We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING”
Review of Hotel du Vin York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin York
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We have just returned after a wonderful relaxing stay in York. All of the staff OUTSTANDING, from the moment we arrived they couldn't have been more attentive. When we first arrived, Laura the manager at reception looked after us until the moment we left, bending over backwards to make sure we enjoyed ourselves. We originally booked for two nights which turned into six; we just didn’t want to leave. York is such a wonderful city. We left planning a return visit as we hadn't managed to fit everything in which we wanted to see and do. The hotel it's self is only a couple of minutes walk to the city centre; it couldn't have been placed in a better position to see all York has to offer. The bedrooms were to die for, with the most impressive bathrooms and facilities. We even had the pleasure of meeting David the General Manager who was wonderful, all his focus was on making our stay faultless. Thanks David you run an incredibly tight ship.

If you are wanting to stay in and around York for any occasion, don't book anywhere else Hotel Du Vin York is 'Faultless'.

Once again, thank you all. We will be back as soon as we get a chance.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic,however our favourites are La Grande Dame and Moet Vintage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    798
    449
    140
    54
    18
See reviews for
133
938
18
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Found this hotel by doing a random search. Rang them and got a good Sunday night offer. Hotel easy enough to find in York centre - plenty of parking - £10 per day. This used to be an orphanage and is truly lovely inside. Lots of little nooks and crannies (we never went to reception the same way twice!!). Our room was simply quite beautiful - it overlooked the back of the building. Two big windows with both drapes and blinds. Huge Kingsize bed with good quality linen (John Lewis I believe). Massive bathroom with overhead power shower (not good if you dont want to get your hair wet though! The best bit was the bath actually in our room. This was on a boarded area and lifted by railway sleepers - amazing. Food was really good, particularly the breakfast with some of the best choices I have seen (proper honeycomb too). Wine a tad on the expensive side but to be expected. The whole place had a serenity about it. Staff very helpful and friendly. A few minutes walk from the hotel gets you to Micklegate where you can climb on to the walls. There are a few restaurants and pubs in this area too. We ate once in the hotel and once within a few mins walk (see my review on Brigantes Bistro and bar).
Had a great break in great surroundings. I would have given this a 5 star but for the fact that the pipes were very noisy when a nearby room filled their bath up!
There are quite a few of these hotels in this chain so we will be trying others :)

Room Tip: well worth the little extra to upgrade to a superior room, you will not be disappointed. Ask for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PortiaLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I booked this hotel as a birthday surprise for my partner. We stayed for two nights in February and we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were given a warm welcome at reception and were shown to our room. The bedroom was lovely, spacious and clean and as requested we had chocolate coated strawberries awaiting us in the room. They were amazing! The room had all mod cons and the bathroom had a brilliant power shower and it was lovely to have underfloor heating! Breakfast was of a very good standard and although we didn't have the opportunity to eat in the restaurant on this occasion there was a good choice of menu and a nice bar area. The hotel is very well located and only a short walk from the train station, the shops in the city centre and the tourist attractions. We had a most enjoyable stay and would definitely visit again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galesa7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

My partner booked this hotel as a surprise for my 30th birthday. Checked into the hotel, into amazing room, the "Balfour" suite. WOW!!! I am in he travel industry and I can honestly say that this is the best room/hotel I have stayed in the UK. Roll top bath in the main room, his and her sinks and an enormous shower!!! Little touches such as fresh milk and a Nespresso machine really ensure that this hotel goes the extra mile. We found this throughout the duration of the stay, everything is top quality, from the products in the bathroom to the fresh squeezed OJ at breakfast.
The cherry on the cake however is the hotel staff, who are a credit to the hotel. Whoever owns the hotel should be very proud, as a young team run the place better than any hotel I have been in. Particularly Daniel the young sommelier- his knowledge of the wines and beers are fantastic, and his enthusiasm and manner is wonderful!! Also worth a mention is the receptionist Leanne. She also was outstanding, she met us coming down the stairs and offered to show us round-this is the reason we prefer to stay in smaller hotels, her friendliness and efficiency made us feel special and made my birthday stay a very special one. We have just mentioned a few but all staff were a credit to the hotel. The grounds were immaculate, and the staff are a hive of activity inside and out.
Already recommended to my mum and dad who are going to book a visit for next month.
FABULOUS!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012 via mobile

I stayed for two nights in February in a standard room, and really enjoyed the room. I love the way all rooms are stocked to the same high standard, with decent toiletries, fresh milk, excellent coffee and really comfortable beds. This was my first visit to the York branch, and unlikely to be my last. The staff are helpful and friendly, and standards are high across the board. The only disappointments were not been able to sit in the atrium area as it was too cold to spend any time there (although I imagine it is fabulous in warmer weather), and not being able to have a full lunch on the Monday - sandwiches and soup only as some of the equipment in the kitchen wasn't working and was being fixed, which happens. I wish I could have tried the slow cooked belly pork though!

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
Thank lillibetm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Our first stay in a Hotel du Vin, this hotel provided a wonderful home for two days on a recent visit to the city of York. Very close to Micklegate and a short walk to the station it is well postioned for exploring York. Although it is situated on one of the main roads into York, our room and the hotel generally was very quiet. Our room was very well appointed, comfortable and very spacious. Excellent storage for clothes often forgotten by designers in many hotels. Coffee and tea maker, fresh milk in the fridge was a nice touch. Iron and ironing board, safe, hair drier, bathrobes, good selection of magazines. The bathroom had his and her sinks, a beautiful free standing bath and a very large walk in shower. Breakfast was good. The staff were very helpful and service very good. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atravellingcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Back for 3rd visit and can't wait til 4th!! Wonderful service, reception staff were, as usual, extremely friendly and helpful. Restaurant food excellent and very attentive waiting staff. Still love our trips to York and Hotel du Vin 'I'll be back!!'

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandyd007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
1.6 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin York

Property: Hotel du Vin York
Address: 89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin York 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin & Bistro York is located in the tranquil area known as The Mount, close to the city's historic centre. This beautiful hotel in York city centre is housed within a Grade II-listed building that dates back to the early 19th century. Formerly a private home and an orphanage, the hotel houses 44 stylish bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and private dining rooms, along with a terrace, courtyard and inner forum for alfresco dining. York is a historic and beautiful city, believed to date back from Roman times. York is the county town of Yorkshire, perfect for a cultural getaway or a romantic weekend break that will inspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Vin York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing