We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value last minute deal with great service”
Review of Hotel du Vin York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel du Vin York
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We got a last minute deal here on a Friday evening (booked on the evening we arrived) - £10 for the room if you spend £75 on food and beverages in the bistro.

Kelly the receptionist was friendly and welcoming from the minute we called to book. When we arrived she remembered my earlier conversation with her and made us feel very welcome. She gave us a short tour showing us around the hotel then showed us to the annex where our room was. Some reviewers have said they were disappointed to be in another building but it is really a tiny distance away from the main building so I can't understand this complaint. The ground floor reception is not as nice as sone in the Hotel du Vin chain (Bristol for example) but the welcome from staff made up for it.

We were taken up to our room (Concha y Toro room, first floor of annex building). It was on the small side compared with other standard rooms in the Malmaison / Hdv chain with dual aspect windows and beautiful dark green heavy curtains. Very quickly we realised that although the room had been cleaned, there were a few packets of halfeaten food and half drunk bottles of water which had been left by previous guests and not picked up by the cleaner. Whilst this was a minor mistake we decided after sone discussion to complain about it and Kelly immediately apologised and came up to move us to a different room. There were no quibbles at all about moving us.

We were moved into the Veuve Clicquot suite - which was a significant upgrade which we were not expecting and turned our stay from an enjoyable night away to a sublime experience which we will save up to repeat! The room was absolutely stunning, with exposed metal beams, huge wooden sleigh bed, sumptuous carpets, large living room area with comfortable sofa, large wardrobes,docking station with surround speakers, aircon, two flay screen tvs, large range of magazines, separate toilet room....and last but not least, the bathroom, which was just gorgeous. Open plan area including huge freestanding rolltop bath, and massive double walkin shower with two monsoon showers and lovely black mosaic tiles. There were also double sinks with a large selection of full size toiletries including shampoo and conditioner which you were encouraged to take away.

The minibar was impressively stocked but we didn't use it. Very helpful to have fridge space to use.

We could have enjoyed the room all evening but went down to the bistro for our dinner and almost rushed back up to enjoy our suite. We had a great evening and at the price we paid it was exceptional value. We would definitely consider returning at full price after some saving up and for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheffbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,348 - 1,354 of 1,537 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2011

This hotel is different than others because you feel a very nice atmosphere in the entrance of the bar and restaurant. Rooms are very confortable with all i needed . Unfortunately did not have dinner here because already had reservation in another one,but it ssemed to me very nice take some wine at the bar and then have the meal inside the restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALEXRASSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

This is the third and by far the best York hotel I have stayed in. Dinner and breakfast was great to and the service was both friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ProfessorRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Lovely hotel, smashing room and wonderful breakfast - would definitely go again.

Oh and i loved the bottle of milk in the minibar (for the tea and coffee) rather than horrible UHT. Its the little details that matter!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikil_Plum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Where do I start. The hotel rooms were great fresh bright and clean the meals were some of the best I have eaten anywhere, the staff were very polite and was willing to spend time chatting to you. The only down side was that a lot of shops were closed due to the Easter B/H I would not hestitate in going back.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1965Elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Great location, usual well speced, comfortable rooms and public spaces. On this occasion (19/4) breakfast misfired; Nobody in charge, buffet slow to be replenished, my coffee forgotten and my neighbour at the next table left after waiting 20 mins for his cooked breakfast. A one off or a reason to skip the breakfast next time?

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feldyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Gorgeous hotel, superb service and the nicest smoking shelter you'll ever see! I wish we'd eaten in the restaurant, it looked lovely, the bar has loads of different areas to sit in, plenty of parking, which is a bonus in York. Nice to have proper size toiletries instead of fiddly little bottles, and the shower was great.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjmunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,439 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin York

Address: 89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £91 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin York 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin & Bistro York is located in the tranquil area known as The Mount, close to the city's historic centre. This beautiful hotel in York city centre is housed within a Grade II-listed building that dates back to the early 19th century. Formerly a private home and an orphanage, the hotel houses 44 stylish bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and private dining rooms, along with a terrace, courtyard and inner forum for alfresco dining. York is a historic and beautiful city, believed to date back from Roman times. York is the county town of Yorkshire, perfect for a cultural getaway or a romantic weekend break that will inspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel du Vin York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing