We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just about perfect !!”
Review of Hotel du Vin York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin York
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Paddock Wood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just about perfect !!”
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Lovely hotel. Well equipped and very comfortable rooms. Bar cosy with an excellant choice of wine, beer and spirts. All the staff very friendly and helpful. We were worried about car parking space but there was no problem at all. Well will be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sid12_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    798
    450
    140
    54
    18
See reviews for
133
939
18
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Stayed for 1 night, amazing hospitality, lovely room and first class service. Nothing was too much trouble. Craig from the bar was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Du Vin & Bistro for two nights and boy what an amazing hotel on every level; the customer service, the place itself, the bistro, the sommeliers, simply everything. We decided we should live there! Now back to the real world...the room was lovely, each room has a name of its own and ours was 'Pol Roger'. It was the perfect size with a lush bed, very nice decor, tastefully decorated bathroom and to top things off, your own balcony area. Whilst it was a bit nippy, we took advantage of this.

It was my boyfriend's birthday and they made every inch of the occasion a special one. A full English breakfast was served to us in our room and a surprise glass of bubbles each. What a nice touch! Come night time, we had reservations at the Bistro, again to be greeted by a free glass of bubbles. The meal itself was beautiful, top notch beef cooked to perfection. The hotel even greeted my request for them to bake a cupcake style birthday cake for my boy with open arms...you certainly don't get that in every hotel! And boy was it tasty. The lady sommelier was fantastic, very friendly and knowledgeable which resulted in our sampling many fine wines.

All in all, we were Hotel Du Vin first-timers and will definitely be working our way around the country to root out the best one!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmm_cheesecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night for our first night of our honeymoon. It was brilliant, we stayed in the Tattinger room which was very large, had a massive bed, a huge bathroom with two sinks, roll top bath and a shower that could fit a football team in! The room was clean and very private. Our welcome was very good and all the staff were very friendly! Our breakfast was also good and i was suffering from a cold/cough at the time and they brought out some honey lemon tea without me asking. We will definately be going back!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Butler8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdowne, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

From the moment we arrived, until we left, we were made to feel as though we were the most important guest that had ever arrived on the doorstep of the Hotel du Vin in York! The restaurant experience was wonderful as well, starting with a drink in the bar and a visit from the sommelier to help us with our wine selection over dinner. As pretentious as that sounds....it was down to earth and surprisingly informative. This young man knew not only his wine, but his audience! The staff at the front desk were personable, knowledgeable and very friendly. The room was clean and had everything we could possibly want. The perfect place to stay in York! (and the liver at dinner was cooked to perfection!) Walking distance to the train station and the old city too!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We got a last minute deal here on a Friday evening (booked on the evening we arrived) - £10 for the room if you spend £75 on food and beverages in the bistro.

Kelly the receptionist was friendly and welcoming from the minute we called to book. When we arrived she remembered my earlier conversation with her and made us feel very welcome. She gave us a short tour showing us around the hotel then showed us to the annex where our room was. Some reviewers have said they were disappointed to be in another building but it is really a tiny distance away from the main building so I can't understand this complaint. The ground floor reception is not as nice as sone in the Hotel du Vin chain (Bristol for example) but the welcome from staff made up for it.

We were taken up to our room (Concha y Toro room, first floor of annex building). It was on the small side compared with other standard rooms in the Malmaison / Hdv chain with dual aspect windows and beautiful dark green heavy curtains. Very quickly we realised that although the room had been cleaned, there were a few packets of halfeaten food and half drunk bottles of water which had been left by previous guests and not picked up by the cleaner. Whilst this was a minor mistake we decided after sone discussion to complain about it and Kelly immediately apologised and came up to move us to a different room. There were no quibbles at all about moving us.

We were moved into the Veuve Clicquot suite - which was a significant upgrade which we were not expecting and turned our stay from an enjoyable night away to a sublime experience which we will save up to repeat! The room was absolutely stunning, with exposed metal beams, huge wooden sleigh bed, sumptuous carpets, large living room area with comfortable sofa, large wardrobes,docking station with surround speakers, aircon, two flay screen tvs, large range of magazines, separate toilet room....and last but not least, the bathroom, which was just gorgeous. Open plan area including huge freestanding rolltop bath, and massive double walkin shower with two monsoon showers and lovely black mosaic tiles. There were also double sinks with a large selection of full size toiletries including shampoo and conditioner which you were encouraged to take away.

The minibar was impressively stocked but we didn't use it. Very helpful to have fridge space to use.

We could have enjoyed the room all evening but went down to the bistro for our dinner and almost rushed back up to enjoy our suite. We had a great evening and at the price we paid it was exceptional value. We would definitely consider returning at full price after some saving up and for a special occasion.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheffbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goiania, GO
Level Contributor
112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

This hotel is different than others because you feel a very nice atmosphere in the entrance of the bar and restaurant. Rooms are very confortable with all i needed . Unfortunately did not have dinner here because already had reservation in another one,but it ssemed to me very nice take some wine at the bar and then have the meal inside the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALEXRASSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
1.6 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin York

Property: Hotel du Vin York
Address: 89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin York 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin & Bistro York is located in the tranquil area known as The Mount, close to the city's historic centre. This beautiful hotel in York city centre is housed within a Grade II-listed building that dates back to the early 19th century. Formerly a private home and an orphanage, the hotel houses 44 stylish bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and private dining rooms, along with a terrace, courtyard and inner forum for alfresco dining. York is a historic and beautiful city, believed to date back from Roman times. York is the county town of Yorkshire, perfect for a cultural getaway or a romantic weekend break that will inspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Vin York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing