We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Oak

Royal Oak
Ranked #102 of 850 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar, International, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Royal Oak is a seventeenth century inn situated two minutes walk from York minster. The original building dates back to Tudor times and boasts a fine, Tudor beamed, free function room on the first floor.The building has recently undergone a massive refurbishment, sympathetic to its history.The menu is locally sourced, traditional British cuisine freshly cooked to a very high standard.As a Cask Marque accredited inn, the Oak has six perfectly kept cask ales, Timmy Taylor's Landlord, Old Perculier, Abbot Ale, Leeds Pale, Copper Dragon Best and Yorkshire Terrier.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

its beautiful. The staff are friendly and efficient. The food is as expected and was tasty and enjoyable. A good time was had by all.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ada k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    152
    43
    34
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“over rated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

ate here on 4th aug . the quaint pub is very small and tight but that was expected .our starters were basic and probably my soup of the day was tinned . our mains were beef terine and morrocan cus cus again i have tasted similar from a tin and for £13 a plate very over priced . the drinks were as a norm for price and the staff pleasant but when they are taking your cash for mediocre food im not suprised .

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank phil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, service and food could be much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Visited with my husband and 8 year old son.
My husband and I had popped in for a pint the previous year and loved the look and atmosphere. That hadn't changed. Very 'Ye Olde' and cosy. However the female server seemed more interested in chatting to the barman than answering any questions we had and was very dismissive.
Food wise..our son ordered a pizza. What came wasn't a pizza. It was a tortilla with pizza toppings. If he'd known this beforehand he would have chosen something else.
My husband and I opted for a 2 course meal deal. Our starters were lovely. My husbands main, fish and chips were average and the potion size wasn't huge. (To be expected with a meal deal..I would hope it would be bigger if ordered from the regular menu).
I ordered chicken and veg ravioli..it wasn't what I expected. There was also a veg ravioli on the menu and I can only presume I got this with processed chicken pieces in with the sauce instead of being IN the ravioli.
Food was ok at best.
We'll certainly pop in for a pint the next time we visit York but I don't think we'll eat there again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrszombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good ale and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Quality Abbots cask ale and the Sea Bass was excellent.
Friendly staff, good quick service cosy atmosphere

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank_From_Tyldesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nick Evans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Great pub excellent real ale , clean and very friendly pub , and the food is outstanding , don't walk past this pub , , very clean and very welcoming and helpful . Thank you all .

Helpful?
1 Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Oak also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing