We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow! This is an amzing property!”
Hot tub and patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hot tub and patio
Drone ariel view South wing
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Hot tub and patio
Drone ariel view
South wing
North wing
View from canal
View from canal with marque
Stairwell
Kitchen
Kitchen diner
Lounge
Lounge, fireplace and curved tv
Snug
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1 balcony view
Bedroom 6
Bedroom 2
Bunk room
Downstairs wetroom
bathroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Skyblue99...
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow! This is an amzing property!”
Reviewed 29 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We have just returned from Waterside and we did not want to leave!! A group of family and friends celebrated a 60th birthday here - mixed ages. It was superb! Everything inside was quality. As we walked in the door and walked around all everyone said was "Wow!"
James the owner was extremely helpful and was on hand for anything we needed. The hot tub was fantastic - the views and the nature around were stunning to observe. The house ensured a perfect birthday celebration. Thank you James! A stunning property - much, much better than the photos portray! We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2016
You are Welcome!
It's great to hear Waterside has the wow factor.
We are very lucky to live where we do, and I think that our surroundings are stunning too. And not to far from York when you need a different type of buzz!
Hope to see you again.
James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
Thank you.
It is great to know that we helped to make your special day run smoothly and to make it a day to remember.
Hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Verity T
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really lovely house and setting. Cant wait to be back!”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at Waterside house for a Hen Party in June 2015, the house was absolutely fantastic, great design very luxurious, catered to our every need and worked very well for a group of 10.
The location was great as it was secluded and peaceful (and we weren't conscious of disturbing others) it had lots of land and great views by the canal and lots of wildlife to watch in the grounds too, hare's, pheasants and cows.
The hot tub was fantastic, a traditional design which was filled with wood to get it started, it stayed very hot for a long time and the owner James was very helpful to light it for us.
We also had other activities planned in York and James helped us with taxis which were very reliable and reasonable for a group of 10 and also took a group photo of us in the lovely house. We had afternoon tea at the Plough Inn nearby who spoke very highly of James and his hospitality.
We also managed to have time for a little walk along the canal which was lovely and would be great as a family outing or with pets.
All facilities in the house were working and were very impressive particularly the many bathrooms.The kitchen was spectacular with a wine fridge and american fridge freezer, dishwasher and lots of glasses and cutlery/plates.
Some of us from the Hen Party are planning to go back on other occasions and there has also been talk of it becoming an annual thing for us as we enjoyed it so much.

Brilliant owner James and really lovely house and setting. Cant wait to be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bathrooms
Liked least: intermittent phone signal in area
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2015
Thank you for your thorough review. It is great to hear such complementary words. Thank you again and it would be fantastic to see you again.
James
Waterside House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Jun 2015
Thank you, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. It is certainly a great thing to hear that our house is being enjoyed by our guests.
James
Waterside House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Jun 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review our house. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and also that I am managing to strike the hospitality balance about right!
Look forward to welcoming you again to Storwood.
James Waterside House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
728Ben
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect House with amazing grounds and Hot Tub!”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Spacious and amazing house! Our stay was perfect from the moment we arrived.
The owner was very helpful and our stay could not have been better.

Thank you James!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: Poor wi-fi connection
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
You are welcome. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.
James
Waterside House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 May 2015
Thank you for your perfect review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes
James
Waterside House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing