We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First class”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 8 Merchants Place

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Bev C
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First class”
Reviewed 19 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed it was a beautiful apartment so clean and the views over the river were beautiful so peaceful too would definitely recommend it

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything it was all amazing
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
22 Oct 2016
Thanks for the review guys, really appreciate it. Look forward to having you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna N
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply Fantastic”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Merchants Place with my Husband and daughter who is aged 3.
Miranda and Chris's apartment is truly lovely, clean, spacious and in the perfect location.
We parked our car and didn't move it again until we came to leave. Just a 5 minutes walk to the Shambles and 10 minutes to the Minster and other attractions.

We were greeted by Polly, the housekeeper, who was friendly, helpful and super nice.

I would without hesitation stay here again, we all really enjoyed our weekend in beautiful york and this beautiful apartment.

Thanks so much to you all xx

Date of stay: October 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
15 Oct 2016
Thank you very much for your very kind words, it means a lot to us to know that we are getting it right most of the time, please do come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateLabno
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous apartment cannot wait to return!”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here for the weekend with 2 friends to attend a professional conference at the university. We could not have found fault even if we were trying - from communication with the owners before and during the stay to the apartment itself we were blown away.

The apartment was spotless and so gorgeous - it's furnished and finished off immaculately and we felt quite spoilt. It has 2 very good sized double bedrooms and all the facilities you would ever need for a comfortable stay.The main bedroom overlooks the river as does the balcony from the living/dining room. Sitting on the balcony with a glass of prosecco on Friday night was a fantastic start to our stay!

The location could not be better - it is easy to find and you feel very safe despite being in the city centre as there are secure gates. We were a minutes stroll from the most gorgeous restaurants, shops and bars and a lovely 10-15 minute walk to the university. The parking was ideal - it is just a short stroll along a footpath to the apartment and it's great that you don't have to pay any extra for it.

In terms of noise - of course there is some feint noise of an evening during the weekend. It is a city centre apartment surrounded by the hustle and bustle. It certainly did not keep us awake and in fact I quite liked the buzz of the nightlife.

Some of my favourite things:

Fluffy towels provided
Plugs next to each bed side
Hair dryer provided
Balcony
Gorgeous bathroom
Bagels and Jam from a gorgeous little deli as a welcome present
Parking
Wifi
Hand written book of tips and things close by

I would highly recommend this apartment and am already planning to take my Mum back here for a weekend away.
Kate x

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect
Liked least: Nothing to complain about
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
29 Sep 2016
Hi Kate - thank you for your very kind words, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you and your mum!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob W
Chester
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Central and smart but noisy and hot”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

8 Merchants place is 'as advertised', a modern, smart apartment. It is 'OK'.
Advantages - very central, clean, smart.
Disadvantages - very noisy (rowdy crowds etc) , very hot in summer (poor ventilation), two Double beds (why not a twin in one room?), odd parking (in a local car park - worked OK but not ideal).
I'm afraid we won't use again.

Date of stay: August 2016
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
21 Sep 2016
Dear Rob,

Thanks for the honest feedback. It's true to say that you can't please everyone, and I'm sorry you weren't entirely happy.

It was very hot indeed in the week you visited, and we did provide a fan. I'm sorry that this was not adequate for your needs.

We'll certainly consider your suggestion re the beds, as its been something I've considered myself, but never heard before.

I've re checked the description to make sure that everything is accurate, and it is so far as I can see, including where the parking is.

Thanks again and better luck next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOpr27
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great apartment, central location for all York centre has to offer, walking distance to shops and bars and restaurants.”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Booked here to stay with a friend. Both travelled from different locations to meet up for catch up and shopping. Couldn't have be more pleased. Lovely location and views from the apartment, a stones throw away from all the amenities, all the shops, bars, cafe's and restaurants within walking distance. The apparment is still peaceful though once inside & secure with the private access and gates outside. Security deposit boxes in bedrooms too. Very clean and modern, spotless in fact. Super comfy beds and bedrooms, lovely fluffy towels provided. Kitchen well stocked with all equipment which was great as we had food there from the local supermarket on the first evening. Tea, coffee, milk etc already in the kitchen. Close enough to shops to stop back the next day and drop off our shopping before lunch at the pub across the road, and round two of the shops. Was very comfortable here could have stayed longer, there is always next time, would certainly book up again if gong to York. Owners very responsive and helpful with there contact.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
10 Aug 2016
Thanks very much for your kind words we are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landladyl...
Petersfield
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect central location in smart, modern apartment”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Smart, attractively furnished, well equipped, modern apartment only a few minutes walk from York Minster and close to excellent restaurants, shops and river walks, Light airy living/dining room with lovely small balcony over looking River Foss. Chris & Miranda, the owners, are extremely helpful. York is a wonderful city to explore and we'd love to return and to stay at Merchants Place again.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the balcony which was perfect for lunch overlooking the river
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
Thanks guys, you'll be very welcome. Safe journey.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFT2
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
Reviewed 19 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment was in a terrific location, within the old walls of the city and close walking distance to everything. We walked there from the train station and also enjoyed many walks around the twisting streets of York. There were numerous grocery stores nearby, so we were able to cook an early dinner while jetlagged. The apartment was blissfully quiet with a sunny balcony and a lovely view to the historic Merchant Adventurers' Hall. Everything was well organised and easy. There were very good instructions about how to find and access the apartment. It was spotlessly clean and just as the photos showed it.

Date of stay: July 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
Brilliant thanks guys - don't hesitate to get in touch with us if there is anything you think we could be doing better though! Thanks again - safe journey.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.