We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch”
Review of Bistro Guy

Bistro Guy
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro Guy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #140 of 989 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Delicious breakfasts/brunches, tasty lunches, wonderful homemade cakes, fantastic illy coffees/ Hebden loose leaf teas from Monday to Saturday 10am to 4pm Sourdough logfire pizzas & guest local micro brew beer in the wood plus arrange of other bottles beers, wine, Bistro Guy gin and pimm's Friday & Saturday 5pm to 10pm Sunday 12pm to 3pm
Reviewed 19 November 2017

We found this cosy little bistro by chance on our wanderings around York during a 4 day break. We both ordered the burgers and it was explained to us by the lovely waitress that they could add extras to our meals as there was in fact only enough beef for 1 burger meal. We agreed to this. Our meals arrived really well presented, with extra bacon and sausage, and with yummy chips on the side in little pots. We really enjoyed our meal and the small intimate atmosphere. Exceptional service. This must be a great place to eat in the evening, either for a romantic meal, or with family and friends. We would definitely return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lizjr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy W, Owner at Bistro Guy, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018
Google Translation

Cheers Guys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

We had the 7 course tasting menu. It was absolutely fantastic. Great variety and really different to anything else you'll find in York. Easily one of the best meals I've had in York and I am just shocked that more people don't know about this place and eat here. The service was spot on and Guy even came out to ask if we'd enjoyed our meal. We will definitely be returning and I urge you to visit Guys Bistro, too!

Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy W, Owner at Bistro Guy, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

This Sums it up!!!!

So pleased you enjoyed your meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

We were a group of about 10 people from various backgrounds food-wise, and some were a little cautious about a 5 course tasting menu. We were all won over - the food was exceptional, both in appearance and taste. I particularly enjoyed the smoked duck dish - served rather theatrically in is own smokey bell jar. The dishes are as beautiful as the photos suggest and I am sold on the cuisine. Particular mention must go to the young man who served us that evening. He balanced great service with knowledge and humour and was just right for his role. A very pleasant and relaxed evening all round.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rhianwhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy W, Owner at Bistro Guy, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Really Really pleased you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Overall the service was good. The waitress was very friendly and gave us a very simple explanation that we couldn’t order a meal as the chef wasn’t there yet. But that wasn’t an issue for us as we just wanted coffee and cake.
The coffee was delicious. The cake... not so much. We both ordered the caramel short bread, it wasn’t nice, too much sugar!

Thank Katy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy W, Owner at Bistro Guy, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Hello Katy

Thank you for your review.
I feel this is not a fair Judgement to say Bad cake in the title as it was really down to the fact it was not to your taste buds! It was not like the cake was dry or burnt it was too sweet, It is salted caramel shortbread!
I personally would not order caramel slice from any where as I find them too sweet! put judging by the amount we sell eat in and take out plus the feed back we get from them our Caramel shortbread's are excellent.
Just wanted to clear up the unfair damaging comment.

Pleased you enjoyed the coffee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Ate here last week in the evening. Small place, relaxed with more of a cafe feel to it, but an exceptionally talented chef. We took the seven course taster menu for 35 pounds a head with offered a succession of discoveries and combinations of tastes and colour.

This was a truely top quality menu, very well balanced with small portions, so that at the end of the meal you did not feel you had eaten too much. It was accompanied by a great bottle of sauvignon.

We found the place on the recommendation of our hotel. We were not disappointed.

This is a undiscovered gem, with is on Gillygate, just outside the city wall and within 5 minutes of the Minister. For that reason it is slightly off the beaten track for dinner. during the day it opens for breakfast and lunch in a casual atmosphere.

Strongly recommended

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Eurofolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro Guy also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bistro Guy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing