We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fab stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PKR4
Cheshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Decent stay”
Reviewed 6 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a one night stay in the converted stables room 1. (With the bath)

The rooms are based in a lovely village just outside of York. The instructions we received via email where perfect and clear and we were straight in the room with no hassle.

The positives for us:
* The room is smart and clean and quite modern (Though not boutique as i anticipated as booking through York boutique lets)
*We had a very good sleep. Comfy bed and its a very quiet location.
*Located in a lovely village.

The negatives for us:
*The water pressure on the bath, shower etc is so poor. My girlfriend give up running a bath. We also didn't have time to call the owner / management as we were heading out for Dinner.
*The room confirmation advised we had a breakfast hamper included. This never materialised. so we ended up driving into York for breakfast.
*I would expect a room of this cost to include shower products. Although not the end of the world we did not take any and only realised there was none when it was too late.
*To get to the room you have to pass somebodies house (i presume the owners) and for us it seemed a little awkward when we are walking past their kitchen / garden and tip toed when coming in late as not wanting to disturb the owners.

The stay was a gift to us and looking at how much the stay is I'm not sure we would book again. I believe this is better suited to families as i think you can fit 6x people in the room. For this it would be worth the money.

It is also a good option if you don't want to stay in York city centre but want to visit York. I think next time we would cut out the hassle of transport back and forth and stay in York itself.

All in all we had a great trip to York (love the place). and we will certainly return, i just doubt to this accommodation.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2018
Thank you for your review, Unfortunately we wasn't made aware of the pressure issue the owner lives on site and could have assisted you straight away.
I do apologise with regards to the breakfast package again if you made us aware we could have resolved this.
The room is self catering so unfortunately we don't provide shower gel and shampoo ect, and you do have to pass the owners house but we never ask for noise levels to kept down so sorry you felt you had to tip toe past

Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
behappy23...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab stay”
Reviewed 28 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

My husband and i got this 2 night stay as a birthday present. So we stayed here last weeked friday and saturday in stable 1 with roll top bath. Absoultly beautiful well done to a high stanard and well clean. Some nice little complimenty touches.....we liked popcorn to put in micorwave . We found owners very helful when speaking to them before arriving as dont have car and they advised us taxi buses ect which bus stop was at end of drive which we used to go into york which took 15minutes. We really enjoyed our very pleasant stay which was a nice change.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2018
Glad you enjoyed it we hope you will stay again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ycchkdrjn
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Needs a management course”
Reviewed 11 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Good job the rooms lovely as the manager has no idea how to manage. We were there for 2 nights , there was enough milk for one evening. It's no good saying we could request more.just supply it, you know how long guests are there for. Biscuits left in a jar need to be individually packed as I am not aware of other guests hygiene, so will not eat them.If you are going to supply only 2 children's portion boxes of cereal again supply the right amount or just don't supply it at all. Bin hadn't been emptied either and toilet roll was left on handle of the toilet brush, not good. Also a shower Addie of some kind is needed. Not everyone can keep bending down to pick up shower products on floor. Oh and one coat hanger. Really

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2017
Hello Thank you for taking time to write a review,
We have never had a complaint about the amount of milk in the rooms I suppose it depends on how much people drink ! In every swap over a new packet of biscuits is put in the jar so fresh each time and the cereal is just a gesture unfortunately apart from using a large size box these are the only ones available, I do apologise about the bin not been emptied and the lack of hangers the cleaner must have missed them and the previous guests must have taken the hangers! not sure why the toilet roll was an issue ? we have a general rule if the same thing gets mentioned twice we sort it out as you are the first to mention a shower Addie we will look into it.

Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynneWar7...
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 4 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 2 nights as a family of 3 and weren't disappointed.

Small and unique place with nice touches so you really didn't need to take lots of things with you. Things like towels, cereal boxes, coffee and tea were really handy and the nice bottle of prosecco went down well. Nicely decorated and had everything you'd need for a short stay.

We were in room 2 so didn't have the bath however the nice sofa was probably more useful to us anyway.

No issues with communication and Laura quickly responded to anything needed.

About 15 min drive into York itself but easy to find and we appreciated the recommendation of the Ship Inn nearby which was lovely on our first night.

Many thanks and would be happy to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2017
Welcome back anytime :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
witchy69
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Dissappointed with stay after reading other reviews”
Reviewed 5 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Converted 'stable' seems a bit of a poetic license as you pull up behind owners bungalow and you can clearly see that since being a stable it has also been a double garage and the two doors are still on the side of the property! The single bed was ridiculously uncomfortable, the sofa bed was not made up, only enough towels left for two people and there was 4 of us on the booking. The toilet seat was broken and the fridge completely iced over at the top and not maintained. Couldn't get hold of anyone to get more towels. Felt like I had stayed somewhere different from the other travellers on here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The heating and tv system
Liked least: bedding and mattress
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2016
Thanks for your feedback , as I explained when I spoke to you that I had no request for extra towels as I would of acted straight away and made more available for you . The toilet seat was not reported before your stay and we had replaced this after you advised it had been broken . Kind regards .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlyA3042W...
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fab”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

As per the previous review, my girlfriend's and I booked both rooms for a night out in York. We couldn't fault them - modern, spacious and very comfortable! Great value for money too. Laura, the owner was very helpful. We enjoyed a lovely relaxed stay and will definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northerns...
hartlepool
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great stay, lovely location”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here on a recent visit to York with girl friends. We booked 2 rooms both of which had beds for 2 and a single bed, the rooms are modern and have everything you need for a mini break, all home from home comforts, lovely ensuites,TVs, kitchenette with small fridge, fresh milk ,tea,coffee and breakfast items were a nice touch. It's a 10 minute drive or taxi ride into the centre of York so not too far away, Laura the owner is very helpful and will do anything to assist you, we had a great time and would not hesitate to book again, many thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Feb 2016
Welcome back any time ! X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing