We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms!”
Review of Hotel du Vin York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin York
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely rooms!”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Beautiful rooms, great location and very friendly staff.
Only problem was we didn't enjoy the food in the restaurant on the first night - however we found a gorgeous restaurant not far away so all in all a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    457
    143
    55
    19
See reviews for
140
964
18
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel in a fabulous central position in the beautiful city!

Rooms are spotless and with a few extra comforts. The staff were friendly.

Highly recommend the room in the main building with the roll too bath at the end of the bed, think is was the penfold!

Worth paying extra for the breakfast.

We ate dinner here too... Wonderful food in sumptuous surroundings.
Top hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuppy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for my birthday and booked one of their best rooms at £185 b&b. When I booked I requested a quiet room. On my arrival I found that the room was over looking the busy main road at the front and that the hotel hadn't followed the request that was clearly stated on my confirmation. The hotel deputy manager did handle things very well and moved us to another room overlooking the rear garden where I wanted to be in the first place. They only had standard rooms left but they did offer compensation off the bill.

However there are two main issues with the hotel firstly that the hotel is a good 20 min walk from the centre of the city and secondly that the hotel is in a need of some serious decoration and a clean up as many of the public areas are very shabby and dirty.

I was expecting something special from a Hotel du Vin but in the end it was quite ordinary. There are probably better hotels to stay in when taking a city break in York especially for the price!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

The Hotel du Vin York is an attractive hotel in walking distance from the railway station and just outside the historic city wall on the old road to London and the South. It consists of a converted historic building with modern additions like a restaurant and a covered courtyard bar and a purpose-built building next door with more rooms. While the old building has lots of personality the new building is somewhat functional but the rooms have an attractive decor and all the features expected from a boutique hotel.
There is a good breakfast menu and buffet and dietary requirements (in our case gluten-free) were happily taken care of at breakfast. While the dining menu looks good the service on this occasion was not great with a couple of orders mixed up and a long wait. At least the management quickly decided to substract the items from the final bill and the food that was as ordered was actually good. Despite the reservations on some of the service still a good boutique hotel in this beautiful city.

Room Tip: The main building has more charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tillmann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Having never stayed at a du Vin hotel before I didn't know what to expect but I was more than impressed by the service my girlfriend and I received on our stay in York.
On our arrival we had a swift check in, followed by a recommendation on things to do/places to eat - and we were given a map of the area where the receptionist highlight some of the places on the map.
The room was spacious, the bed was big and comfortable and the bathroom was up to as high as standard as the rest of the interior of the hotel. Lots of wood and nice furnishings. The room felt comfortable and unique despite obviously being part of a chain hotel which was very welcoming.
The location of the hotel is perfect - it's about a 2 minute walk away from the City Walls and even then it's only a few more minutes until you're right by the Minster. Even though the hotel is close to a main road, you aren't kept up at night with the sound of cars or traffic, I couldn't remember hearing one at all.
The staff were very friendly and always went the extra mile whenever the could. When we checked out we still wanted to see the rest of the city however we had our luggage with us. The receptionist offered to keep our luggage (despite there being a function on later that afternoon meaning the hotel should have been 'closed') and let us come back for it once we'd finished our exploring.
We were very impressed with the decoration of the hotel, our room and the extremely helpful staff. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in York. We'll definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackCParr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Every time I come to York, I stay at the HdV, even though I am fervently collecting Hilton points and could stay there.

The hotel has that cosy feel, and you feel the rooms are all unique and not carbon-copy images of each other. The fact all the rooms have names rather than numbers is a nice touch.

Lots of wood in the rooms, tastefully furnished and gorgeous bathrooms. It's also very quiet and a good night's sleep is assured.

My only small gripe is that the internet is slow. Sadly, finding this more and more in hotels and I've given up trying to do anything more than VPN'ing into work for emails etc. Attempting to watch YouTube videos, for instance, would try the patience of angels...buffering buffering. And that's not even on HD setting. Yes it's free internet, but come on- sort this out, and it'd be 5 stars easily.

All in all, an excellent stay and decently priced.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BugPowderDust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The rooms are beautiful with generous proportions and enticing, large bathrooms. If the restaurant could lift its game it would be perfect. However there is a feeling of the hotel chain in the restaurant. The service seems driven by a manual so the greetings are robotic and formuliac. The food is okay but again seems driven by central planning with no great flair. Places like Pizza Express show that you can be a chain and still show interest in quality ingredients and a focus on great tastes. Lots of staff in the restaurant (including a sommelier) but that doesnt mean you get your plates cleared and offered coffee when you want it. The managers seemed more interested in laying tables for the breakfast service rather than keeping an eagle eye on whether the diners are looked after. As it was we gave up and just asked for the bill.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank HedgeArchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,299 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,253 reviews
1.6 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin York

Property: Hotel du Vin York
Address: 89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin York 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin & Bistro York is located in the tranquil area known as The Mount, close to the city's historic centre. This beautiful hotel in York city centre is housed within a Grade II-listed building that dates back to the early 19th century. Formerly a private home and an orphanage, the hotel houses 44 stylish bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and private dining rooms, along with a terrace, courtyard and inner forum for alfresco dining. York is a historic and beautiful city, believed to date back from Roman times. York is the county town of Yorkshire, perfect for a cultural getaway or a romantic weekend break that will inspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Vin York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing