We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and not all that”
Review of Hotel du Vin York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Vin York
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tired and not all that”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Was looking forward to this for a while, was quite let down with the reality.
Overpriced, rooms need a redecoration and soft furnishings look knackered.
Reception staff were nice and helpful. Extras are not just in the mini bar, be warned, crisps, and chocolate strategically placed as "freebies" around the room are not!
Couldn't face the expensive breakfast as wanted to get home!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajb699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven H, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your constructive review of Hotel du Vin York. It was of disappointing to learn that we did not live up to expectations. I would relish the opportunity to discuss your experience first hand as I do find your comments regarding the bedroom quality surprising. Please feel free to contact me personally at the hotel in order to discuss further.

Kindest Regards

Steven Hodgkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    809
    455
    141
    55
    19
See reviews for
138
953
18
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I have decided that after my latest experience of Hotel Du Vin I will not be staying again.

My GF treated us to a two-night break at the Hotel du Vin over New Year.

The actual hotel is what you expect from the chain; they are pretty much all the same look and feel abliet in individual and generally interesting buildings.

First let me say that on the whole the staff were excellent.... they were really polite and engaging and always trying to help. However one member of staff working on the bar was rude and sarcastic; who does he think is paying his wages?

The restaurant was chaos every morning (we stayed for 2 nights) at breakfast. I cannot blame the staff for this as they were by the looks of it understaffed (and imagine the kitchen was too). The reception staff had to come in to lend a hand (which bless them they did but it is not what they are trained to do). At no point did we see anyone from the Management Team helping out the waiters - VERY poor show.

Room Tip: Stay in the original building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrangeThoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven H, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Hotel du Vin York relating to your December stay with us. Although I was pleased to read that elements of your stay were great it was very disappointing to hear you would not be returning in the near future. I would like to offer my contact details to you and should this ever change please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel directly.

Kindest Regards,

Steven Hodgkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Lincolnshire
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Myself and my husband recently spent a Sunday night in a superior room (Hartenger I believe it was called) to celebrate my birthday and it was just lovely.

The room itself was as pictured on the website; huge bed, freestanding bath in the bedroom, tasteful décor. The room faced the back so was extremely quiet and no daylight leaked through the blinds and curtains so allowed for an undisturbed sleep and lay in! The monsoon shower was brilliant and the bathroom features some lovely Miller Harris smellies.

Location wise the hotel is in a great spot, especially if you’re travelling by train as we did. Under a 5 minute walk from the station and about 10 minutes into the centre of York.

We sampled the Sunday brunch which is great value at £22.95 for 4 courses. The highlight of this was definitely the French market table where you can choose as much as you like from a delicious selection of seafood, charcuterie, salads, breads etc. It was very difficult not getting carried away and filling up with this! The breakfast the day next day was just ok but nothing to complain about.

We both really enjoyed staying here and as much as the communal areas and bedroom are wonderful, the biggest praise has to be for the service. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful and genuinely seemed to want guests to have the best time possible. A prime example of this is when we checked in and the receptionist enquired if we had plans whilst in York and my husband mentioned it was my birthday. By the time we’d walked from reception to the dining room, this information had been entered into their computer system as the maître d’ wished me a Happy Birthday as we entered the room. It’s little touches like this that make all the difference and would encourage me to recommend this hotel to any couple wanting a romantic break in this beautiful city.

We look forward to hopefully staying again soon!

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a superior room with a free standing bath in the bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StamfordHem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed here for a night whilst on a Christmas shopping trip to the beautiful city of York.

The hotel is stylish and well appointed and the building is tastefully decorated and our two storey room was pretty unique.

We stayed on a dinner, bed and breakfast rate which was good value and we were made to feel welcome by all the staff we encountered.

So whilst there was nothing wrong at all with our stay, there just wasn't any real wow-factor, nothing that lingers in the memory as I come review it over two months later! Good not great, nice not amazing.

Would we stay again? Yes, probably.

Could there be better in this city? Well, I think when we visit again, we'd look at staying elsewhere to find out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danieltjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed here for 1 night in March 2013. It was a surprise for my husband. We stayed in the Veuve Clicqout which was spectacular. It was really spacious, gorgeous huge bath and twin monsoon showers. The bath & showers were open plan into the lounge area and the the lounge area had a sofa and chair.

We also ate in the restaurant in the evening. The food we had was really nice. I had seen some mixed reports. The service was quite slow, but the atmosphere was nice and we just enjoyed ourselves. If I am honest, something would have to really spoil my stay for me to moan about it, so the service being slow might spoil it for some, but we're pretty laid back.

Breakfast isn't a full on buffet and eat as much as you want, for a hot breakfast you order this from the menu and then there's cold pastries, fruit where you can help yourself which made it really nice.

The hotel does have a really nice feel about it, there seem to be quite a few rooms, but it doesn't feel big and part of a chain.

Good location too, you're not in the middle of York, but about a 10 min stroll and it's so easy to get into and everything accessible.

We have booked to go back for my Birthday in Sept'14 - and in the same standard of room.

Room Tip: If you can stretch your budget go for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieANDSamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Had a meal there tonight, the food while very nice was only warm rather than hot and the service could have been better even though relatively quiet.


Expensive for what it is in my opinion, the best part of £30 for a steak that only comes with fries and a sauce. Also, £7 for a dessert was a lot for what you got .

While we enjoyed the evening we wouldn't go out of our way to return.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gazza898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Du Vin for a couple of nights whilst in York for a Goddaughter's 21st birthday. My wife had stayed here before. The hotel is great and perfectly sited for York's city center. The hotel is well decorated and maintained, the rooms were really comfortable, with exceptionally hot water in a wonderful shower. All the things you would expect from a good hotel and worthy alone for a good review.

However the staff take my comments to another level; they were exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble and all done with a genuine smile. I have not seen service like this for many a long while. Our two well trained dogs came with us, that was no trouble even to the point that without a request they were given a short walk one evening by the receptionist whilst we were having dinner. Our stay was made fabulous by the staff and I commend them on their performance.

Room Tip: Pol Roger has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,251 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
622 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin York

Property: Hotel du Vin York
Address: 89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin York 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin & Bistro York is located in the tranquil area known as The Mount, close to the city's historic centre. This beautiful hotel in York city centre is housed within a Grade II-listed building that dates back to the early 19th century. Formerly a private home and an orphanage, the hotel houses 44 stylish bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and private dining rooms, along with a terrace, courtyard and inner forum for alfresco dining. York is a historic and beautiful city, believed to date back from Roman times. York is the county town of Yorkshire, perfect for a cultural getaway or a romantic weekend break that will inspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Lastminute and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Vin York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing