We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could do better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vin York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel du Vin York
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Could do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Still staying here. Nothing to write home about. Room above kitchen (may be because it's the only twin?) noisy. Staff very kind beforehand sorting out best room with disabled access but omitted to tell us there's no lift. That'll teach us to assume there was. Not mentioned on website.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank karenmoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacdonaldHDV, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Karenmoc

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that you have not had an amazing experience and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further with you. If you could contact me directly I would be happy to call you at a time that suits.

I would also like to thank for sharing your positive comments about the team.

Best Regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    783
    441
    134
    49
    16
See reviews for
131
913
18
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

The service was fantastic, all the staff were very polite and accommodating, giving us a map and recommending places to visit. However, for what I paid, I felt, although beautifully furnished, the room was quite small, just enough room to fit the bed and a small walking space around it, I was hoping for it to look a bit more like the rooms they advertise on the website, maybe we were just unfortunate! They did seem to be quite busy the weekend we visited. Also I don't think its great that they charge £10 per 24 hours at the hotel, I think this should be free when you book a room

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jade W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacdonaldHDV, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Jade W

I appreciate you taking the time to post a review of us online. I'm glad the reception team helped you out with finding your way around, with so much to do in York it’s easy to miss amazing sites.

We have a large variety of rooms around the hotel, I am sorry you found yours on the small side.

It does cost £10 to park in our car park which I do feel is fair considering the charges generally around York and it helps us ensure that our hotel guests always have a space to park (of course not everyone drives). I do appreciate your feedback on this charge.

I hope you have a great festive season and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. Hotel is in a good location - around 10 minute walk from the city centre and shops/restaurants. Room was comfortable and well-appointed. Breakfast a little steep (more like London prices) but couldn't fault the food I had. Staff are excellent - very helpful and accommodating and if you arrive or happen to wander by reception around 6 pm, there are usually some goodies the chef has cooked going free...
Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TickyToc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacdonaldHDV, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear TickyToc

Thanks for posting your review online. Glad you had a comfortable stay with us and thank you your kind comments about the team.

We do like to wet the appetite of our guests with little treats on the desk (tonight is mince pies).

I hope you got to see some of Yorks many attractions while working here, if not we often run great deals on Sunday nights which are worth checking out on our website.

Best Regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Just spent 2 nights here. We didn't upgrade (email was sent after booking offering reduced price upgrade) & just had a standard room. Room had everything we wanted/needed but wasn't huge. All staff very polite, attentive & efficient. We ate in the Bistro first evening, food good although both dishes I wanted had sold through! Drinks in the large 'conservatory' bar the 2nd eve were not cheap but room was comfortable & we had a good time. It is a walk into town but we spent £6 on a car park in the city on Friday just for 3 hours so £10/24 hours parking is ok! Was disappointed city walls closed on day we wanted to walk them - obviously not hotel's fault but maybe something to check in advance if it's something you want to do.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacdonaldHDV, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Gill W

Thanks for posting a review of the hotel. Sorry that we sold out of the dishes you intended to have, I do hope that there was enough choice left for you.

I am glad you had a good time with us, its a shame about the city walls being closed, I guess you have a good reason to come back! Email me directly if you do.

Many Thanks

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Our first experience of Hotel du Vin, likely not the last based on this visit. The hotel is well situated, a short walk into the town centre which is probably quicker than driving. We arrived early, just to park but found we could check into our room. The very friendly young lady on reception showed us to our room and pointed out the many features, then provided us with a town guide and some helpful directions.

Our room was very well furnished and included a large TV, coffee machine, roll top bath (in the bed room) and bathroom with large shower with drencher head. Minor point, but some coat hooks by the door would have been useful. The lounge and bar areas are nice places to relax prior to dining, the bistro menu has a good choice and did not disappoint.

Others have commented about the charge for the car park, most city centre hotels either don't have parking or charge, and the extra for a cooked breakfast, the continental breakfast met our needs and the supplement isn't that great.

The staff were without exception helpful, friendly and attentive and the hotel provided us with everything we needed.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room, dinner, bed and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacdonaldHDV, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Geoff N

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for posting the review online. York has so much to offer that one or even two days is not really enough to see everything so I am glad our reception team helped you. Next time you come to York check out the York Pass available from the Visitor Centre (we should be launching a package that includes this in the new year so watch this space).
We do charge for car parking but do also keep it exclusive for residents meaning everyone that needs a space gets one. As you say it is quite reasonably priced compared to most centre hotels (only £10).
I hope you have a great festive period and look forward to welcoming you back in the new year.

Best Regards


David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
469 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We spent two nights in a mezzanine room, which was very nice, with a bathroom upstairs and the bedroom and toilet downstairs. The room was slightly on the small side, but well equipped with a fridge, kettle etc. The staff were lovely: very friendly and efficient. The only slight drawback is that it is a 10 minute walk into York, but, unlike many Hotel du Vins there is a large car park behind it. Unable to face the walk back into York on the second night, and with the Bistro fully booked until 9pm, we had dinner in the bar, and it was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PotterMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacdonaldHDV, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear PotterMoose

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Glad you had a good time with us and thank you for the positive feedback about the team.

Sorry you could not dine in the Bistro at the time you would have preferred. I would always advise guests to book up early to ensure you get the best time. Glad you did eat though, the team would always ensure an option is available.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darlington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

The website doesn't do this place justice!!
We had a mezzanine room which had a roll top bath and monsoon shower, magic. Exceptionally clean throughout, massive tv, mini bar, huge bed this room ticked all boxes.
The hotel has a large car park at the rear even tho it's website doesn't say this, lots of quaint rooms, olde worde bar, terrace room is very nice.
Didn't eat here but the world smelt amazing. Lots of very helpful staff running around.
Can't complain about anything really, even the breakfast upgrade to full English only costs another £3 which is great value especially from a boutique hotel.
Yes the bar is pricey but no more than I would expect from a hotel of such quality.
It's around 10-15 mins walk to the centre but many good bars and restaurants on way.
Really want to come back soon!!

Room Tip: My room was umani
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p11nnx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacdonaldHDV, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear p11nnx

Thank you for a lovely review after your stay with us. Those Mezzanine rooms certainly seem popular. I am a personal fan of our showers, large plate head fitting, walking space and water pressure that feels like a massage.

If you really like the mezzanine feel you should check out our Newcastle du Vin who have several suites following this arrangement and no doubt will be running some amazing deals in the new year (we certainly will).
I hope you have a great time over the festive period.

Many Thanks

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
1.6 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin York

Property: Hotel du Vin York
Address: 89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin York 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin & Bistro York is located in the tranquil area known as The Mount, close to the city's historic centre. This beautiful hotel in York city centre is housed within a Grade II-listed building that dates back to the early 19th century. Formerly a private home and an orphanage, the hotel houses 44 stylish bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and private dining rooms, along with a terrace, courtyard and inner forum for alfresco dining. York is a historic and beautiful city, believed to date back from Roman times. York is the county town of Yorkshire, perfect for a cultural getaway or a romantic weekend break that will inspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel du Vin York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing