We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful hotel. ”
Review of Hotel du Vin York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin York
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful hotel. ”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel has been brilliantly decorated. We stayed in the superior double. We arrived earlier than the checking time of 1500 so had a drink in the bar. Staff were friendly and polite, unfortunately our room wasn't ready until about 1520. This meant we had waited over an hour. It's a shame because that's the only thing that let this hotel down. Once we got to our room we found it to be everything we hoped for. Being over 6 foot tall the shower head is a little low for me but the stand alone bath was perfect. Just watch out for the sharp corners on the edge of the bed, you'll strap your shins! The bed was one of the most comfy I've slept in. I would definitely come back and recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven H, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review of Hotel du Vin York. I was sorry to hear your room was slightly delayed but thankful it did not affect your stay.

Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back to HdV in the near future.

Kind regards,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    458
    144
    55
    19
See reviews for
141
965
18
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Booked here for one night to celebrate my partner's birthday, arranged for flowers to be in the room in advance and booked the Friday tonic (will come to that later).

Now in fairness we did arrive slightly early, we were advised that the room wasn't quite ready, we had been upgraded to a suite. The suite was first class, absolutely no complaints, very well appointed and comfortable. However, I had made a specific request that there be no feathers in the bedding, that had been overlooked, so had the flowers in the room which I had to go back to reception to collect. The receptionist was apologetic and told me that complimentary champagne and chocolates were to be brought up to the room, 45 minutes later we gave up and went up as there was no sign of said champagne.

We had booked the Friday tonic menu which specifically says that half a bottle of champagne is included in the package, presumably at dinner? Anyway having arrived for our meal we were told that the champagne would be in our fridge in the room?!....and they could collect it if we wanted. Very strange.....

Food at dinner was excellent, I have to say that the at table service was disappointing, you would normally expect staff at a restaurant of this quality to pour your wine, ask if the food was OK etc, didn't happen. The dessert menu had two types of creme brulee, one with chocolate, one without. My partner asked for the non-chocolate variety, I bet you can guess which one turned up at the table.

The next day I raised the issue of the champagne at reception, and just got a blank look without any hint of trying to resolve things, was the bottle of champagne in our room actually complimentary, or was that the one included in our package?

Breakfast was an entirely different experience, the staff were extremely attentive, polite and nothing was too much trouble. So clearly there are staff at this hotel that can do their job very well, others may benefit from some training.

In terms of location, this hotel is only a short walk into York.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cgt180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven H, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this constructive review of Hotel du Vin York.

The delay with your Tonic offer extras was due to being able to upgrade you to the top suite and getting you into this room at lunch time. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the food in the hotel

Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back to HdV in the near future.

Kind regards,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Me and my girlfriend have been to this HDV for dinner twice now and have found the experience overall very good. Nice well prepared food, lovely atmosphere and a good quality of service.

The restaurant is pleasant and cosy with nice snug areas around the bar area. Parking is a bit tight on site but over all I'd happily recommend this restaurant to someone else. I have not stayed here but if other HDV's are anything to go by it will be nice though a tad on the expensive side.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeAndSarah7881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven H, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this super review of Hotel du Vin York. I always think the best compliment is from the return guest. Thank you for your repeat visits!

Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back to HdV in the near future.

Kind regards,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Booked Hotel Du Vin last thing after a little research on tripadvisor. Was initially attracted to this hotel after viewing the professional and customer photos. My Wife and I were planning a very rare break without our children and the boutique feel of the hotel was really appealing. I was a little concerned about some of the one star ratings (mainly given due to unfriendliness of certain staff) but the good reviews far outweighed the bad so I booked a standard double room for two nights.
The hotel was very easy to find, less than half a mile from the Micklegate into York city. We decided to use the hotel carpark at an additional cost of £10 per night but as we were only staying for 2 nights, the convenience outweighed the cost (alternative long stay parking is available at the train station less than half a mile away).
Headed to reception and was checked in by lovely young lady who made us both feel at home straight away. While she took our details and checked our reservation she made time to inquire where we had traveled from and if we had visited York before and as she escorted us to our room offered suggestions as to which local attractions were most popular. In fact all staff we encountered were very friendly, whether it was a smile and morning greeting from the cleaning staff or a warm welcome by bistro or bar staff. A courtesy call to our room to inquire if we were totally satisfied with our room and experience so far, was also a nice touch.
All rooms in our wing were named after wines, our room was Concho Y Toro. The room was immaculate and had a definite boutique feel, being richly furnished and uniquely styled with all the facilities you would expect in a hotel within this price band.
Although we dined out each evening, so did not have an opportunity to sample the evening menu, we did stay for breakfast each morning. The service from staff was very friendly and you were left feeling that they really couldn't do enough for you. The food was very good, the chefs are definitely a notch above the usual, creating traditional dishes with a pleasing twist.
So to summarize, definitely a hotel to recommend, boutique style rooms, very good food, perfect location for sightseeing but most of all wonderful staff, so looking forward to another stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jidron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven H, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review of Hotel du Vin York. Thank you also for noting that our staff are all helpful and friendly something we pride ourselves on.

Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back to HdV in the near future.

Kind regards,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, England
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

To give a break during a busy weekend of travel we booked a 'Summer Sunday' offer - spend £75 min in the Bistro and the room only is £45. We've stayed at the H du V York several times and it's a very comfortable place to stay and convenient for a short walk into the City.

Imogen on Reception was welcoming and very efficient, meeting our needs and showing us to our room. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was finished to a high standard with all conveniences to hand. All the public areas of the hotel are finished to give a relaxing ambience.

Dinner in the Bistro was only so-so I'm afraid. Having been seated, we were then basically invisible to the waiting staff with no attention being paid to our needs, did we like the food....nothing. Regarding the food, the Mixed Nibbles to share was quite good; we both had Fillet Steak which was very good; but the desserts were rather odd in our opinion. The Apple Tarte Tatin was basically half a baked apple with some pastry, and the Mint Choc Chip Tart was a rather odd texture and was neither hot nor cold....in our opinion, not very enjoyable. Because of the indifferent service versus the premium prices we asked for the service charge to be removed.

On checking out, Imogen and the maintenance technician has helpfully found out the colour of the bedroom wall paint (....it's a long story....). Check out was without fuss and we were on our way. Oh, car parking is a reasonable size and is charged at £10 per night.

In conclusion, we had a pleasant stay with only a slight issue with the Bistro.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_vostok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven H, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review of Hotel du Vin York. I was sorry to hear your Bistro experience was not in keeping with the normal standard but thankful it did not affect your stay to the negative.

Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back to HdV in the near future.

Kind regards,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alcazares
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We booked ourselves for three nights in a superior room. When we first saw our room the first impressions were very pleasing.
Once we settled in our room we started finding out things wrong with this room. Firstly the corners of the bed frame protruded and my husband bruised and cut his shin within an hour of being in the room. After that we had to pull the duvet out at the end of the bed so as to protect our legs.
There was a big gap between the headrest and the mattress so the pillow kept sleeping through the gap.
The lighting in the room was very poor. The bedside lamp was so dim that you could not sit and read in bed.
The toilet was separate from the bathroom/shower area and had no basin near it to wash your hands.
The bath which was free standing with claw feet looked nice but it was not practical. One kept slipping down it and there was nothing to hold on to. Once you bathed you had to get out of the bath and go and shower because the bath did not have a shower attachment.
During the early hours of the night we kept hearing noises which we think were coming from the kitchen below. Even with the air condition on the room was boiling and uncomfortable. You cannot have a superior bedroom above the hotel kitchen but in this case they did.

We will not be staying at this hotel again. It was very disappointing.

Room Tip: Do not choose the Schloss room as this is supposed to be a superior room and yet it had many faults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybird1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven H, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this very constructive review of Hotel du Vin York. I was sorry to read you did not enjoy the room due to its design and have taken on all of your points for improvement.

Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back to HdV in the near future.

Kind regards,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I recently went for a Sunday meal at Hotel Du Vin for an anniversary with my boyfriend.
When we arrived we had a drink at the bar before our meal, the gentleman serving, Josh, made us some very impressive cocktails, taste and attention to details was incredible.
The food was delicious, we had four courses and each one was amazing, for the price the portions were enormous! The waiters/waitress and bar staff were very attentive and really made our visit all the more special.
We had a fabulous time and will be certainly be going back again soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KellyJAshton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven H, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for writing the 100% positive review of Hotel du Vin York. It was great to read and especially I would like to thank you for the mention you gave to Josh. I assure you he will be rewarded for your comments.

I hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,303 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,263 reviews
1.6 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin York

Property: Hotel du Vin York
Address: 89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin York 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin & Bistro York is located in the tranquil area known as The Mount, close to the city's historic centre. This beautiful hotel in York city centre is housed within a Grade II-listed building that dates back to the early 19th century. Formerly a private home and an orphanage, the hotel houses 44 stylish bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and private dining rooms, along with a terrace, courtyard and inner forum for alfresco dining. York is a historic and beautiful city, believed to date back from Roman times. York is the county town of Yorkshire, perfect for a cultural getaway or a romantic weekend break that will inspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Vin York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing