We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spot on Tucker”
Review of The Old Siam

The Old Siam
Ranked #88 of 868 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$40
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Spot on Tucker”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

What a fantastic Thai restaurant, thoroughly enjoyed and recommended! The service is brilliant and they are the most polite people in town. Fair dinks spot on!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    221
    50
    29
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Popular busy restaurant”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

You know it is a good sign when you get to a restaurant and you are so busy they can't fit you in for half an hour. When we were seated, we were looked after very well. Food was all good, no complaints.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Happybunny666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic food & service”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Service is great! Muct booked I think they turned about 10 sets of people away while we were there! We had starters mains and dessert which is abnormal for us but it was so nice we couldnt help ourselves! Very authentic looking restaurant and tasting food! Had a wonderful experience here - if you like Thai ou will love The Old Siam

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Toni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA area
Level Contributor
94 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Outstanding Thai Food!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My cousin and I dined at The Old Siam in late 2012 (pay no attention to what it says elsewhere...TripAdvisor wouldn't let me say we'd been there in 2012, so I just picked a month.) after our innkeeper recommended the place. Located right outside the Mickelgate, The Old Siam is a warm and cozy delight. The service is impeccable, and the food! Let's put it this way...we're from California, and visit York every few years for a musical gathering of sorts. The Old Siam is now on our list of "places we have to eat" when we're in York. We eat a LOT of Thai food, and this place was easily on par with the best either of us has ever had, anywhere. Deep, rich, complex flavors, everything perfectly cooked...we never wanted the meal to stop. A gem in the old city --- try it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoofballDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is the third time I have been here in as many years and each time the food has been great as has the service. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Restaurant. Just the fact that this place was packed whilst three or four other restaurants we walked past after the meal were mostly empty speaks volumes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoMAk981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Siam also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Old Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing