We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect end to a perfect day! ”
Review of Pairings Wine Bar

Pairings Wine Bar
Ranked #2 of 1,006 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Independent York wine bar run by sisters, located on historic Castlegate. Visit York Tourism Award winner 2017 Bar/Pub of the Year. Serving fine wines by the glass, local ales, cocktails and great coffee alongside cheese, charcuterie, deli foods and desserts. Bespoke wine tastings and private hire available. Intimate small gatherings to bookings of 50, we can accommodate to to suit your requirements.
Restaurant details
Description: Independent York wine bar run by sisters, located on historic Castlegate. Visit York Tourism Award winner 2017 Bar/Pub of the Year. Serving fine wines by the glass, local ales, cocktails and great coffee alongside cheese, charcuterie, deli foods and desserts. Bespoke wine tastings and private hire available. Intimate small gatherings to bookings of 50, we can accommodate to to suit your requirements.
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

This hidden gem is well worth discovering. Exceptional service from the friendly and efficient Farah (From Indonesia). Delicious pairing of the Yorkshire Board and the Rich and Full Red Flight, whilst hubby sampled the Hawkshead Lager and Viking DNA Stout. Yummy food and booze together with lovely service. Highly recommended.

Thank Julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pairings, Owner at Pairings Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Hello 'Julie O'

Thank you so much for your great review, all feedback is much appreciated, especially when it isn't accompanied by 5 stars!

Delighted to hear that you love our Wine Bar and all that we aim to achieve, I shall pass on your lovely remarks to Farah.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you many more times in the future.

Best wishes
Kate and Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 119 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Amazing wine flights paired with fantastic food. What is not to love? I hugely recommend the Mollydooker Matre’d Cab Sav. It is absolutely delicious.

1  Thank JTravels85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pairings, Owner at Pairings Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Hello 'JTravels85'

And we love you too! Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post a review and award us 5 stars, much appreciated.

Excellent choice of wine!

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once again in the near future.

Best wishes
Kate and Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

We went here for a date while on a trip to York and it was delightful. We had the 2 person sharing platter. We were uncertain on which meats to choose, so we asked for recommendations and the waiter was very helpful and the recommendations were delicious. The cheeses were amazing as was the whole experience. A great place to go on a date to share and try different foods together. The atmosphere was lovely also.

1  Thank dawnsl95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pairings, Owner at Pairings Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Hello 'dawnsl95

Thank you so much for such a lovely review and really pleased that you enjoyed your date night with us.

Even though not a local to York we do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again in the near future.

Best wishes
Kate and Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Recommended by a friend and they definitely did not disappoint. Love wine love food? You can’t go wrong with this place. All the wine complimented each piece beautifully can’t wait to go back there

1  Thank jade291276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pairings, Owner at Pairings Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Hello 'jade291276'

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post a review, and such a great one too, really appreciate it.

Although not a local to York we do hope you will return again very soon. Looking forward to welcoming you.

Best wishes
Kate and Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Visited this place from recommendations on trip advisor. We had the deli platter and white and rosè wine flights. The staff were happy to help us ,and advise on wines,meats and cheeses to try. Food was excellent and in a nice relaxed atmosphere.

1  Thank bushy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pairings, Owner at Pairings Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Hello 'bushy23'

Thank you so much for such a lovely review, and our 5 star award, it really means a lot to us to know that we are 'getting it right'.

We do hope you will return again very soon and we look forward to welcoming you.

Best wishes
Kate and Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pairings Wine Bar also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Pairings Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing