We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel du Vin York
Nearby Hotels
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn York(York)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Park Inn by Radisson York(York)(Great Value!)
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton York(York)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Holiday Inn York City Centre(York)(Great Value!)
US$86
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,608)
Filter reviews
1,608 results
Traveller rating
882
489
157
58
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
882
489
157
58
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmonsoon showerroll top bathcigar shackmezzanine roomlovely hotelstandard roomnespresso machinefree standing bathmini barbooked a superior roomunderfloor heatingboutique hotelmain buildingcar parkwalk in showercity centreper night
Filter
Updating list...
1,128 - 1,133 of 1,608 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We're a young couple at 20 years of age and we stayed in the deluxe suite as a valentine's day treat, with full cooked breakfast. We paid £200 for one night which is a hell of a lot of money but after a lot of looking around it wasn't bad compared to other hotels in York.
We thought the room was gorgeous. It was absolutely huge, as was the bed - which was the comfiest bed I've ever slept in with the softest sheets! The view of the garden was lovely too. The bathroom was probably one of the best parts of the room with its deep free standing bath and monsoon shower. Had about 3 baths in 24 hours to make the most of it haha! The toiletries included smelled lovely and we liked the fluffy white towel dressing gowns. Breakfast was really high quality with a choice from a menu of hot breakfasts, plus access to the buffet of pastries, fruit, yoghurt, toast and freshly squeezed juice.
Only flaws would be the signal on the TV in the room, the light fittings had holes around them on the ceiling, and the price was quite a lot of just one night.
Saying that we'd really love to go back again we thought it was amazing, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and exploring York!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ukuleleee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We booked an inclusive package for bed, breakfast and dinner in the Veuve Clicquot Suite. The night before we arrived, we were informed via email that our suite was unavailable owing to issues with the air-conditioning. My responding email (to Victoria) was ignored.

The reception was a bit frosty but efficient enough. Our substitute suite: La Grand Dame, was situated in the loft-space - nobody had bothered to advise us that (unlike the suite we had booked), La Grand Dame involved climbing three flights of stairs. It was a hot day and the room was stifling hot owing to it being located in the loft space. The room was very nice, but there was a lack of wardrobe space, the enamel on the bath needed replacement and the whole place could do with a cosmetic refurbishment. We turned on the air conditioning - but with little effect. We opened the windows with little effect.

Clearly, the air-conditioning in the suite was totally overwhelmed and inadequate for the size of the room - the other suites had presumably been 'closed' for the same reason. They should have closed this suite as well and offered us a junior suite or something on a lower floor which would have been smaller and therefore cooler. We asked for a fan - and one was duly and quickly delivered. The manager offered us ' a little something' at dinner to compensate, but we'll never know what the little something was, as it never arrived.

Dinner was the high-spot; the muscles were plentiful but a little small and dry; my Wiener Schnitzel was excellent. The Crepe Suzette and the sorbet were both good. The service was excellent.

Breakfast in our room would have been more enjoyable if we had received what we ordered - no toast, no pastries, no fresh fruit ...

Check-out was friendlier than check-in, but we were overcharged for wine. The hotel is a good choice, but as others have stated, some of the staff need a kick up the you-know-what, whereas others are excellent.

Room Tip: Don't choose a suite if it is hot.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank CIARB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

A fantastic hotel, one of the best breaks I have had in England. The room was top notch with the bathroom on a separate mezzanine level. The restaurant served quality food and I could enjoy my cigar and whiskey in the outdoor cigar shack. Brilliant. Great location for exploring York which I think is one of the best cities in the country.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel several times now and I am never disappointed. The rooms are all lovely, standards and suites. Plenty of parking, and in a great location (about 8 minutes walk to the centre). The staff are all lovely and very knowledgable about the area and of course wine. Breakfast is fantastic and there is a huge selection, well worth the price! The decor throughout the hotel is classic and very homely. Dinner is great too and a good atmoasphere. I would definitely recommend staying here & I look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamesclarke2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

we stayed for the races recently so it was very busy
nice level of service from all the staff from reception to bar & restaurant
room was spacious, modern and clean & bed really good

the patio area was open and v nice in the sun

We ate there as well - food was good but not exceptional for the price. Steaks were nice quality but v small.

Room Tip: some rooms have split level with bathrooms on mezanine, look great
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertB721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews