We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb g and t”

The Three Legged Mare
Ranked #275 of 990 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$13
Description: In a bustling city filled to the brim with traditional real ale pubs, The Three Legged Mare is the most refreshing of finds! Our pub is modern and light yet maintains a historic feel and takes its name from a traditional three-man hanging device. The pub is a lively venue with regular live music and a warm and friendly welcome.
Restaurant details
Description: In a bustling city filled to the brim with traditional real ale pubs, The Three Legged Mare is the most refreshing of finds! Our pub is modern and light yet maintains a historic feel and takes its name from a traditional three-man hanging device. The pub is a lively venue with regular live music and a warm and friendly welcome.
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Stopped in for a quick one or two during a shopping trip. Loved the rhubarb gin and tonic combo. There was a little dog in there and they don’t allow children so big thumbs up from me!!

1  Thank Miguel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MitchellsofLanc, Manager at The Three Legged Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Hi Miguel G
And your lovely review gets a big thumbs up from us! Many thanks and please visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

Good for a beer fan, it is not posh inside but is nice. They have a full selection of York Brewery beers which are very nice. If you want to sample they do three thirds.

1  Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MitchellsofLanc, Manager at The Three Legged Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Hi Matt C
Top review! Many thanks - we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

We've been to York a couple of times recently and usually end up for a beer or 3 in the Three Legged Mare. It's up the road from the Minster so is a bit off the tourist track so is often a bit easier to get a seat.

Beer is from York Brewery and is well kept. If you prefer cider they have a number of unusual options (not your usual gassy crap from the big breweries)

I don't think they do food so if you want a meal best go elsewhere!

1  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MitchellsofLanc, Manager at The Three Legged Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Hi Richard A
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a great review - we do pride ourselves on our York Brewery beer and our team are highly trained in the art of beer care! Lovely you mentioned our ciders too - we look forward to welcoming you back in hopefully the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

My favourite pub in York. Decent beer, free WiFi and a great location. Off the idiot trail too. There’s not much more you can say other than come and try it

1  Thank Yorkterrier01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MitchellsofLanc, Manager at The Three Legged Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Hi Yorkterrier01
We love your review! Thank you very much and please visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

A nice simple pub selling excellent ales. Pop in and treat yourself after your trip to the Minster :-)

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank illustratedman25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MitchellsofLanc, Manager at The Three Legged Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Hi illustratedman25
Wow - wonderful review! Thank you very much - we hope that readers follow your sound advice and pop in for a treat! Please call in again yourself soon too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Three Legged Mare also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Three Legged Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing