We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect holiday rental for our stay in York”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
Third bedroom
Family bathroom
Shower cubicle, ensuite
Downstairs Wc
Third bedroom
Still availability for Christmas holidays!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrew M
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday rental for our stay in York”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wow, what a find! Very reasonably priced for such a great family home - really well equipped kitchen, whole house was spotlessly clean. Nice quiet area, parking around the back really handy for our two cars. The weather wasn't great for us, but the kids were kept entertained by the box of toys, wii games console, board games and lots of dvds and books when we weren't sightseeing. Railway museum and Castle museum really worth a visit - really liked the recreated victorian street areas, complete with shops selling things and victorian people walking around, in the Castle museum.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2016
Thank you very much for finding the time to leave such a nice review - we really appreciate it. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and found the house comfortable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh C
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pictures don't do this house justice”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Immaculately clean. Lovely house and the owner had thought of everything. Cake, coffee, milk and bread on arrival. We were staying over Halloween and we were left a pumpkin. 15 minute walk into the centre of town. Hope to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2015
Thank you very much for your review, so glad you enjoyed your stay at Henshaw House and we would be delighted to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Immaculately clean, lashings of hot water, wifi and location
Liked least: Noisy neighbours opening and shutting drawers, 7.30am hospital staff and 7.00am binmen
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Oct 2015
Thank you very much for your review, I'm so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay in York, and I hope we can welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Judy F
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house - superbly equipped - great for weekend away!”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here with some friends for a girlie weekend in York - and we couldn't have found better accommodation. It's light and spacious, absolutely spotlessly clean, nice decor and furnishings (all seemed brand new). It was very well-equipped (the owners have thought of everything) and ideally located for a brisk walk into York or to go further afield. It was also very quiet in a nice cul-de-sac and there's a nice garden at the back of the house. The owner was very helpful in suggesting local restaurants and checked to make sure we had arrived safely. Would highly recommend whether for a weekend or a longer stay. I'd definitely return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean bright decor
Liked least: Can't think of anything as it was top-notch!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review, you were perfect guests with great communication. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Henshaw House and we would love to welcome you back another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise E
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and my two friends (all late 30's) stayed here for two nights. We managed to park three small cars in the alloted space available. We found the house really well presented, spotless and very well equipped, the owner really has tried to think of everything. We didn't use the garden but on another visit it would be nice to. We were really pleased with our stay, hopefully we'll be back. We all agreed it was home from home and probably even better presented than our own homes! !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
We're so glad you all felt at home. There is usually quite a bit of on-street parking available around the property, but it's also good to know that 3 cars can fit into the 2 private parking spaces as well! We would love to welcome you all back soon, thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue F
Crook, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Peaceful house near the centre”
Reviewed 5 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This house is in a quiet street only ten minutes walk (longer with small children) from the centre of York, entering the city through Monkgate. It is really comfortable with a well equipped kitchen, with a dishwasher, washing machine, huge fridge, freezer, oven, microwave so that self catering is a dream. There is a house bathroom, enquire and downstairs loo. It's a great house for children, even a toy box is provided, and it was lovely to arrive and be able to make tea, coffee or hot chocolate with milk and biscuits provided. The internal decor is cool and modern and sofa, chairs and beds are really comfortable. Also a good price for York. We only stayed two night. I wish it had been for longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and found the house well equipped - we do try to think of everything that people may need and want, so it makes us very happy to receive such an appreciative review. Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swe16epy
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning House”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What a stunning and very clean house. Set in a very quite location and just a 10-15min walk away from York centre. The accommodation had everything you need. We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing