We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic, friendly, atmospheric, cosy cafe”
Review of Cafe Concerto

Cafe Concerto
Ranked #37 of 888 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$67 - US$67
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Rustic, friendly, atmospheric, cosy cafe”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I chanced upon this lovely place when caught in the rain with half an hour to spare, looking for a scone and cuppa. No scones, so I was persuaded to try a piece of baked vanilla cheesecake, which was outstanding. The piece was so huge I polished it off in Ripon the following evening - the cafe was prepared for goodie bags and had a handy little box. Highly recommended, and worth a visit for the lavatory alone!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank celloconcert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    575
    360
    84
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, SC
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Quirky atmosphere and delicious food!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Just a few steps from York Minster's West Front, this quirky little restaurant offers delicious food. Tables and chairs don't match, the table bases are typically old sewing machine bases, and the walls are papered with old sheet music. Service was prompt and pleasant and our food was excellent. We were not especially hungry, so we opted to share a Mediterranean platter with prosciutto, salami, olives, fresh mozzarella, pita bread, hummus, and grilled ciabatta. Everything was first-rate. We both ordered the soup of the day--mushroom, chestnut, and rosemary with granary baguette. Again, very good. They make a big deal out of the fact that they are independent, not part of a national chain. The decor would tell you that, and the food will make you want to come back and support a local establishment.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mybagsrpackd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never fails!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I love this place and I have been come for years. As a student this use to be my treat and the pieces of cake are certainly big enough not to need anything else!

A visit back to York would not be the same without a visit to Cafe Concerto. Great location opposite the Minster.

So good I went back the next morning for breakfast! This place never fails on all counts!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent food in pleasant surroundings.”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Picking somewhere to eat on a Sunday evening is always a bit of a lottery, even in York where one is spoiled for choice. We chose Cafe Concerto because it has apparently been there for 20 years (and, we reasoned, has got its act together). We were not disappointed.

It is very close to the Minster, and although quiet when we visited, will probably be very busy at other times. The inside is plain and bistro-like, with sheet music for wallpaper, pleasantly subdued lighting and no obtrusive "musak".

But the food and drink is what this place is all about. Pleasant, well-chosen house wine. Excellent main courses with nice, fresh vegetables. For me, the highlight was their bread-and-butter pudding (made with croissants) which was exquisite.

Talking to Rozz, the owner, Cafe Concerto really has been around for two decades. On this performance, it deserves an extended encore.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A Feast For The Eyes-Not Just The Tummy!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This tiny cafe-restaurant bustles with activity and frequently has a queue of people waiting for tables on a Saturday afternoon...though never have to wait very long!

The walls are plastered with old music scores and items of musical history...a feast for the eyes, not just the tummy!

Food and drink is as creative as the surrounds, offering bistro-style eating. Good quality, good price, great staff...a joy to be there!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Concerto also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Cafe Concerto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing