We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place to stay in York”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Newly refurbished kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Newly refurbished kitchen
Kitchen/dining area
Kitchen feature
Yummy chocolate cake from Cafe Concerto by York Minster
Yorkshire Tea - simply the best!
Yorkshire contemporary art
Feature mirror
Bedroom with king-sized bed, Egyptian cotton bedding and soft white towels
Bedroom with king-sized bed, Egyptian cotton bedding and soft white towels
Bedroom with king-sized bed, Egyptian cotton bedding and soft white towels
Feature mirror
Bright hallway leading through to the master bedroom
Hall table
Bright hallway leading through to the dining/lounge/kitchen
Bathroom with bath and overhead electric shower
York in the snow
York in the snow
Dining table set for a celebration meal
Outside of the apartment
Outside of the apartment
View of the garden from the apartment
Car parking outside of the apartment
York Minster
Betty's famous tearooms
Clifford's Tower
York Minster
Inside of York Minster
The Shambles
York Ghost Tour
Spring flowers and York Minster
Night cruise on the River Ouse
Pub by the River Ouse
Stonegate in York leading up to York Minster
St Mary's Abbey Ruins
The Shambles
York Christmas Marketis
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
felberdut...
Charleston, West Virginia
2 reviews
“Perfect place to stay in York”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We just finished a week at 10 Cloisters Walk. It is the perfect location for walking the city or driving to see the rest of Yorkshire. Comfortable, modern, and bright, it has the best equiped kitchen we have ever had in a vacation rental and is 1/2 a block from a grocery. The hosts provide a comprehensive list of recommended restaurants and we liked each one we tried. Melanie and David gave us a great welcome with tea and cake and provided lots of information on the area. We would definitely recommend this flat to anyone looking in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: GPS could not locate the parking location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
It was great to welcome you both from West Virginia and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the central location. We hope you come and visit us again! With Best Wishes
Melanie and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
otleychev...
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Apartment”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Fantastic location - all the local sites are within walking distance - yet there is the advantage of secure car parking.

The apartment is furnished to a very high standard, with a well equipped kitchen if you decide to eat in rather than take advantage of the many nearby restaurants/pubs/cafes, etc.

The owners are lovely, friendly people who have obviously spent a lot of time and effort in ensuring this modern apartment has all the facilities one would expect but with many little personal touches to make it feel like a "home from home".

We only had a short break but can see ourselves returning to this little gem of a place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location to nearby sites but also peaceful setting of apartment.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2016
We are so pleased you had a good break in York and took advantage of all the fantastic local eateries. We are glad you felt at home and would be delighted to welcome you again.
With Best Wishes
Melanie and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter201...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment for York sightseeing”
Reviewed 6 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

10 Cloisters Walk is a super apartment in an ideal location for sightseeing around York. We stayed for a week and didn't move the car from arrival until departure. (Secure parking was an added bonus.) It was an easy walk to all the York visitor attractions and we found plenty to do and see. We did one day trip by train to Harrogate and Harlow Carr. The apartment is well appointed to the highest quality and has everything that you might need for a comfortable stay including a fresh coffee machine and excellent wifi coverage.
We didn't meet the owners this time as they were away but were welcomed on arrival by Gill who was waiting for us with kettle freshly boiled and home made cake. We contacted the owners once during our stay regarding a non working shaver outlet and David came and fixed it the same day. You can't ask for better service.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
It was a pleasure to welcome you and glad you had a great stay. We are pleased you managed to make use of local transport to the wonderful gardens at Harlow Carr as well taking in the local sites. We hope to get to meet you on your next trip.
Best Wishes
Melanie and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“You won't be disappointed ”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

There are many reasons why this flat is a great place to stay. First there is the welcome from the host. And yes they picked us up at the train station. We really appreciated the warm welcome. Then there is the restaurants, the close grocery, the historical places to tour, the train museum, the train station, Betty's tea room, shambles, and many more. Of course the flat is great with all modern appliances. It's close to monk bar but yet is quiet. We didn't find any reason to rent a vehicle. Everything is within walking distance. I'd stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2016
It was really lovely to meet you both on your trip to the UK and we are glad the apartment and location worked well for you and that you enjoyed visiting our wonderful City. We hope to see you again!
With Best Wishes
Melanie and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivienne...
2 reviews
“First class operation”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Everything about this rental is first class. The hosts picked us up at the train station because it was race day and very busy. They provided a first breakfast and kept in touch by text through the week. The location is perfect. The apartment is fully equipped with high end amenities, with many thoughtful and tasteful details. This the best rental we have encountered.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2016
Hi Vivienne and Jim, It was delightful to welcome you to England glad to have helped with suggestions in advance as to what to see and do. We were are so pleased that the apartment worked for you, do spread the word around Canada for us!
With Best Wishes
Melanie and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H
Willington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect, just perfect”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

First impression... Arrived at 7.15pm on Friday night after a 2 hour journey straight after work! But within 15 minutes the car was securely parked, we had met the very friendly and caring owners, who helped us with our luggage and had already boiled the kettle and baked a cake for us, had a quick, but very informative tour of the property and we immediately relaxed and were well into holiday mode. Never have we had such a lovely warm welcome at any place we have stopped at in 30 years of staying in cottages, apartments & houses in UK.

High quality decor and very comfortable. Very central location. Will review again after we have had time to settle... At the moment drinking the extremely welcome coffee and eating the even more welcome & delicious homemade cake provided.

Review of our stay... Our weekend stay at 10 Cloisters Walk went much too quickly. Partly because a weekend in York is never enough, but also because we felt so at home and so comfortable that we didn't want our stay to end.

Difficult to include everything that made this the perfect apartment for us, or for anyone who is looking for a one bedroom apartment, that is right in the centre of York yet has secure parking and is as peaceful as a country cottage. To call this a premium property is an understatement. Spotlessly clean, imaginatively and tastefully presented, fully equipped with quality technology and equipment. Nothing missing. Nothing scrimped on. 100% satisfied. Comfortable bed and sofa, crisp bedding, comfortable & stylish dining, well appointed & spotless kitchen... I could go on.

Memories of our stay... Being greeted on arrival by Melanie & David with homemade cake & freshly boiled kettle; Being able to pop out as soon as the sun peered from behind the clouds to wander round York Minster, around the city walls, along the famous streets, even before the crowds were out; breakfast in Cafe Concerto; listening to my favourite iPad playlist on the music centre with lights turned down low, looking through the window over the beautiful garden as the sun slowly sank and the top of the Minster tower visible over the roofline softly bathed in light. Waking up refreshed after a good night's sleep. Returning home tired from all the fresh air and walking around this beautiful city, but refreshed and relaxed and ready to face the world again.

Good memories to keep us going until we get the chance to return to York and to 10 Cloisters Walk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & secure parking and the welcome from the owners
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2016
Thank you for your kind words, we are overwhelmed by your review of our apartment and so glad that if offered you what you needed for a relaxing break away. We have worked hard to create a special, luxurious space and have tried to think of everything that our guests would need when away from home and really appreciate your feedback. The ideal location of the apartment, along with secure parking makes it a great base from which to explore York. It will be great to have you back to stay with us again, you will be most welcome.
With Best Wishes
Melanie and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard J
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Apartment & Brilliant Service”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely apartment only a few minutes from the centre of York.

Melanie and David were very friendly and helpful on arrival, showing us around the apartment and leaving us with a home-made cake. They were both very accommodating and were happy to answer any questions we had throughout our stay. We had a slight problem with the shower initially, but while we were out for the day they immediately sorted out the problem and presented us with a voucher for Betty's Tea Room for our troubles - such excellent service!

The apartment itself was modern and very well equipped, with 2 smart TVs and a very comfortable bed! It was also very tidy and exceptionally clean, could not be faulted. The location of the apartment was conveniently close to the centre, with loads of lovely restaurants and attractions nearby.

We will definitely be returning on our next visit to York and would recommend to anyone planning a mini-break (or longer stay) in York.

Thanks for everything!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed - very comfortable!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2016
Hi Richard, We are really glad you had a good time in York and thank you for your kind comments. We are sorry about the inconvenience with the shower, we were able to fit a new shower within a few hours as we work with such great and reliable tradesmen. Glad you enjoyed your trip to Bettys!
With Best Wishes
Melanie and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing