We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly charming, beautiful, uncompromisingly stylish...”
Review of Hotel du Vin York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin York
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
1 review
“Utterly charming, beautiful, uncompromisingly stylish...”
Reviewed 8 May 2009

On arrival at the hotel the reception staff kindly upgraded us to the Grand Dame suite at a very reasonable price. If you can, upgrade to this suite, it is utterly beautiful! Double shower, double sinks, a free standing bath (very Malmaisson in style).
We had 2 flat screen tvs one facing the lounge area and another facing the bed which was the biggest bed I have ever seen! The bed and pillows are so comfortable. There was a Bose surround sound system and luxury glossy magazines to flick through. Even the in-room coffee facilities were good - you get your own caffetierre and fresh coffee. The complimentary body loptions and shower gels provided are by Aaran and are beautiful and very generous sizes, they encourage you to take them home and I am still working my way through them a month on!
We had a couple of drinks in the bar before heading into York and it was beautiful, good service, well-mixed drinks and a a lovely relaxed atmosphere.
The decor of the hotel is incredibly stylish - duck egg blues, washed out greens, grey slate floors, real fires, dark woods mixed in with lovely antique pieces like grandfather clocks and an antique library and dozens of wall cllocks all round the reception area - just stunning.
I'm thrilled to have discovered this new hotel chain and am eaget to visit one in another city soon! I have already recommended this hotel to all of my friends.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillEGManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    453
    140
    54
    18
See reviews for
134
945
18
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2009

Stayed on the bank holiday weekend for 1 night and got a great upgrade to the Van Dame room..Went to book in room not ready until 16:30pm should have been15:00 so got free drinks.
This room had a fab double walk in shower and a great bath, the bed was the size of 2 doubles put together at least...Only pain is IT takes around 20 minutes to walk fronm york shops to the hotel.
Dont eat here we had Sunday lunch 2 courses £17.99 which was expensive and the beef was so rare it was walking off the plate,also it was mainly fat not eet and no Veg hardly, sticky toffee pdding good though.
Breakfast staff need to up the game a little, waited ages for coffee then they forgot to bring it then they forgot the milk till half hour later.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PETAL9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2009

A superb hotel and restaurant, relaxing and exclusive with a serene atmosphere, I would most definitely recommend however please request accommodation away from the kitchen.
On check we were allocated a standard room which was rather cramped and had the distinct smell of food lingering in the air, on complaining the attentive staff offered a complimentary drink and an upgrade whilst we waited for a room to be prepared, the standard of our deluxe room internally was impressive and spacious however still being in the block directly above the kitchen meant that on waking the following morning again the smell of food was completely overpowering and extremely unpleasant as it was a pungent fried odour and this did deter from our enjoyment as we do like to relax in the room however we couldn't wait to vacate ! I mentioned our concerns to the front desk and was assured the Manager would be informed and would approach us to discuss the matter however he did not which was rather surprising and disappointing however if we were allocared a room in a different area of the hotel then I most certainly return. We did eat in the restaurant where both the service and food quality was first class.

Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank holidaywatch08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

This is an amazing hotel - my second stay in a Du Vin hotel and I can't wait to try out the rest. We stayed in a standard double room, but it was luxurious. We even had a little balcony from where you can enjoy the sunshine. The toiletries are lovely and massive and they even encourage you to take them home with you. The room has some good extras such as a well stocked mini bar and dressing gowns. We ate in the Bistro one night, the food was delicious and the service 1st class. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to Migglegate and a further 5/10 minutes into town. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a luxury hotel in York.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraRice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

Fantastic hotel in great location with deliberate attention to detail successful in almost every way. Lovely public areas; bar, restaurant, gardens, etc. I booked a deluxe room 5 days in advance and got a great rate (£125 inc. breakfast) and boy was it a deluxe room! Very, very spacious with an oversize bed, quality furniture, casual seating, roll-top bath and separate wet-room shower complete with robes and toiletries. Fantastic! Only downside was the flat screen TV - small (especially bearing in mind the size of the room) and not wall-mounted! The other negative I have is the below-average breakfast waitress service; not very attentive and when food arrived it did not match what was ordered.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spen65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2009

We were very pleased with our stay at the Hotel du Vin in York. Our room was on the parking lot side of the hotel, which is kind of made out like a garden, so it is nice to look at. Very calm. Room in perfect state (maybe recently refurbished?) and bathroom, too. Only little setback to the shower is if you measure more than a 1m85, you will not be able to stand under it and shower comfortably., but otherwise it is one of those large shower heads and feels like rain falling. Friendly and helpful personnel. Child friendly hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2009

Stayed here for two nights in April 2009 and was not disappointed. The hotel public areas were very modern and had been decorated to a high standard. Our bedroom and bathroom was also done in a very cosmopolitan way and it had one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Our rate was also exceptional value for money and included breakfast and dinner which was served by wonderful staff in a pleasant environment. The hotel is ideally situated with a good sized car park and is only a short walk to the York races or into the centre of York for some fantastic shopping or a historic treat. Hotel Du Vin had wonderful little extras such as a selection of magazines in your room, fresh filter coffee and above all fresh milk. A brilliant hotel to stay in if you are in York, we would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lg2353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,203 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
610 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 46 in York
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin York

Property: Hotel du Vin York
Address: 89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin York 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin & Bistro York is located in the tranquil area known as The Mount, close to the city's historic centre. This beautiful hotel in York city centre is housed within a Grade II-listed building that dates back to the early 19th century. Formerly a private home and an orphanage, the hotel houses 44 stylish bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and private dining rooms, along with a terrace, courtyard and inner forum for alfresco dining. York is a historic and beautiful city, believed to date back from Roman times. York is the county town of Yorkshire, perfect for a cultural getaway or a romantic weekend break that will inspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Vin York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing