We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch Menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Vecchia Scuola

La Vecchia Scuola
Reserve with OpenTable
La Vecchia Scuola is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 858 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: La Vecchia Scuola is a unique dining experience that can be found in Low Petergate, York very close to the Minster. An amazing restaurant set in a 300 year old Georgian building that was once York college for girls. This restaurant is now operated by new owners from February 2013. It has an innovative new menu with all food sourced locally and prepared for customer onsite.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lunch Menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Visited around 5pm when the lunch offer was still available. Great value and the food was excellent. Really beautiful place and nice touch to see the school photos showing the buildings history. Staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    842
    286
    74
    48
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We went on recommendation, on a not so busy Monday mid afternoon. The service was appalling. Having waited 15 mins to get served a drink, we then got our food which was very nice. It took 20 minutes to clear our plates, we asked for the bill, waited, asked again waited, he was very dismissive as though he couldn't be bothered. In the end we got up, we paid on the way out, his attitude was very rude 'We have no staff' there were only 3 couples in the place. Would not go again!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
219 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We visited here for lunch, and made use of the two courses for £9.95 offer. The food was fantastic, tasty and really well presented. Service was very good and the restaurant itself is very clean with a lovely view into the gardens at the back. Thoroughly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank choward1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dining with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We took advavtage of the recent Groupon offers, but we enjoyed the food so much we told all our friends about it.
This resulted in us dining there again with a couple of friends on Saturday evening. The food was as good if not better than before, and our friends loved it. They are even planning a family gathering there they thought it that good.
The choice of food and quality is excellent and we shall be going back again.Staff are very helpful and pleasant and we cannot find fault.Currently this is our favourite place in York and we have been to many in the City.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Consider for Lunch but not Dinner!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

First let me say that we went there in the evening with friends. While the place is very nice inside and we sat in the conservatory and it was very nice. Unfortunately it was so noisy that it was difficult most of the evening to talk with our friends. While I enjoy a piano playing in the background, it should not be so loud that you have to shout over it. I think for lunch it would be a nice setting, but not for dinner. The wine is adequate and we felt the server was very good and attentive. Unfortunately the food was hit and miss. My husband got fish which was very good (chef's selection) the rest of us got Italian dishes which where not good. The sauce on my ravioli was like something from a jar. The bread was very doughy and not good at all. Again, this might be a good place to go for lunch as the pizza on the menu looked good, and the atmosphere is more suited for lunch. But pass on it if you are looking for a nice dinner, and especially if want good Italian food, you will not get it here.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Vecchia Scuola also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to La Vecchia Scuola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing