We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more can we say!!!”
Review of The Lime House

The Lime House
Ranked #38 of 869 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$39
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Lime House is a lovely place to eat, meet and be merry. Excellent food & wine & a relaxed and friendly atmosphere are complemented by welcoming staff, soft candlelight & intimate jazz music. The regularly changing menu has a Modern British flavour and all dishes are prepared freshly to order, using local produce. Good Vegetarian choices are available & specialist diets such as Gluten Free or Vegan can be catered for with advance notification. A delightful culinary experience.
York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“What more can we say!!!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We recently visited The Limehouse to celebrate my wife's birthday. This restaurant is a favourite of ours and once again it was outstanding. Friendly and efficient staff allied to outstanding food and a well chosen wine selection make this a must visit restaurant. Furthermore, the Limehouse prices, unlike some London resaurants, won't require you to sell your home to pay for your meal. In consequence "what more can we say" other than to do yourself a favour and book a table.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gearymad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    143
    51
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic food, great service”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My friend and I visited the restaurant on a busy Saturday evening. The staff were attentive - making sure we were well looked after without it becoming obtrusive. I had the scallops to start, and perfectly cooked venison as my main. I didn't want either course to end!!
The rose prosecco is the most delicious fizz! If you don't want a full bottle, treat yourself to a baby bottle in stead!
This is the place to eat in York...completely unpretentious, yet serving exceptional food and delivering grade-A service, can't wait to come back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathyb3376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Fantastic evening at The Lime House in York. The staff are extremely welcoming, the food is absolutely delicious and the atmosphere inviting. It is the perfect venue for a romantic meal, dinner with a friend or a small group. I will certainly be visiting The Lime House again very soon!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 143ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Lime House”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I recently visited the Lime House with my family for a celebration meal. I have to say from stepping over the threshold the staff were attentive, the restaurant spotless and inviting, the food outstanding and all at amazing value for money. As a large group (with a few children among us) we had multiple different orders which all arrived at our table piping hot and at the same time (quite an accomplishment!). I had a baked avocado and brie cheesecake which exceeded expectation and was beautifully garnished, followed by duck which came with a sumptuous sauce. Throughout the wine list was generous and the suggested wines were fitting for the meal. For pudding we had a house special which was unique and enjoyed by all. For one member of the party who was not keen on this the chef simply ran up an assiette of puddings so that they could try a few samples! From start to finish we had a relaxed lovely lunch and afternoon without being rushed and cannot recommend it highly enough. We have paid much more in the past for a standard of food, quality and service which in no way would meet that of the Lime House. We came away very happy, and very full. We will be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benahavis, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family Birthday Meal”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We visited The Lime House today for lunch to celebrate Mums 70th Birthday. The value and quality of food was excellent we started with some bread oil and balsamic.
Libby aged 11 started with home made celery soup followed by cod on a sundried and chorizo mash. George 14 ( appetite of a horse ) and his cousin James 17 had parma ham with a poached pear and walnut salad followed by Barnsley Lamb Chop on mash.Birthday girl had a crayfish salad followed by a warm tiger prawn salad with cous cous . Sharon had baked advocado and brie cheesecake and a confit of duck on sweet potato mash. My brother had Gravalax Salmon and the Barnsley Chop. I went with the crab rissotto followed by strips of chicken breast chorizo and olives with chips and salad. All the food arrived together hot and well presented pleasing on the eye it did nit let down on the palate. All clean plates everyone complimented the flavour. The chef Adam made a chocolate and raspberry cake infused with Drambuie which was fab .George had a Assiette of puddings . All washed down with 2 bottles of rose Prosecco. The staff were friendly and attentive the food was full of flavour.The value for lunch was fab James commented why would anyone want to go to a chain for a frozen pizza and pay more money. Thanks for a lovely relaxed lunch experience.

Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lime House also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Lime House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing