We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lime House

The Lime House
Ranked #36 of 850 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$37
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Lime House is a lovely place to eat, meet and be merry. Excellent food & wine & a relaxed and friendly atmosphere are complemented by welcoming staff, soft candlelight & intimate jazz music. The regularly changing menu has a Modern British flavour and all dishes are prepared freshly to order, using local produce. Good Vegetarian choices are available & specialist diets such as Gluten Free or Vegan can be catered for with advance notification. A delightful culinary experience.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Had a fantastic meal in this restaurant last night, it,was packed on a Thursday night which shows how good it must be. I had the Scallops with Black Pudding which were amazing, one of the nicest starters I've ever had, & then the Rack of Lamb for main course. This was beautifully tender and cooked nice & pink. My husband had the Smoked Duck Salad to start then the Venison Rump for main course. Both were delicious and beautifully cooked & presented. Our plates were clean! There is a nice wine list with plenty of choice under £20 & the staff are lovely, they really seem to want you to have a good time. We were too full for pudding but that gives us an excellent excuse to return for a second visit so we can try them!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank catb55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    137
    50
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food at a very reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Took my wife on a lunch time as we were visiting York. The three course set price menu was wide and varied and the food uniformly excellent, my wife's risotto and my lemon posset being exemplary. The portions were just right for a lunchtime. The wine (a crisp Chilean Sauvignon Blanc) was excellent and relatively reasonable. I would definitely recommend this restaurant and will be returning.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NickUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Another cracking independent in York!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

A nice little place, with very good service and lovely surroundings. Give all the chains a miss and support these places, superb for a couples night!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DjTrevUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“My favourite restaurant in York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I've visited The Lime House a couple of times now & it just gets better & better. This time I ate with a friend who's a coeliac. We telephoned in advance to notify the restaurant of the special dietary requirements & they couldn't have been more helpful. My friend had a fabulous choice of food on the night & said it was one of the best meals she had had. My meal was delicious too, good quality & served with a smile by charming staff. I cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough, thank you Lime House for another wonderful evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
1 review
“Gorgeous food in a beautiful city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I have been to this restaurant a number of times for both lunch and evening dinners and it is one of my favourites. The food is always delicious and beautifully presented and the staff are friendly and attentive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SFSOLOMON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lime House also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Lime House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing