We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a perfect location in a great home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

ellenglou...
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“What a perfect location in a great home”
Reviewed 29 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We loved staying here for ten days, using it as a base. We were able to park the car on the property and walk to everything in York. Spotless, comfortable, modern. We brought our little dog. It feels like home. We will definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: February 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2018
Thank you, so pleased you had a lovely stay. Have a happy Easter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safari687...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed 23 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a fantastic place to stay
Modern clean and very well laid out.
We loved the place from the minute we entered
Right in the middle of York as well.
What a great little break we had
Many thanks

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2017
Hi,
Thank you very much for a lovely review! Really glad you enjoyed your stay at Moatside.
Best regards,
Annabel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieP821
Lot, France
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect location for York and pet friendly as well”
Reviewed 20 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We rented this apartment for one week in York. All on one level floor it comprise of two bedrooms one with ensuite and a separate shower and loo. Very well equipped kitchen with dishwasher, washer dryer, coffee machine etc. Good lounge area with wifi and net flicks for dull days. Clean and comfortable white bedding good quality cotton. Towels white and soft as well. Nicely decorated and airy. Secure with gated access controlled by gate key. Parking for 2 cars so no parking charges.
Excellent location for a city break to York.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2017
Thanks for the great review Julie! So glad to hear you enjoyed the stay. Chris (Stays York).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Date of stay: November 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sandra W
1 review
“A wondeful stay in my favourite city, York”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a lovely stay in this beautiful cottage. We found everything we needed in the cottage. It was in a very quiet cul-de-sac and we were only two or three minutes walk from the centre. We had plenty of parking space which is a Godsend in such a busy town. We really enjoyed our stay and would consider staying here again in the near future. Definitely would recommend this cottage!

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the position and free parking
Liked least: the beds could have been a little bigger
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c__h2008...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent bolthole in a central location.”
Reviewed 8 January 2016 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Moatside gate is a compact property set on a quiet backstreet just outside the city wall. Centrally located with everything in easy walking distance. Free, private, off street parking a definite advantage. Two small but comfortable double bedrooms with bathrooms, a cosy seating area with TV and small kitchen/dining area. We had a great meal in No 8 Bistro, just a short walk away. Property is small, but provided all we needed during our short stay in York. Agency was very efficient and easy to deal with.

Date of stay: March 2015
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.