We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food, lovely people”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of L' antica Locanda

L' antica Locanda
Ranked #232 of 858 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: L'Antica Locanda is a unique, culinary Italian experience not to be missed. Situated as it is on The Shambles in the heart of the City of York, this restaurant has been established for over ten years. Its menu offers an unusual variety of Italian dishes, some of them specialities of Puglia and Sardinia. The atmosphere is about as Italian as you can get and the cosy upstairs restaurant area provides a welcome relief from the hustle and bustle of the busy Shambles, with Italian music and a superb decor transporting the diner straight into 'a piece of Southern Italy'.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, lovely people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

My wife had the seafood platter, I had medallions of port with a chili and pepper sauce. Both were excellent, the wine was good, the staff friendly and weird, but in a nice way. We had to have an early night, otherwise we would have stayed longer and enjoyed the hospitality.

A lovely old mediaeval building on the Shambles, a warm atmosphere, and a definite to visit again when we have a little more time.

It was never going to be cheap, being on York's most famous street, but totally worth it. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HoraceHedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    111
    39
    32
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A jewel in the centre of York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Took my family here and everyone thought the food was brilliant, great atmosphere, lots of specials on the board, in fact we found it difficult to decide. Every dish was beautifully presented and tasted as good as it looked. The staff were attentive, the compimentary bruschetta and sambucca were nice touches. Definitely the best Italian in York,

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loubylou818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good all round meal and experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Crazy but authentic staff made the evening relaxing and fun. Food was excellent, even the grated dried fish neck on the sea bream pasta! Complimentary bruschetta and limoncello was a nice surprise. Will be back and would definitely recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YorkAleTrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant seafood and atmospere!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Brilliant restourant,delicious food, staff treat with you very friendly and respectful. I'm from Russia and went there with my friend. I fielt my self like in Italia:brilliant music,all the staff are italian, the style of restourant was very warm! Thank you very much, I'll come back to you a lot of times!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aram K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Had a wonderful celebration evening here, the atmosphere was great the waiters attentive and the food excellent. Definitely would recommend a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank knapt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L' antica Locanda also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to L' antica Locanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing