We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“standard indian”
Review of Viceroy of India

Viceroy of India
Ranked #206 of 868 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$41
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“standard indian”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Tried the Viceroy after a couple of recommendations the service was good the staff were ok the food was ok, but nothing special this place is just a standard Indian I would return if in the area but would not rush back give it a go and see what you think.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 768roberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    76
    37
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Had a meal here, with friends, last Friday night. Although it was the first time we had been there we were welcomed as though we were regular customers. The food was delicious - fragrant, beautifully spiced without being overwhelmed and perfectly cooked. The staff even took the trouble to cook me some lemon rice although it was not on the menu. Also, when they realised it was a birthday celebration, we were given free liqueurs with our coffee. The staff had the happy knack of being attentive without being intrusive and made it a very special evening for us. We will certainly return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silver2844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just really bland!!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

The service was speedy and efficient, there is no denying that. Everyone is very attentive and friendly. But, the thing that we actually went for was the food which was just really awful!
There were 6 of us and not one of us enjoyed our food. I wouldn't say it wasn't eatable, because it was, but every dish tasted the same!! I cannot eat spicy food at all but opted for a chicken tikka masala and it tasted like low value tomato soup!! My friends had something more adventurous. However, I could eat every single one and they all tasted exactly the same!! There was no flavour to anything at all. I literally cannot explain how flavourless everything was, I really can't!! And to add insult to everything, the chicken was really dry too! Not a great experience and since it's not exactly cheap, we won't be going again!

However, we do love the Jinnah and go frequently! We'll stick to going there because it's worth the drive!

Helpful?
1 Thank Emtash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb food and service”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

After a terrible experience recently at Akbars we thought we'd give the Viceroy a go, what a revelation. Food was delicious, service just right, we will absolutely be visiting here again, it's our new favourite curry house in York

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2,068 reviews
1,169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,806 helpful votes
“Enjoyable curry!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We were staying in York on a Saturday night & fancied a curry. We managed to get a table even though we hadn't booked. The place was busy.
Ordered a lamb biriyani & a side order of Aloo Gobi. Both were really good. Would definately return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Viceroy of India also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Viceroy of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing