We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel du Vin York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Vin York
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights in a superior room which was spacious and well furnished with a great comfy king size bed,it had a lovely roll top free standing bath and a huge walk in shower.While the room was great the location and view from the room weren't as good,it was above the kitchen area and was a bit noisey at night.Breakfast was very good with a decent choice and was served quickly. The hotel is well situated and just ten minutes walk from the centre of York,we would return but would want a room in a different part of the hotel.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank foppsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    453
    140
    54
    18
See reviews for
134
945
18
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

A lovely experience stayed in the best suite compliments of our Son - thank you! Cannot fault the hotel, room was large with every gadget you could wish for including 2 flat screen tv's - His and Her showers etc. Evening meal was superb and the wine list very impressive if a little expensive. Breakfast did not disappoint. Quite well situated for York Centre only 10 minutes walk down Micklegate and over the bridge. Car Park was £10 which is worth it for the security. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
137 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

We have stayed several times at this HduV, and once again we had a wonderful stay. Very comfortable room, and although we only booked a standard room on this occasion, it was of a good size and had everything we needed ( including aircon).
Very friendly and efficient service, both at check in, and in the Bistro. Very good food, and on our Sunday night special deal, very good value indeed. We hope to return soon!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Minnou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

My friends and I were celebrating my 40th in York and they booked the restuarant at this hotel as it seemed up market and we fancied getting dressed up and celebrating in style. Whilst the decor was modern and lovely, its a shame we couldn't say the same for what we were there for.
Initially, the wine was corked, for which 3 of us agreed. However, we had to show our knowledge of the wine before the bar staff would give in and replace the bottle free of charge. We were seatted late (and was already a late sitting). The restuarant was busy, not intimate, food was average with sevice being slow and not a smile to be seen. In fact, we decided not to continue the evening here with more drinks and coffee but head back to our cosy, good service, friendly hotel - Elmbank hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoodyEssex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

An overnight stay at the Hotel du Vin, York, booked at 24 hours notice after a week in the N Yorks Moors, provided some much needed luxury and comfort. We had La Grande Dame - a suite room in the attic. Quiet, everything you could need, 8' bed, twin rain showers + a roll top bath - but NO plug near the mirror to use the hairdyer. The design of the room - colour scheme, decor, furnishings - was excellent and a great choice.
Dinner in the Bistro was very good. Plenty of choice, sensible sized portions and first class, friendly service.
The only niggle was the £10 car parking charge, which was swiftly taken off when I pointed to the price of the suite, and said I did not think at the rack rate it was appropriate to charge for parking.
All in all, would go back there at any time to Hotel du Vin. York is a beautiful city and it was a pleasure to re-discover it after many years.

Room Tip: For that special visit La Grande Dame is worth considering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontysMum72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed two nights mid-week on a special B&B rate booked online. Room was stylish with very comfortable bed and good room facilities and excellent bathroom with monsoon shower.Breakfast was excellent with good cooked selection to order. We ate dinner one night which was not inexpemsive but well cooked, plentiful and well served, there is a "house bisrto menu " used throughout Hotel du Vin hotels which is in our experience consistent and well planned. The concentration on friendly efficient service is a hallmark of this chain. From our arrival,they sorted out potential parking problem and on leaving gave us a set of directions to our next port of call with an interesting detour on route, which we had casually mentioned the night before. It was in an envelope and handed to us on departure: very thoughtful! Hotel du Vin is becoming our favourite hotel chain in the U.K due to the all round excellence of the product.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawmanglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

Went to the Hotel Du Vin York for my wife's birthday , upgraded to a superior room with DBB rate. Room was amazing and loved the bath at the bottom of the bed. The evening meal at the hotel was lovely and staying on a Monday night made for the place being nice and quiet. The only issue was the service charge on the evening meal which was automatically added. It was a short walk into the centre of York and there was no issues for parking. Definitely worth considering if your visiting York and have a special occasion

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,202 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
610 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 46 in York
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin York

Property: Hotel du Vin York
Address: 89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin York 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin & Bistro York is located in the tranquil area known as The Mount, close to the city's historic centre. This beautiful hotel in York city centre is housed within a Grade II-listed building that dates back to the early 19th century. Formerly a private home and an orphanage, the hotel houses 44 stylish bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and private dining rooms, along with a terrace, courtyard and inner forum for alfresco dining. York is a historic and beautiful city, believed to date back from Roman times. York is the county town of Yorkshire, perfect for a cultural getaway or a romantic weekend break that will inspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Vin York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing