hotel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Nothing to dislike!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tashphipp...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb house in a superb location”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A well presented and spotlessly clean house in a superb location. The owners were very helpful recommending additional parking nearby and were very welcoming. The property is ideally situated only a 5min walk into town and a bus stop conveniently located outside. There is a Tesco express round the corner and restaurants at the end of the street. Both beds were extremely comfortable and the patio at the back is a nice area to sit and read. I honestly feel the photos do not do this property justice. Highly recommend a stay in this lovely property. I would definately stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
Very happy you enjoyed your visit. Your comments are much appreciated. Our aim is to make our guests as comfortable as possible and whenever we can, we like to welcome them in person. It is a real bonus being in such a central location and only a few steps away from what is now one of the best cafe and restaurant streets in York. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review us and we hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thackwood
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing house, perfect location and exceptional attention to detail!”
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed with another couple over new year, loved the house on its own, was easy to find, nice and spacious, one of the most well equipped holiday rentals have ever stayed in. The location was excellent, only a few minutes to walk to the shambles and found an exceptional curry house around the corner. Tesco express very close also. The best part of this house was the attention to detail in the things that were put in the house, have never stayed anywhere that has dishwasher tablets ready to go and tea and coffee as well as nespresso pods and complimentary oatcakes and prosecco. Thank you very much for our excellent stay

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2015
Very glad you enjoyed it and thank you for taking the time to review it. It's always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and very helpful too. We hope you'll visit again before long. Happy New Year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon S
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect house in heart of york. Great stay”
Reviewed 7 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at st denys for a weekend in december and it was excellent. The house is central to everything. Theres restaurants, shops and bars just around the corner but being across the road from a church is very quiet. Will definately stay here next time were in york as you cant fault it. It worked out better value than staying in a hotel and had everything you need for a comfortable stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2015
Thanks very much for taking the time to review us. It's great that you enjoyed your stay and very glad you liked the central location and found the house comfortable. We hope you'll come again this year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zerlina78
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't recommend more highly”
Reviewed 24 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were extremely happy with our stay in this holiday home. When we arrived, the owner kindly greeted us, and informed us of general information (e.g. who to contact, parking etc).

The house itself was excellent, complete with complementary Betty's biscuits, tea/coffee, milk and a bottle of Prosecco!

The rooms/facilities were immaculate, and the house itself was quiet, comfortable, spacious and bright.

The location is excellent - just a few minutes walk from the centre. We couldn't recommend this more highly and would certainly revisit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing to add
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2014
So glad you and your family enjoyed your stay at 59 St Denys Road. York is such a lovely city and there are so many things to see and do. We very much hope you'll make a return visit before too long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing