We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Monkgate Cloister”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Randy6660...
Livingston, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Monkgate Cloister”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Very good location for exploring York. Can walk easily to any of the major tourist areas. Nice supermarket just a few steps away. Apartment nicely furnished, nice kitchen setup and owner was responsive to all my questions.

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U7080AYca...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“All you would need for a great holiday”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

excellent apartment situated five minutes from York Minister, everything you need and spotless. Lovely Owners and Housekeepers who keep the apartment in excellent order. Easy to get around York City also easy to get on rains and buses. Hope to be back again.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler7...
1 review
“Our best self catering experience”
Reviewed 14 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A very welcoming meet and greet. A welcome pack including a vase of fresh roses. The apartment was very comfortable, clean and well stocked with everything you could need. It was convenient for the city centre with everywhere within walking distance. We really enjoyed our stay in York and meeting Paula and Paul.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T
Cullman, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 7 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

My sister and I recently stayed 6 nights in this flat and could not have enjoyed it more. It has everything you need for a comfortable stay. It was immaculately clean and convenient to everything. We were met by a helpful young man who gave us the keys and showed us how to work everything. I cannot think of one thing that would have made it better. I highly recommend it and would absolutely go back.

Date of stay: June 2017
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANDMA20...
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely apartment in a superb position”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This apartment has everything you could want for a holiday. The wifi was fast, all necessary kitchen utensils were there, dishwasher etc. It was nicely decorated, too. Well presented and pristinely clean. The Sainsbury's is so close that it's hardly worth putting your coat on, and yet the store itself is hidden from the apartment. The location is superb: although it's very quiet when inside, yet you're only 3 minutes walk to Monk bar, 10 mins to the Minster.
The welcome touches were very well received, beautiful roses, Yorkshire cake and biscuits. Scott met us and took us through the apartment. Although the sun shone on us, the heating in the apartment would be most welcome to other visitors.
This accommodation cannot be faulted.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanP518
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay ”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just had a fantastic few days in this immaculate apartment. The apartment has everything that you could possibly need. It is very conveniently placed for all the attractions York has to offer. We would certainly recommend it and would have no hesitation in staying here again.
The welcome pack and being met by the owner was appreciated and is something that we have not experienced before.
Thank you.

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazwal
Whickham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Apartment”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We came to York to 21 Monkgate Cloisters for a 3 day stay with our grandson. The apartment is beautifully situated, with a short walk to the centre of York. We had everything we needed and more! My grandson loved the huge 4G TV. Two lovely bedrooms, full kitchen with all amenities including, washing machine & dishwasher! It is a very stylish apartment, and I would definitely recommend a visit!

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and Location
Liked least: Having to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.