We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good we will visit again”
Review of Hotel 53

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 53
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Hotel 53 York is a very modern and new Hotel very close to York city centre. The hotel facilities are very good indeed, and the room was most comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hazzybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,556 - 1,562 of 1,852 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

Room was realy nice stayed for one night only problem seemed to be way out of town near a rough estate. Had a great night out staff were happy to make us a drink at daft oclock x

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniellejade92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Firstly with the positives, great location and central to town. Check in and check out was simple and pain free. Room size was below average for the price. Bed comfort was below par and felt like we were on a bouncy castle. Shower had ample room although the drain was blocked so showering was kept short. As with other comments, the WiFi was erratic and unreliable, however as there was no additional charge we considered this as a bonus. Breakfast was ok, although a surprise surcharge of £10 each considering this was supposed to be included in the rate. Staff were very helpful and informative, parking across the road was organised and a typical price (£10) for a central location. Overall a good hotel but not for the price point of £150 per night, I would have been happy to have paid around £100 without any resentment.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnPaul76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

The room was very clean, with a nice sized bathroom and a great shower. Ventilation was not the best - pleased I did not stay on a week of hot weather.
Wi-fi was very unstable and frustrating to work with, and whilst there was desk space the chair really was too low to use it comfortably for any length of time in the evening.
Can not comment on the restaurant other then at breakfast which was or a buffet-style and rather average - lots of staff all over the place, none of whom really seemed to be doing anything. Would have been much better value (and quality) to eat at Wetherspoons over the road.
Overall, a comfortable stay - but enough niggles to make me look around before coming back again

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mat_stoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Hotel was fairly central which was handy - 10 minute walk into main areas. Our room was clean and fresh. Bed was a small double and had the most bouncy mattress I've ever slept on!! Far too soft and strangely felt higher at the foot than the head! Eveery time my husband turned over I felt like I was on a water bed and didn't stop moving for ages!! Very weird.
Room was very warm (and the outside temp was high teens so not exactly tropical!) and the window could only open a tiny bit, and as there was an air con unit located outside the window it was very noisy. It did go off around midnight but started again at 7am so no long lies!
Breakfast was buffet and typical of a hotel breakfast - nothing particularly exciting.
Not sure we'd stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for one with air con or at least a window that could open wide - and wasn't beside a noisy u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
1  Thank deeedinburgh40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Good job we didn't really spend too much time at this hotel. Had hoped for a better standard considering its prices. Room was too hot and could not have window open at rear due to other guests' noise at night or from vent during the day. Walls were very thin so we could hear neighbours' television/conversation. To top it off we discovered dried vomit down the side of the bed. Obviously, would not recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Myself and my wife recently stayed at this hotel as part of a party of 8 all going to York races, we wouldn't ever stay there again.

When we entered our room it absolutely stank of sewerage, it was extremely warm and if you opened the window all you could hear was the incredibly noisy vents from the kitchen. We reported the smell and eventually someone came to investigate, by that time we'd sprayed perfume all over the room so he couldn't smell the stink.

The room was so hot you had to open the window and at about 5 in the morning the vents came on again. It was like trying to get to sleep in the middle of a motorway. We complained in the morning and we were offered free car parking which would have cost £10. I said this wasn't acceptable and I was promised that the manager would call me the next day. Needless to say he didn't.

All other members of our party experienced the same problems as we did and none of them have been contacted as promised.

Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank forsh75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,919 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 53

Address: 53 Piccadilly, York YO1 9PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £66 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 53 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 53 is in a central location within the city walls and is a short walk from York's major attractions. The hotel's clean, modern exterior is complemented by elegant interior design, creating an atmosphere of stylish simplicity. Whether you're taking a short break, staying with us for a little longer or on business you'll feel immediately at ease at Hotel 53 York. At Hotel 53, we aim for individuality and flair, with the most modern facilities to ensure that our guests receive a warm and professional service throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn York
53 Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing