We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel And Excellent Staff”
Review of Hotel du Vin York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin York
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Edwinstowe, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Hotel And Excellent Staff”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed here for our engagment night! it was truely a fantastic night.
The staff were so nice and thoughtful, giving us a complementry bottle of proscceo and also a glass of champagne with our meal in the bistro.
The room was faultless and the hotel's atmosphere was very warm and welcoming.
The Hotel and Bistro are both truely worth their money and we would recommend it for all occasions, especially the special ones.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    458
    144
    55
    19
See reviews for
141
965
18
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mytholmroyd, Hebden Bridge
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Stayed for a one night mid week break offer for £169.00. Had a luxurious mid range room with upstairs mezzanine, free standing bath etc. A definate worthwile upgrade for £10. The room was great and had the wow factor but was in the need for a real good spring clean, minor I know but these rooms are very expensive at the full price.

Bar prices are on the high but the food was stunning and service fantastic, Yes the drink and parking tots the bill upwards a bit still a great experience / treat for under £200, will return again.

Room Tip: If you are booking on a mid week deal, room upgrades for a small additional charge are worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHeatons02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Fantastic room in a lovely hotel............breakfast is really good too with plenty of choice. Staff were very pleasant and helpful!
Gripe.......£10.00 a day charge for car parking ???? We were unaware of this until checkout although we were informed then that an email had been sent to advise us of this.....
Half a guiness and a 25ml serving of Baileys = £8.00 !.....................hardly a nightcap!

Room Tip: Hartenburg room has a lovely big bath in the actual room..............the Monsoon shower was to die...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomLou_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Dun Vin for one night as a surprise Anniversary treat in August. There were some really good packages on offer so we decided to upgrade and stayed in the Verve Clique Suite.
The hotel was really easy to get to and leave without having to enter the town centre, ring roads etc and had a large car park (even though this was charged at £10 per night which I thought was excessive considering the amount we had paid for our stay!)
The main hotel, reception, bat etc was in the old building but our room was in a small new block next door. The room was huge, mainly open plan with a huge comfortable bed, 'sitting room' area, two tv's, huge double shower and an 'open plan' bathroom with double sinks and old style bath (the toilet however did have its own room!) Loads of lovely hotel du vin toiletries, but the most impressive thing (according to my husband) was having a nespresso coffee maker in the room!
As part of the package we had a 3 course evening meal in the brasserie which was really good, and the breakfast the next morning was delicious (I had the home made waffles with smoked bacon and maple syrup!)
The hotel was about a 10 minute walk straight into town which was nice (especially after the huge breakfast we both ate)
All in all a great stay, lovely hotel, great staff, would definately return.

Room Tip: If you can, push the boat out and get a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilso40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed here for a one night city break in York and wished we had booked longer now! As soon as you pull up to the hotel you can tell it looks very stylish and a little bit special. They warn you that there is only limited parking but we didn't have a problem and the car park seemed more than big enough, secure at the back of the hotel too.

As soon as we checked in we found the receptionist very friendly and helpful, she checked us in quickly and took us up to our room and showed us around. The room itself was fantastic, super kingsize bed, well stocked mini bar, flat screen TV and a bathroom bigger than our bedroom at home! Twin his and hers basins, roll top bath and large walk in shower.

It was only a 10 minute walk into the centre of York, we actually came back earlier so we could enjoy the room.

Room Tip: We picked a superior room and found it excellent value for money. It was on the front of the hotel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hartlepool_Hanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We treated ourselves to a night here for our wedding anniversary on the dinner bed & breakfast deal. We were a bit worried about spending almost £200 on 1 night away but when we pulled in to the car park straight away we knew we had made the right decision. The hotel itself is beautiful, with little nooks & cute little rooms to sit & enjoy some peace & a glass of wine or two, even a little wooden cigar shack outside which was lovely to sit in & enjoy a glass of wine whilst it rained. The staff could not be more helpful, from the receptionist who checked us in, escorted us to our room & made us feel so welcome, to Daniel the semelier who talked animatedly with my husband about different wines, different areas they had visited & who recommended a hell of a bottle of wine to us!! The food was beyond amazing! Being on dinner bed & breakfast I was thinking that our meals would be from a seperate, cheaper less exciting manu than the one everyone else was looking at but I couldnt be more wrong. The menu was extensive, elegant & luxurious & the specials available were fantastic. Breakfast was again wonderful, such choice & again beautiful!! But the best part of our stay without a doubt was the room. It was pure luxury!! We had booked the mezanine room which was amazing, claw fot tub & monsoon shower on a balcony over looking the room, so luxurious & romantic!! We had such a wonderful night, so romantic, I just wish I had known about this hotel before I got married because I think this would have been our wedding night stay over!!

Room Tip: The standard rooms are lovely & very modern & spacious but for a touch of luxury the mezanin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chickyboo083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

I booked this for my wife and I for our third wedding anniversary, following a recommendation from a friend. We were not disappointed. On arrival it's clear by the attention to detail in the public areas with fixtures and fittings that this is a hotel with class. The staff are super helpful of the like you don't normally get this side of the Atlantic. When the door to the room opened both of our jaws were on the floor. It was quite simply the best room I've stayed in the uk. Luxurious decadent and sumptuous. We had a roll top bath mounted on wood next to the bed, double sash windows overlooked the rear. The bath room was amazing. The bed was enormous, again very American and very comfortable. However having said all this about the room it's the finishing details that stand this hotel out as one of the very best. Fresh milk for the tea and coffee, nespresso machine, high end toiletries. The next time I go back to York I wouldnt even consider staying anywhere else. Worth every penny and more. The only problem is we have now been spoil by this magnificent property.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Superted1396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,304 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,263 reviews
1.6 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin York

Property: Hotel du Vin York
Address: 89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin York 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin & Bistro York is located in the tranquil area known as The Mount, close to the city's historic centre. This beautiful hotel in York city centre is housed within a Grade II-listed building that dates back to the early 19th century. Formerly a private home and an orphanage, the hotel houses 44 stylish bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and private dining rooms, along with a terrace, courtyard and inner forum for alfresco dining. York is a historic and beautiful city, believed to date back from Roman times. York is the county town of Yorkshire, perfect for a cultural getaway or a romantic weekend break that will inspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Lastminute so you can book your Hotel du Vin York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing