We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel, central location”
Review of Hotel du Vin York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel du Vin York
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Our third visit to this hotel and we are never disappointed! If you want to stay in a fabulous hotel and be made to feel very welcome, this is the hotel for you. The rooms are amazing and very well appointed - the bottle of milk in the fridge is a nice touch for proper morning tea!
York city centre is a 15 minute walk away and we would recommend The Old Siam for incredible Thai cuisine.
There are cheaper places to stay, but you definitely get value for money at the Hotel du Vin.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank codhead628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,164 - 1,170 of 1,527 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

Great hotel, very clean and very nice rooms. I just booked a basic room that was on offer for £99, I must the room was little small but for £99 i am not complaining.

Location good, about 10 mins walk to centre with plenty of bars and reaturants along the way.

What topped it off was seeing Jenifer Ellison from brookside in the car park, still looking nice although I did not say that to my wife. Ha!

We will defo be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barropn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We decided to treat ourselves to a couple of days and a night at York and stayed here. I thought that it was an exceptional hotel and reasonably priced. If you book online there are numerous offers to choose from. I was slightly annoyed about having to pay £10 to park but if I had realised (although reading on trip advisor they did, it does not get added until you check out, so I thought I got away with it) I would have gone to the hotel first thing instead on going into York first as it cost £13 for 5 hours so my advice leave your car at the hotel and walk into York and save money! Anyway I would stay here again and recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulib32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We booked a 2 night stay for our wedding anniversary on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal with a bottle of champagne thrown in. What a deal!!! The hotel itself is beautiful, with parking and only 10 minutes walk from the city centre. Our room was lovely with all the extras expected of a quality hotel.

The evening meal was excellent value being taken from the normal restaurant menu (not a table d'hote menu as we expected). All well cooked and service was very attentive and well informed, overall a lovely evening.

A wonderful hotel, we will return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vee1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed here for our engagment night! it was truely a fantastic night.
The staff were so nice and thoughtful, giving us a complementry bottle of proscceo and also a glass of champagne with our meal in the bistro.
The room was faultless and the hotel's atmosphere was very warm and welcoming.
The Hotel and Bistro are both truely worth their money and we would recommend it for all occasions, especially the special ones.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Stayed for a one night mid week break offer for £169.00. Had a luxurious mid range room with upstairs mezzanine, free standing bath etc. A definate worthwile upgrade for £10. The room was great and had the wow factor but was in the need for a real good spring clean, minor I know but these rooms are very expensive at the full price.

Bar prices are on the high but the food was stunning and service fantastic, Yes the drink and parking tots the bill upwards a bit still a great experience / treat for under £200, will return again.

Room Tip: If you are booking on a mid week deal, room upgrades for a small additional charge are worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHeatons02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Fantastic room in a lovely hotel............breakfast is really good too with plenty of choice. Staff were very pleasant and helpful!
Gripe.......£10.00 a day charge for car parking ???? We were unaware of this until checkout although we were informed then that an email had been sent to advise us of this.....
Half a guiness and a 25ml serving of Baileys = £8.00 !.....................hardly a nightcap!

Room Tip: Hartenburg room has a lovely big bath in the actual room..............the Monsoon shower was to die...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomLou_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,393 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin York

Address: 89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £93 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin York 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin & Bistro York is located in the tranquil area known as The Mount, close to the city's historic centre. This beautiful hotel in York city centre is housed within a Grade II-listed building that dates back to the early 19th century. Formerly a private home and an orphanage, the hotel houses 44 stylish bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and private dining rooms, along with a terrace, courtyard and inner forum for alfresco dining. York is a historic and beautiful city, believed to date back from Roman times. York is the county town of Yorkshire, perfect for a cultural getaway or a romantic weekend break that will inspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Lastminute, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel du Vin York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing