We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”
Review of Hotel du Vin York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin York
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
darlington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The website doesn't do this place justice!!
We had a mezzanine room which had a roll top bath and monsoon shower, magic. Exceptionally clean throughout, massive tv, mini bar, huge bed this room ticked all boxes.
The hotel has a large car park at the rear even tho it's website doesn't say this, lots of quaint rooms, olde worde bar, terrace room is very nice.
Didn't eat here but the world smelt amazing. Lots of very helpful staff running around.
Can't complain about anything really, even the breakfast upgrade to full English only costs another £3 which is great value especially from a boutique hotel.
Yes the bar is pricey but no more than I would expect from a hotel of such quality.
It's around 10-15 mins walk to the centre but many good bars and restaurants on way.
Really want to come back soon!!

Room Tip: My room was umani
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p11nnx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacdonaldHDV, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear p11nnx

Thank you for a lovely review after your stay with us. Those Mezzanine rooms certainly seem popular. I am a personal fan of our showers, large plate head fitting, walking space and water pressure that feels like a massage.

If you really like the mezzanine feel you should check out our Newcastle du Vin who have several suites following this arrangement and no doubt will be running some amazing deals in the new year (we certainly will).
I hope you have a great time over the festive period.

Many Thanks

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    455
    142
    55
    19
See reviews for
139
957
18
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

A nice hotel, extremely friendly staff!
The rooms are excellent and very spacious. clean and very modern! Loved the 42" TV!

We were greeted at reception by a friendly receptionist and were able to check in. We were showed to our rooms and a guide of the room features.

Definitely a place to try if you are on a break in York!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigB650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacdonaldHDV, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Craig B

Thank you for your review after your stay. Those new TV's are pretty nice. Great digital quality and in the new year will be fully compatible with your IPAD, phone and other equipment via bluetooth and wi-fi.

Have a great festive period and we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at the Hotel du Vin in York for two nights in a Mezzanine Room. Everything you needed was provided: fridge, kettle, separate coffee machine, hairdryer, ironing board, bath robes, towels, shower and bath gel, body lotion, shower cap etc. and a newspaper in the morning. There was also a safe. The room was very clean and the staff very polite and friendly. The hotel is very conveniently located and has a large car park. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radley3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacdonaldHDV, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Radley3

Great that you enjoyed the mezzanine room in the hotel and thanks for posting a review of us. We hope to provide everything our guests could need and have recently upgraded our TV system to include a full Freeview collection as well as our previous SKY package.
If there was anything else you felt could have added to your experience then please feel free to email me directly.
Best Wishes

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Myself, wife and son stayed in this hotel during a two day break in York. We stayed in a Taitinger superior room which was very nice, clean and spacious. Everything one would need was provided - fridge, coffee machine, kettle, nice bathroom, great shower, towels and robes, king size bed with an extra bed for my son. Hotel was located just outside the city walls and was a 15 to 20 minutes walk to the city centre and a 10 minute walk to the railway museum. Shops and sainsburys local nearby as well as takeaways, restaurants and pubs. Located in a nice area of York. Large car park provided and worth the £10 fee for convenience.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacdonaldHDV, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Paul D
I am glad you and your family had a great stay. Not many people know that children are more than welcome here at Hotel du Vin and we have several upgraded rooms which can accommodate small families (always best to call and make sure we get the correct room for you).
Being around 10 minutes walk to the centre is great but matching that with a car park is quite convenient especially if you are going to take advantage of the amazing wider area in Yorkshire.
We wish you a pleasant festive period and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Best wishes
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st albans
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My Wife and I stayed mid week, whilst visiting friends in York.

We got a great room deal from the web, and stayed B&B.

Lovely characterful building, with parking ( charged extra, £10 per day). Located between the race course and town center.

Reception were very polite friendly and professional. Room was lovely. We had upgraded "hartenberg" room, one up from standard. This was a large room, with a substantial en suite, and a bath in the middle of the bedroom!

Quality of room etc was great. Bed linen, pillows were high quality.

We did not eat in, as we were meeting friends, but the restaurant/bistro was busy and the menu looked good. We would choose to eat next time.

Breakfast was very good. Included was continental spread, £3 upgrade to full English, salmon, kippers etc. - absolute bargain.

In short great place, lovely staff, and good value given the initial booking price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacdonaldHDV, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear paul s

Thanks for taking the time to post a review from your stay. Great to read that you had a lovely time but next time you come and stay you should definitely dine in our Bistro.
Our breakfast is great value and with the recent addition of our healthy cooked breakfast including spinach and egg white omelette, carrot & ginger sausage, confit tomatoes and grilled mushrooms there are some definite attractions once the festive period is finished to coming back!
We hope you have a great Christmas and remember York is considered one of the best shopping city centres in the UK and sales will no doubt be starting early this year.
Best wishes

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My partner and I thought we'd get away for NYE and probably won't do it again, definitely not here anyway.

£100 per head for the 5 course meal. It was terrible, food and service. The room was small yet clean and fairly modern. The whole evening was a bit rubbish, the service should have been second to none for the money paid.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrideInService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacdonaldHDV, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
We are sorry to hear that you had some issues during the New Year celebrations in 2012. I am eager to discuss your experience with you further. I would appreciate the opportunity to do this personally. Are you able to email me directly with your contact information including a telephone number and a suitable time for me to contact you. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards David MacDonald, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed at the Hotel du Vin York for one night en-route to a few days away on the North Yorkshire coast.

We have previously stayed in a few of the other Hotel Du Vins dotted around the country and have always found them to have that ’special’ feel – something that you don’t always get with other similarly priced hotels. But, unfortunately the York hotel didn’t quite match up to those others that we have stayed in.

It was just that the room (a superior one) felt a little tatty. Things like the curtains being a few inches too long so the bottom of the curtains were scrunched up on the floor with one of the curtains also missing a couple of rings/hooks. The walls in the bedroom were badly marked where it would appear there may have been a damp problem. The bathroom could have been a bit cleaner – there was a decent layer of dust on the skirting boards and on the wall behind the door to the toilet.

Everything else was as you would expect from a Hotel du Vin - the staff were great as they always seem to be, and the food good value for money. The location is also very good, just a 10 -15 minute walk to the centre of York.

We may have just been unlucky with our room and the other rooms may be better – most do look so in the photos on Tripadvisor, but this experience will make us think twice about booking the York Hotel Du Vin again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scillymamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacdonaldHDV, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Scillymamba

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay. I apologise for the room not being up to our usual extremely high standard. It does appear that after the recent soakings that our Grade II listed building has taken a knock. Please rest assured that we are working flat out to remedy this.

Thank you for your kind comments about the team and please feel free to contact myself directly next time you are passing through York.

Best Regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,258 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
622 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
1.6 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin York

Property: Hotel du Vin York
Address: 89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin York 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin & Bistro York is located in the tranquil area known as The Mount, close to the city's historic centre. This beautiful hotel in York city centre is housed within a Grade II-listed building that dates back to the early 19th century. Formerly a private home and an orphanage, the hotel houses 44 stylish bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and private dining rooms, along with a terrace, courtyard and inner forum for alfresco dining. York is a historic and beautiful city, believed to date back from Roman times. York is the county town of Yorkshire, perfect for a cultural getaway or a romantic weekend break that will inspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Lastminute so you can book your Hotel du Vin York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing