We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice boutique hotel, short walk from city centre with plenty of parking”
Review of Hotel du Vin York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin York
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very nice boutique hotel, short walk from city centre with plenty of parking”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We enjoyed a one night stay here in mid-December as part of our three-day first wedding anniversary trip and en route home after a work's Christmas party further north. Hotel du Vin has a great atmosphere, very pleasant bar and dining area along with a small 'snug' which was a cosy place to have after-dinner coffee. As other reviewers have already commented, all the staff were very friendly, polite and helpful.

If you're a smoker, the purpose-built outdoor smoking area at the back is an excellent facility - it certainly makes for a more comfortable smoke on a rainy day!
Our ground-floor standard room in the rear annexe was a good size, with bathrobes, slippers and coffee-making facilities all provided. However, we did find it rather too warm and struggled to work out the heating controls.So with hindsight, we should have asked advice on this when shown to our room.
The hotel is ideally located for walking into the city centre and its large car park is a great bonus, despite the extra charge.
We would certainly recommend this hotel and stay again - although it's on the more expensive side, it's worth it as a treat!

Room Tip: Standard room was fine for us - but check you can understand the heating controls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    457
    143
    55
    19
See reviews for
140
964
18
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Had overnight stay 30 December and was pleasantly surprised. Venue is very boutique style, has a great restaurant and lovely bar and cosy seated areas to relax in. Rooms a decent size, amazing beds, so close to the old town of York. Front desk very polite, professional and helpful.

Concierge went above and beyond call of duty for one of our party who needed cough medicine late at night and took him in his car to the 24 hr Tesco at 2am. Amazing service!

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank vattoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed for a weekend in October and the first impressions were mixed. Fine facade and atmosphere, good car park to rear and got a space without reserving it, excellent but small double bedroom jn the annex with flamboyant and arty decor. The hall and stairs of the main house are very dark and so is the style of the artwork, but it all adds to the ambience. However, the lounge and lounge bar areas were covered in food crumbs and other detritus and the bar had sticky tables, which should have been cleaned properly after the previous users had left. This was towards the end of the evening and some people might find it understandable - but I don't. If a bar is still serving then there should be a clean table available, whereas there were several dirty areas through two rooms which then started us to notice other dirty areas of the hotel with cobwebs etc. That said, our room was excellent and acceptably clean. We breakfasted there both mornings and the food presentation and selection was beautiful, with friendly attentive service, which brought the overall impression back up to a 'very good'.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveS247_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on the 27th dec. haven't eaten anything but the hotel, rooms and staff are great. Large car park which is a bonus- expect to pay the price for the convenience. We stayed in a new mezzanine suite- bed is really comfy and the rest of the facilities perfect. 10 mins from main city but lots of nice pubs and eateries nearer. 10 mins from station. Would recommend.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zoe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I read the previous posts and as I usually wait a while before I post to be more rational in case my review is coloured by other experiences I decided to post straight away. I heartily agree about Christmas Eve. The food then left a lot to be desired with sprouts like bullets damp and warm carrots and truly dreadful roast potatoes. I had the pumpkin tarte fine where three slivers of uncooked pumpkin were placed on a circle of pastry on a bed of tired salad. The starter of smoked salmon was fine, my husbands steak was fine.
We both felt quite anxious about the Christmas lunch for The Day itself but needn't have worried I think the chef must have been off the previous day. Everything worked very well. The front of house staff were all very efficient and pleasant. The apprentice sommelier did very well with our selection of wines and the meal went off without a hitch. We had young family and the plates were cleared attentively so we did not have bored little people with us.
We enjoyed our accommodation very much. Having stayed in the hotel before we knew what to expect and were pleased to be able to pay for an upgrade as we had booked a standard room. Apart from the chefs day off on Christmas Eve my only other quibble was the lack of lid to the loo seat. Is this a new trend?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mansel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Checked in here after a night in a budget hotel in York (which shall remain nameless), and found the usual level of high standard(s) across the board which make HDV the best 'lux' chain in the UK at the moment, in my opinion. Friendly staff and efficient check-in resulted in us being shown to a room with all the usual accompaniments from HDV. Excellent bed, luxurious sheets and well appointed room with air-conditioning. We stayed in the Minster block. Didn't eat here but bar service was friendly, courteous and quick. The damage ? £129 for the Saturday night pre-xmas, and at the price we would return undoubtedly.

Room Tip: Stay in the MInster block, separate to the main hotel. Was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_A_274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, trip only dampened by not being able to get a meal on the night, allegedly full. Chose a suite as anniversary and everything on offer an more. Receptionists bit to smiley smiley, but very pleasant. Perfect position but beware the car park charges

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SS68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,299 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,253 reviews
1.6 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin York

Property: Hotel du Vin York
Address: 89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin York 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin & Bistro York is located in the tranquil area known as The Mount, close to the city's historic centre. This beautiful hotel in York city centre is housed within a Grade II-listed building that dates back to the early 19th century. Formerly a private home and an orphanage, the hotel houses 44 stylish bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and private dining rooms, along with a terrace, courtyard and inner forum for alfresco dining. York is a historic and beautiful city, believed to date back from Roman times. York is the county town of Yorkshire, perfect for a cultural getaway or a romantic weekend break that will inspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel du Vin York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing