We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“coffee great but underwhelming on the whole”

Hadleys Coffee House
Ranked #19 of 71 Coffee & Tea in York
Cuisines: Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Hadleys Coffee House provides award winning coffee provided by highly trained Batista's. A range of cakes and sandwiches are available with your choice of bread from sliced to sub's. We serve a delicious homemade soup and roll all available to sit in or take away!
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Our son and his girlfriend had just moved in and didn't have the bits and bobs to make breakfast so we went out to find somewhere that did. Lots of choice and we settled on this place which looked good but didn't live up to expectation. The waitress took AGES to take our order - although the place was very quiet - and the service was extremely slow. Good fresh juice. Really excellent coffee but the full English was disappointing both in quality and quantity (we had ordered a large breakfast as moving is hungry work - but got one sausage cut in half instead of the promised two. It was a good sausage but they could have mentioned the shortage. Got and extra slice of bacon to compensate. Wouldn't go back. Too many other places around to try.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jmgLowFell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Went here midday on Saturday 25th February 2017,had a late night so had a late all day breakfast,two full English breakfasts,and two extra sides each for an added £1 each ,toast was a bit under done ,both breakfasts arrived without the two extra sides ,the eggs looked as if they were not cooked as very slimey,a bit surprised as it was not busy at the time ,and were only talking about a table of two people, upstairs is being renovated so a few people were turned away,if they're going to be successful I think they just need to be a bit more organised which will be a test when upstairs is open for business.

Thank mavman39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Our family of three had coffee here, and both my americano and Wife's cappucino were among the best we have had in York (Daughter's San Pellegrino doesn't really count☺). The staff was very friendly and the music selection excellent.

Thank Mattias J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Have read the reviews below and must make clear that I cannot comment about the food.....but on a Sunday morning 1100 (quiet) the four of us had very good Lattes/black coffee/black coffee shot and Early Grey Tea. Good service and pleasant enough surroundings - guess they have had a clear out of staff or a bullet. Either way, will return and would recommend (as a local) this CH next to Bootham Bar. Four yesses to quote BGT.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank MStJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate H, Owner at Hadleys Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Thank you for making this review. Correct! We have had a shuffle around with staff & will resume full service when York heats up again & when the full time manager returns from her maternity!
I'm glad you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to seeing you on a regular basis! Any comments are welcome to new staff on site on your return We always like feedback and to keep all our customers happy on every visit!

Thanks Again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Always lovely food and staff! Cosy and quirky, just what you need to get away from the hustle and bustle from York. An absolute gem!

Thank Maddie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate H, Owner at Hadleys Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Thank you from all the Hadleys staff! We are glad you enjoyed your experience & appreciate your feedback! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hadleys Coffee House also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Hadleys Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing