We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reputation redeemed”
Review of Hotel du Vin York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin York
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Reputation redeemed”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Went to the Hotel bistro restaurant for our anniversary. The service was unbelievably poor, with the staff seeming to be in a state of disorganisation and chaos. As a result I asked for the service charge to be removed, (which was agreed to). The restaurant manager was sympathetic to our critical comments and asked for my mobile number. The next day she phoned me and invited us back as the hotels's guest for another meal that night. We somewhat reluctantly agreed, but were delighted by the end of the evening having had a first rate meal with excellent service.Our opinion was futher enhanced, when after having left the restaurant and having walked several hundred yards down the road, there was the restaurant manager chasing me with a bag that I had left behind. So having sworn that we would never go back to a Hotel du Vin, we would definately consider returning to a hotel that not only admits its mistakes but takesthe right action in remedying a bad situation.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cliveh989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    458
    144
    55
    19
See reviews for
141
965
18
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

One of the much admired chain this branch is difficult to fault really, Good location slightly outside the city walls, helpful friendly staff and an excellent Saturday night meal. A very relaxing and enjoyable stay. Not cheap but very good value all things considered.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not fronting the road. As always in a hotel the rooms are very warm and when you open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hungrynthirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed in York for a few nights but decided to stop one more night and splurge on a luxury one night at the Hotel Du Vin... and we were really pleased we did!

This is definitely one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at.

The welcome was warm and friendly. The rooms do not have numbers, but names of people. In our room we found high quality furnishings, heavy thick curtains and even a folder containing details of where the furniture and dressings could be bought from. The rooms are very special and of course they come at a price, but for an occasion I would definitely recommend them.

A coffee in the room can be made with the supplied instant coffee, or with ground coffee provided. Fresh milk was in the small refirdgerator.

The bathroom had wonderful soaps and gels etc. With a handwritten card inviting guests to take them home (the containers were large, with much more than could be used in a day). The heated tile floor in the bathroom was nice for the feet and the deep carpet in the room so comfortable! Although it is on a busy road, noise is not a problem, even though our room had several windows in it.

Breakfast was pretty special too, and the bar area is a pleasant place to sit and relax, though like the hotel accommodations it is not "cheap".

Room Tip: I cannot imagine that any of the rooms are less well presented. To choose a good room I would just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hancouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed here as a treat for two nights a bit of time away from the kids and work. This hotel is lovely the staff are friendly and happy to help. We had a free upgrade when we checked in and our room was amazing was huge and such a nice treat. This will be the only hotel that we will stay in when next visiting York.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 79baf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed at the hotel du vin on one of their Bistro, Bed and Breakfast packages which offers excellent value. As regular travellers with both business and leisure this was one of the best hotels we have stopped at for the overall service. The significant points for us were :- All the staff from those on reception through to the bar and restaurant were attentive, friendly and helpful, the food for both dinner and breakfast in the restaurant was of excellent quality and the hotel rooms of a very high standard.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevemNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

Whilst working away, I always like to try and find a hotel in which i am comfortable with as I stay there a few times in one week, so its always a pleasure to be somewhere nice. BUT...This hotel is way more than I expected! The quaint however upmarket feel you get as you enter doesn't even prepare you for the quality of what's to come. It has a modern but rustic feel, with a traditional twist making it ideal being in such a historic but busy city of York. The rooms are modern and the bathrooms are outstanding and the luxury feel you get is such a treat. The staff are friendly, more than polite and well spoken, engaging in light conversation with you to make you feel so welcome and relaxed! The restaurant is a complete delight! The food is exceptional and i was very very impressed with the young man who educated me on wine suggestions, he even remembered what I drank, wrote them down if I wanted to enjoy them in the future. Outstanding. Theres many, many things I could say in this review but in these circumstances I urge you to trust this and try for yourself. I have stayed in many upmarket hotels but this has to be one of the best stays I have ever had. You will have to experience it just to know the feeling it gives you........I hope, if you are a lover of the finer things in life, for your sake, you do.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank samuel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham uk
Level 6 Contributor
549 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This is an almost faultless hotel,with exceptional service,rooms,food,and location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunlunlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,304 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,264 reviews
1.6 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin York

Property: Hotel du Vin York
Address: 89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin York 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin & Bistro York is located in the tranquil area known as The Mount, close to the city's historic centre. This beautiful hotel in York city centre is housed within a Grade II-listed building that dates back to the early 19th century. Formerly a private home and an orphanage, the hotel houses 44 stylish bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and private dining rooms, along with a terrace, courtyard and inner forum for alfresco dining. York is a historic and beautiful city, believed to date back from Roman times. York is the county town of Yorkshire, perfect for a cultural getaway or a romantic weekend break that will inspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Vin York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing