We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Tea”

Middlethorpe Hall Restaurant
Ranked #117 of 860 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$148
Cuisines: European, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The National Trust's Middlethorpe Hall, is a William III country house close to the city of York set in 20 acres of its own gardens and parkland. Built in 1699, it was once the home of the famous diarist. Lady Mary Wortley Montagu.After a period of neglect, the Hall was sympathetically restored with decorations, antiques and pictures carefully chosen as consistent with the period of the house.The panelled dining rooms overlooking the gardens and the imaginative food designed by Head Chef Nicholas Evans, much prasied in all the guide books, follows the hotel's theme of traditional excellence.Afternoon Tea is served daily in the C18th Drawing Room and 'Al-Fresco' dining is available to be taken on the south facing terrace.
Acaster Malbis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“High Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Just visited this magnificent hotel for High Tea. Depending on weather this can be taken on the terrace facing the beautiful gardens or in one of the drawing rooms. The day I visited was a chilly cloudy day so suffice to say I was in the drawing room. This did not spoil a thing as the décor is of keeping with the age of the hotel. The food served was of a high quality and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. For the price it was worth every penny. If ever you are in York and fancy High Tea this is the place to go but I suggest that you book first.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank raymondt760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    38
    20
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Food was just superb. Generous serves of beautifully prepared and presented dishes. If you are staying at the hotel I strongly recommend eating there.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointed this time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have been to Middlethorpe Hall a few times mostly for afternoon tea and always enjoyed it but this time not so much. The hotel failed to mention they had a function on and instead of being in the drawing room as usual we we're put in the library. This was small and my husband had to spend the time sitting on a hard upright chair and there was barely enough room for the tables with the cakes etc on them. It was a bit too cool to sit outside for my 81 year old mother in law and Thera was also another group in there and it was just too small .
The food was good but it was not as nice as previous times and where normally we would have sat and just relaxed we left as soon as we had finished. If the hotel had told me the situation I would have found somewhere else. All in all disappointing.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison2420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It gets better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Absolutely amazing dinner last night; the food was fantastic. I had the quail to start and the turbot main, and both were for me Michelin star quality. Great wine list and superb staff. Max was our waiter and was brilliant. One thing I would suggest is for the hotel to try and enforce the dress code as there was the odd guest in t-shirt / casual dress which does not match the ambience of the dining room. Otherwise excellent and I can't wait for our next visit. Thanks!

Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 671 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea Pleasant - but Poor Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Concierge gave a dreadful first and last impression
Due to heavy rain one of our party stopped close to the front door to drop us off and then went to park. Upon arrival the Concierge ducked out of sight - a friendly welcome holding an umbrella would've made such a difference. He then rushed us to the first floor sitting room despite us saying we wanted to wait for the family member who was still parking. On departure we borrowed umbrellas but there was no helpfulness or greetings.
We were shown to an upstairs sitting room, exclusively for us, a delightful setting overlooking the gardens. The first waitress who took our order wasn't aware of the Chocolate Afternoon Tea promoted on the website, though we were able to order this. We were pleased that a Gluten Free option was available for my Mother. The Traditional Afternoon Tea Menu is £19.95 per person, £29.95 if you choose the Chapagne option.
The next waitress was French and spilled tea over the sofa, carpet and into the saucers, we requested extra napkins so the drips from the bottom of the cups wouldn't spoil our clothes, she didn't understand. A third waiter popped in and we asked for an additional apple juice, this was forgotten and we had to go looking for staff to get this plus additional tea. We felt too many different staff attended our group, each of them assuming a colleague was carrying out requests.
The sandwiches were very good and the cakes exceeded the Internet description, though none of the anticipated fruit cake. Scones not warmed.
The crockery was bone china and as expected, dessert forks were ideal, however the huge dinner knives wouldn't stay on the dainty 6" tea plates. Good quality table linen. Additional side table would have freed up valuable coffee table space
I have attached some photographs of the room and tea.
The setting is superb, the food average and service poor

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank willsySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlethorpe, General Manager at Middlethorpe Hall Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Whilst we are pleased that these guests appreciated the setting of the National Trust’s Middlethorpe Hall for their afternoon tea party, we are really sorry that they did not fully enjoy their experience because the welcome was not as warm as it should have been, and the service uncharacteristically disappointing on a particularly busy day.

This is an isolated incident and the helpful comments expressed in this review have been discussed with the Heads of Department concerned, to improve our standards further where required and avoid re-occurrence.

We sincerely hope that these guests will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Middlethorpe Hall Restaurant also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Middlethorpe Hall Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing