We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”
Review of Hotel du Vin York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin York
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Our plan was a relaxing weekend break in York. The location was perfect - a 10 min walk from the station and 15 mins into the city centre. Our room was on the ground floor facing the road but we heard no noise and thick curtains kept any car lights out. The room wasn't huge but adequate for our needs. The bathroom was clean and bright and the bed sooo comfortable! I would agree with other reviewer who have suggested the lighting in the rooms could be improved, especially for those long dark winters.

As always it's the small touches that you remember - nespresso machine, complementary newspaper, decent towels and bathrobes, quality toiletries...

We ate at the hotel on our first night. There wasn't a massive choice on the menu unless you are in the mood for meat but I really enjoyed the beetroot risotto. The service was attentive and the restaurant cosy. The wine list was verging on the pretentious but if you're a wine anorak then you will love it.

Breakfast was great - a selection of toast and cereals with a menu of hot dishes prepared individually, so much better than the traditional large scale greasy overcooked buffet.

Top tip- try the Italian restaurant across the road. We were exhausted and didn't have the energy to try the city centre on a Saturday night. It was lovely, delicious food, fun and friendly family atmosphere and very welcoming.

Room Tip: If you prefer/need a more spacious room I would call ahead and ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,248 - 1,254 of 1,523 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

This lovely hotel is located about a 10 minutes walk from the city centre. The rooms are very modern and the bathrooms are amazing. The service was very good and the room with supplied with a nice selection of tea and nespresso. The bar is beautiful and the restaurant is divine! The food was absolutely stunning for dinner and breakfast. Really nice stay. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eeprichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Conveniently close to the Minster, where we saw a concert, as well as close to other central venues. Quite polite service - perhaps a tad over-familiar and chatty; which is fine except that if one is tired and longing to sit down, it is tiresome to have to smile at perfectly sweet but temporarily annoying staff! The room was clean and smart but a bit unmarried urban exec in taste - perfectly okay. The back is too dedicated to cars and needs more quiet garden space and a sheltered area for just sitting. In fact a screen between sitter and car and utility area I would say was an imperative. Last serious con - light pkease for make up and contact lens and other bathroom operations. The bachelor designer boys really have to acknowledge that women may actually need to use thier rooms and need more wattage.

Room Tip: main house is probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoonMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I love hotel du vin, really reliable hotels around the UK. This one has a nice cigar courtyard out the back - such a classy place it's ideal for couples etc. The beds are uber-comfortable as well.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesAdamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Du Vin as a treat for my birthday. We arrived at York train station on a snowy saturday evening with the plan of getting a taxi but was so snowy that no taxis were available so walked the short distance (10 mins) to the hotel. When we got to the hotel we was offerd help with our bags and coats. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay.
The room we booked was a standard room but big enough and warm and cosy for our needs.
We'd booked a table in the Bistro for 8.45 on the thought that we'd go in to York for a few drinks first, but because the weather was so bad we decided to stay in the hotel and eat earlier, which wasn't a problem to bring our booked table to an earlier time!
The service in the restaurant was excellent and the sommelier was pleasant and knew her job and chose us a lovely wine to go with our excellent fillet steak.
Full english breakfast the next morning was very good.
Check out was easy and they kept our luggage for the day so we could explore York for the day
Can't wait for another special occasion so we can go back to this lovely hotel!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimleeds_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently and upgraded our room to a superior. What a pleasure. The staff were fantastically helpful, one lady even offered to walk our dog whilst we dines in the indian across the road one night.
It is a 10 min walk into York which is no problem, you also pass by one of the most tasty fish and chip shops we have ever come across (cant remember the name but it has a little wooden bench at the front window).
The hotel retaurant was also very nice with a carpark and garden orchard at the back. we had an offer of 2 night b&b with one night evening meal.

The room was HUGE with a roll top bath in the room itself, the bathroom was very modern with a rain shower.

The only downside was there was no pool, but you can overcome that with the other qualities of this charming hotel.

All said and done we will be returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: upgrades are definatly worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The hotel is beautiful. All those boutique touches really made us feel spoiled. I got balloons and chocolate-dipped strawberries on arrival on request (it was my husbands birthday) and the room was really something special. Very big bath mezzanine level, room for both of us tall
people. Powerful and spacious monsoon walk in shower. The bar and bistro are both lovely with warm, beautiful decor. All this for a VERY reasonable price with the secret sunday deal. HdV gets it spot on.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJLovedUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,384 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,380 reviews
1.6 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin York

Address: 89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £92 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin York 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin & Bistro York is located in the tranquil area known as The Mount, close to the city's historic centre. This beautiful hotel in York city centre is housed within a Grade II-listed building that dates back to the early 19th century. Formerly a private home and an orphanage, the hotel houses 44 stylish bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and private dining rooms, along with a terrace, courtyard and inner forum for alfresco dining. York is a historic and beautiful city, believed to date back from Roman times. York is the county town of Yorkshire, perfect for a cultural getaway or a romantic weekend break that will inspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel du Vin York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing