We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and lovely atmosphere”
Review of La Vecchia Scuola

La Vecchia Scuola
Reserve with OpenTable
La Vecchia Scuola is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 869 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: La Vecchia Scuola is a unique dining experience that can be found in Low Petergate, York very close to the Minster. An amazing restaurant set in a 300 year old Georgian building that was once York college for girls. This restaurant is now operated by new owners from February 2013. It has an innovative new menu with all food sourced locally and prepared for customer onsite.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent food and lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Visited today for lunch having been attracted by a pleasant young lady offering tasters of food outside the restaurant, Friendly welcoming staff seated us and quickly brought menus and drinks. 3 excellent courses followed bruschetta and antipasto skewer, calzone pizza and pannacotta and tiramisu. An extensive cocktail list and wines including pro secco available by the glass. Non alcoholic cocktails were made happily by the bar staff for little girls on the next table- they looked exciting! Excellent value in an imposing building. The large conservatory was bright and busy on a sunny day, the large dining room was busy also and there are smaller more intimate rooms available too. I am sure we will return. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Chippyandthegingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    855
    287
    75
    48
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lunchtime visit”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Have dined several times on an evening but had friends visiting York for the day so we decided to try the lunchtime menu
We were not disappointed as it was excellent.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michael t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
416 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Frequent visitor”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Have visited here a number of times with work colleagues when on business in York. Have always found service to be friendly, courteous and efficient and they are always so patient when we have to divide our bill across many business account cards! Food is good, although does not match that of some other Italian restaurants I have visited elsewhere. However, I would certainly recommend as 'la vecchia' provides a very pleasant evening out at reasonable value.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kernowcouple94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food was very nice, but the manager was rude and unprofessional!!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I was there with two friends of mine today. The dishes were really nice and tasty. But the service was very poor, the staff was not able to explain properly how the taste card works. Because of this misunderstanding we had to have a big argument in front of other guests which was very embarrassing. Finally after 20min of our impolite
conversation he said: "I'm not gonna get poorer" and we got our discount. This phrase made us feel like it was our fault, but it wasn't.
The rest of the staff were really nice and very attentive, but if they have any promotions like the taste card, they should know how it works. P

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ssisssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Like an episode of faulty towers”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We are regular visitors to York, As such we have passed the restaurant on many occasions. In the past there was always and person out front handing out flyers and trying to force you through the door, this set alarm bells ringing and we avoided it. However after hearing the change in management and not seeing the regular person giving out flyers out front, I thought we would finally give it a go. The building has a fantastic history and story, I am happy they incorporated this into the menu. After arriving and being seated I am afraid that's where things began to go wrong. At the time there was ourselves and approximately 5 other tables already in the restaurant so for the size not very busy at all. It took a bit too long for someone to ask if we would like any drinks, Then a different server took our order and served the drinks, a little too long again between being served our drinks and getting out first course where again a different server brought the food. The food itself was of average quality in my opinion. I observed while there, 2 tables being seated and then asked to move to make room for other people after being seated. Also I observed individuals at tables (more than one) not being served at the same time as the rest of the table and also being brought the wrong food. For me it served as a bit of evening entertainment and I feel we were lucky to have not been asked to move or being brought the wrong dish. All in all the front of house seems poorly organised and the person who serves you just happens to be who is about at the time, It lacked leadership and kitchen was slow and simply average quality. Would not go back in the future.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DGenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Vecchia Scuola also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to La Vecchia Scuola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing