We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST”
Review of Hotel du Vin York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin York
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“THE BEST”
Reviewed 3 November 2010

This is our home away from home. My husband and I continue to come back here again and again, for business and pleasure. It's romantic, has brilliant staff, great food, incredibly whisky and wonderful rooms. I'm now settled into one of their snugs and working from here for the day (retreating from an awful stay at HdV in Harrogate as sadly York was all booked out!). HdV York, don't change, you're perfect.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KizBits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    809
    455
    141
    55
    19
See reviews for
138
953
18
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Stayed in a well appointed suite which was roomy and very comfortable. Food is very good and the restaurant is appealing. Service is friendly and enthusiastic but a bit inexperienced. There is very limited parking, but it is only a short walk into town. Unfortunately the bar area is very disappointing and it is like sitting in a draughty corridor. Plenty of other good bars in York to make up for it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WellTravelledAbdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristiansund
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

After a first class stay in Hotel Du Vin's Cambridge location last year we had no hesitation in opting for Hotel Du Vin whilst visiting York with our friends. Hotel Du Vin offers service beyond service...... every minute is an experience from check-in to check-out. I and my fellow travellers found it difficult to fault the hotel, the rooms, the bistro, the bar, the grounds and most importantly the staff !! Extreme is all I can say !! Visiting York then go for HdV....... You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjm66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

booked up through last minute so got a good price for the room.

extras, internet, drinks etc very very expensive. they even charge you £10 to park - quite a bit given the room only room rate!

Room was nice, but not exceptional. I'd stay again but only on a deal

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Stayed one night at the Hotel du Vin and the first surprise was that the hotel car park was full on arrival at around 5pm and we were offered the choice of parking at the train station or on the street in front of the hotel (a major road into/out of York and a bus route). Eventually, after much cajoling and checking and re-checking the available spaces, we were allowed to park our car in the hotel car park for an additional £10. I think this is mean, given we were already paying £170 for a room (and room only at that). The hotel staff readily admitted that there was not enough room in the car park for all their guests, which is poor planning to say the least. Breakfast was good but expensive too and by the time we'd added in an evening meal in the restaurant (very good and possibly the best restaurant in town), we'd racked up a bill of around £350. Plus at checkout I was nearly charged twice for breakfast - the problem was rectified when I queried the amount several times. Note that service in the restaurant can be slow - we saw restaurant guests complaining - and the same staff serving in the restaurant at past midnight were also working the breakfast service the next morning which was quite worrying (they must have been exhausted).
Wifi in the hotel is free for 30minutes and then - guess what - you have to pay...
Overall, a good hotel in a convenient location but at London prices (and please drop the car-park charge).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank World_Shopper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We stayed in a junior suite which included a huge walk-in shower, DVD player with surround sound system and even a deep bath in the bedroom. Everything was very luxurious, however we found a large clump of hair in the shower which wasn't ours! The hotel was located on the edge of the city centre so it was a brisk 10 to 15 minute walk to the sights. The hotel charges £10 per night for the car park so we parked a few streets away. Overall a good experience but quite pricey for the privelige.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rvd147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

I took my husband here in the spring for his birthday as a special treat. It is on the expensive side but there are some good deals to be had via the website and we did a Sunday deal where we got a room for £35 as long as we spent £75 in the bistro.
The bistro was lovely and the food we had was excellent. The wine list is also amazing!We didn't have breakfast there so can't comment on that.
The room we had was fantastic - probably my favourite all the many hotel rooms I've stayed in over the years. There was a huge walk in shower and rool top bath, the bathroom and bedroom was open plan. Big, lovely bed and very modern, funky decor. Perfect for a romantic birthday treat.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
The location is good - about a 15 min walk to the main attractions but enough out of the centre to be quieter. There's also a car park to the rear.
This hotel was recommended to us by firends who also went for a romantic weekend and we would also recommend to others. One of the best hotels I've been to.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clementine8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,249 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
622 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin York

Property: Hotel du Vin York
Address: 89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin York 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin & Bistro York is located in the tranquil area known as The Mount, close to the city's historic centre. This beautiful hotel in York city centre is housed within a Grade II-listed building that dates back to the early 19th century. Formerly a private home and an orphanage, the hotel houses 44 stylish bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and private dining rooms, along with a terrace, courtyard and inner forum for alfresco dining. York is a historic and beautiful city, believed to date back from Roman times. York is the county town of Yorkshire, perfect for a cultural getaway or a romantic weekend break that will inspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel du Vin York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing