We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great apartment, central location for all York...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 8 Merchants Place

A view of the overall location of the apartment, which is in the block on the right.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A view of the overall location of the apartment, which is in the block on the right.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
A view of the overall location of the apartment, which is in the block on the right.
The lounge has a great view of the Merchants Adventurers' Hall
The balcony is very safe - our 2 year old loves it…throws bread to the swans!
The view of Cliffords tower, looking left from the balcony
Secured paved entrance
View from the balcony
View from the balcony
The master bedroom also has river views
Both bedrooms have large amount of storage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Rob W
Chester
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Central and smart but noisy and hot”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

8 Merchants place is 'as advertised', a modern, smart apartment. It is 'OK'.
Advantages - very central, clean, smart.
Disadvantages - very noisy (rowdy crowds etc) , very hot in summer (poor ventilation), two Double beds (why not a twin in one room?), odd parking (in a local car park - worked OK but not ideal).
I'm afraid we won't use again.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2016
Dear Rob,

Thanks for the honest feedback. It's true to say that you can't please everyone, and I'm sorry you weren't entirely happy.

It was very hot indeed in the week you visited, and we did provide a fan. I'm sorry that this was not adequate for your needs.

We'll certainly consider your suggestion re the beds, as its been something I've considered myself, but never heard before.

I've re checked the description to make sure that everything is accurate, and it is so far as I can see, including where the parking is.

Thanks again and better luck next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOpr27
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great apartment, central location for all York centre has to offer, walking distance to shops and bars and restaurants.”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Booked here to stay with a friend. Both travelled from different locations to meet up for catch up and shopping. Couldn't have be more pleased. Lovely location and views from the apartment, a stones throw away from all the amenities, all the shops, bars, cafe's and restaurants within walking distance. The apparment is still peaceful though once inside & secure with the private access and gates outside. Security deposit boxes in bedrooms too. Very clean and modern, spotless in fact. Super comfy beds and bedrooms, lovely fluffy towels provided. Kitchen well stocked with all equipment which was great as we had food there from the local supermarket on the first evening. Tea, coffee, milk etc already in the kitchen. Close enough to shops to stop back the next day and drop off our shopping before lunch at the pub across the road, and round two of the shops. Was very comfortable here could have stayed longer, there is always next time, would certainly book up again if gong to York. Owners very responsive and helpful with there contact.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2016
Thanks very much for your kind words we are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landladyl...
Petersfield
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect central location in smart, modern apartment”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Smart, attractively furnished, well equipped, modern apartment only a few minutes walk from York Minster and close to excellent restaurants, shops and river walks, Light airy living/dining room with lovely small balcony over looking River Foss. Chris & Miranda, the owners, are extremely helpful. York is a wonderful city to explore and we'd love to return and to stay at Merchants Place again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the balcony which was perfect for lunch overlooking the river
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
Thanks guys, you'll be very welcome. Safe journey.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFT2
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great Location”
Reviewed 19 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This apartment was in a terrific location, within the old walls of the city and close walking distance to everything. We walked there from the train station and also enjoyed many walks around the twisting streets of York. There were numerous grocery stores nearby, so we were able to cook an early dinner while jetlagged. The apartment was blissfully quiet with a sunny balcony and a lovely view to the historic Merchant Adventurers' Hall. Everything was well organised and easy. There were very good instructions about how to find and access the apartment. It was spotlessly clean and just as the photos showed it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
Brilliant thanks guys - don't hesitate to get in touch with us if there is anything you think we could be doing better though! Thanks again - safe journey.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlne
England
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed 29 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Perfect location with superb views for a short break in York. The apartment was stylish, cozy and well equipped. Shame it was too cold in March to make use of the balcony but would imagine in warmer weather it would be perfect to sit with a glass of wine and enjoy the views and be entertained by the ducks on the river.

Would certainly recommend to anyone wanting a central location in York but have peace and quiet also. Many thanks for a great short break and thanks to Polly for being so helpful.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2016
Thanks for the great review and for recognising Polly! She is a superstar!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony W
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect apartment in a perfect location”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This is a brilliant apartment in the abolute centre of the beautiful ancient city of York.
The balcony overlooks the river and the gardens of the Merchant Adventurers Hall, where my daughters wedding was held, but also has a nice perspective over to the magnificent minster.
Very clean and modern inside with everything you might need for a comfortable and relaxing break. The car parking permit worked well with Tower car park only 3 to 4 minutes walk away.
Arrival was easy with Polly showing us how to get in and how everything worked. So much better than staying in any hotel room.
I would highly recommend this apartment to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Evrything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2016
Thanks Tony, great review, it's really great to hear. Do come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
2 reviews
“Lovely apartment, great location”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I stayed here in April with my sister and her two young children. The apartment is ideally located and not at all noisy despite being so central. It looks out over the river and the kids loved to sit at the huge windows and watch the ducks. The apartment is clean and tidy and has everything you need, we were provided with bread and milk at the start of our stay, and there is a Tesco 30 seconds from the front door for any extras you need. The walk into town up Fossgate is short and pleasant, plus you pass the top rated coffee shop in York (Spring Espresso) on the way, which does a great flat white. It was lovely to come back to the apartment at the end of a busy day and relax and watch a dvd before retiring to the very comfy beds.
All in all we had a great time here and felt really at home, we would definitely stay again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2016
Thanks so much for the kind words! Come back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing