We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do the Du Vin”
Review of Hotel du Vin York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin York
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2008

Had a fabulous stay at Hotel Du Vin arriving last minute on a Satuday. In one of the standard double rooms but is was contemporary, clean & more than adequate, all mod cons including free wi -fi & dvd player etc.Breakfast wasn't included & it may seem a little pricey at £160 ,but it was Saturday & it is York.It's easy walking to town & as a Mr & Mrs Smith member a free bottle of champagne was given to us in the room.
Check the hotel website as we found a "lazy Sunday" deal for £145 , double room, 3 course meal (anything on the A la Carte) & breakfast.We were upgraded to a suite and as a new booking got another bottle of champagne!
The staff & service were excellent throughout.....we'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank spoon47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,506)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin York
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,458 - 1,464 of 1,507 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2008

We have just returned for a two night stay at The Hotel Du Vin, York in a superior room which was the epitome of style. The room was in the main hotel building, above the entrance and was brilliant. ( Slight problem on the second night when the heating in the room failed)
We ate at the hotel on both nights and I must say the food and service were very good.
I think the staff could benefit from some customer service training as when the heating in the room failed, it took over an hour to provide some sort of heating, which proved inadequate as all they had was one small electric heater to heat a very large room. Once this had been provided, no one enquired as to the effectiveness of the solution or seemed unduly interested in the welfare of their guests from that point onwards.
This did not ruin our stay but did not seem value for money at the time.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UKMansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2008

Really liked it. Reception area is a little cramped and bar a little small but decorated in a really seductive and intimate way with lots of subdued lighting etc. Stayed in a standard room which was decorated nicely, bathroom lovely with massive shower head, gorgeous fluffy towels and dressing gown. Good tea & coffee making facilities though no biscuits unless you pay for them. A bit out of the city centre but a pleasant walk. Reception staff were really helpful and properly french barman chatted away to my slightly tipsy boyfriend.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poppy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2008

We love the HDV chain and have stayed in several of its hotels. The one in York is lovely, less centrally located that many of the sister hotels in their respective towns, but still only a 15-20 minute walk from the heart of York. I believe it's also on a bus route, but we preferred to stretch our legs.

We booked a last minute special internet rate of just £89 per room per night for a standard double, although we actually had a 6ft bed in our room which was a nice surprise. The decor is lovely, the bedroom was comfortable and homely and the bathroom gorgeous, with the trademark HDV monsoon shower.

We had breakfast in the hotel (not included, for any HDV virgins, their standard rates for any room or suite do not include breakfast) which was nice, although the waitress was a bit frosty. Also, breakfast is served 7-10am. We arrived and about 9.35am and so were still there at 10.01am to see the continental breakfast items being swiftly cleared away - by serving til 10am they do mean exactly that! We were glad to have already selected what we wanted, because nobody came and asked if we would like anything else before it was whisked away.

All in all it was exactly what I would expect of this chain, and I will continue to stay with them in future.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sunandsmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2008

My husband and I had a pleasant two night stay at the Hotel du Vin York in June. I must admit that we were disappointed. Earlier in our trip, we had spent a night at Hotel du Vin One Devonshire Gardens in Glasgow, and the York property just didn't live up to the standard the other hotel set. We had trouble imagining that they were part of the same chain.

What we liked about the Hotel du Vin York:
1. Attractive public areas in a historic building.
2. Short walk to York center.
3. Comfortable room at a reasonable price.

What we didn't like:
1. Rooms felt like they were part of a chain hotel, albeit with slightly more dramatic decor. This is partly because the rooms were in a newly constructed building.
2. There were odd design lapses in the rooms (very odd indeed for a boutique hotel). For instance, the toilet was placed uncomfortably close to the sink.
3. The use of winery names instead of room numbers. This seemed to just create confusion, especially when your French pronunciation is less than perfect.

We'd recommend the Hotel du Vin to anyone who happens to be in York, but it's not a reason to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank booksma30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2008

A really great place to stay, would recommend to all!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Pammy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2008

My wife and I stayed her as a weekend break to get away from it all - it was a spur of the moment thing and we were looking for something special; a little luxury.

Hotel Du Vin in York is a very new building - we've stayed at the more historical one in Bristol and whilst the York site lacks the character, it still has all the great halmark service you would expect.

The rooms are extremely comfortable and quiet - we'd been a bit concerned when we were shown to our room as it was so close to the road, but I can honestly say we didn't hear any traffic noise throughout our stay.

The reception team were very helpful and the bar staff were friendly too.... we took advantage of the bar until the wee small hours and it felt almost as though we were at home - the sofas were comfortable and we even borrowed a chess board from one of the bookshelves and enjoyed a game!

There's a very quaint 'Cigar Shack' outside for the smokers amongst you - a inspired design and such a change from the usual 'bus shelter' stuff you usually get.

We'd been warned that car parking was limited, but we had no problems and there always seemed to be spaces.

I'd recommend Hotel Du Vin for service alone - the fact that you also get a really nice room too is the icing on the cake.

We'll definitely be back....

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LincolnGreenBrewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,340 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,330 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.6 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin York

Address: 89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £103 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin York 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin & Bistro York is located in the tranquil area known as The Mount, close to the city's historic centre. This beautiful hotel in York city centre is housed within a Grade II-listed building that dates back to the early 19th century. Formerly a private home and an orphanage, the hotel houses 44 stylish bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and private dining rooms, along with a terrace, courtyard and inner forum for alfresco dining. York is a historic and beautiful city, believed to date back from Roman times. York is the county town of Yorkshire, perfect for a cultural getaway or a romantic weekend break that will inspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel du Vin York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing